We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best burgers in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Refuge - CLOSED

The Refuge
near Hotel Domilocos, Dominical, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Rogers, AR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still the best burgers in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just visited CR for the 5th time and for the 5th time we HAD to eat at the Refuge! Burgers are GREAT! Service and staff are GREAT! What more can I say. You MUST eat here if you like good burgers!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not Open again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have reviewed this place before and tried to give the burger place another chance. AGAIN they were not open! I would like to eat there but not going to keep trying. Hard to believe they stay in business.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
“yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stopped by here after having been sun burnt at the beach. We were doing a yoga retreat and cleanse but we cheated and ate your deliciious crispy french fries !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really good burgers for any location much less Dominical. The variety was really good and they had some usual choices. No alcohol to sip with your burger but don't let that hold you back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The burgers are huge and served to your liking, and the smoothies are great and filling as well. Located right across from the beach, the location is ideal if you want to grab something and continue enjoying the beach. Only dislike is the speed of the service. It was quite slow when the restaurant is packed (every table was full) and our meal took hours.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refuge also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.