We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again! The Best burgers anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Refuge - CLOSED

The Refuge
near Hotel Domilocos, Dominical, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Again! The Best burgers anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Dominical. We couldn't wait to go back to the Refuge to eat the tasty burgers and fries. They didn't disappoint! Simply the best burgers and fires. After eating here you could easily skip a few meals afterwards! The service was excellent, the smoothies nice and thick, and very fresh!

Can't wait to return again next year!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, AR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still the best burgers in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just visited CR for the 5th time and for the 5th time we HAD to eat at the Refuge! Burgers are GREAT! Service and staff are GREAT! What more can I say. You MUST eat here if you like good burgers!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not Open again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have reviewed this place before and tried to give the burger place another chance. AGAIN they were not open! I would like to eat there but not going to keep trying. Hard to believe they stay in business.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
“yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stopped by here after having been sun burnt at the beach. We were doing a yoga retreat and cleanse but we cheated and ate your deliciious crispy french fries !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest IL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really good burgers for any location much less Dominical. The variety was really good and they had some usual choices. No alcohol to sip with your burger but don't let that hold you back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refuge also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.