We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Burgers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Refuge - CLOSED

The Refuge
near Hotel Domilocos, Dominical, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The BEST Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was strongly suggested that our family make it a point to eat at The Refuge in Dominical, Costa Rica during our visit last month. Mouths watering, we made an attempt the 2nd day - Sunday - only to discover they were closed Sundays & Mondays during the "off" season. But on Wednesday after a rocky beach swim we showered off using their facilities and ordered 4 appetizing sounding burgers. We were also advised to not go hungry - anywhere - as service takes a while. Totally worth the wait! Oh boy! They were HUGE, served with good fries and secret sauces - all delicious! They are truly the BEST burgers in Dominical - maybe anywhere! Mucho gusto!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Never Open - No Church please”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have tried to eat there on four separate times and this place is never open! When it was open on my last trip there had some kind of church service? If I wanted to go to church I would find a church to attend not a restaurant! Keep the two separate! Your god might not be mine!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch Burgers and Smoothies; Wifi available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Echoing many of the recent posts, The Refuge still has some hearty, delicious burgers. The burgers are large so you may want to split them with someone else. The smoothies/batidos are also very cold and refreshing (mango and tropical mix fruit are some of our favorites). Just be patient, the make everything to order so it takes a little time to get your food -- enjoy the sounds of the beach. Wifi is available upon request.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best burger hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the best burger I have ever had hands down! Even my favorite place in the States does not hold a candle to this! I had at least a bite of four kinds of burgers and they were all fantabulous!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, AR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“STILL the best burgers around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I just visited the Refuge for the fouth time. We have been to Costa Rica 4 times. We found this jewel on our first trip and now it is a MUST every time we visit!! I cannot say enough about this place! The burgers are out of this world! Big enough to share but I usually eat the whole thing!!! Very messy though!! :) The staff is great! Very friendly! The atmosphere is very relaxed and laid back. We will visit each and every time we visit Costa Rica! Thank you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refuge also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.