We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Homemade Ice Cream - CLOSED

Ruby's Homemade Ice Cream
Pueblo del Rio, Dominical 11225, Costa Rica
506-2787-0480
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Come by and enjoy the best ice cream in the area.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the greatest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I think they might have been renovating, but it was not what we were expecting. We went there after reading reviews on trip advisor, and got pretty average tasting, stale (ice in it) ice cream. There are so many great places to eat in Dominical that I probably wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Cool off on a hot day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

When nothing else will do: You scream I scream We all scream for ice cream. Almost any flavor to enjoy

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great service, many good flavor choices, nice people working there. Love to get a cone and walk around town.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a RIP OFF!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

The Gringo behind the counter was so unfriendly, bordering rude. The guy who served us was sweating and dripping in the ice cream. The ice cream was overpriced, $2.40 one scoop in a small thimble, and it was crumbly and tasteless. Overpriced and over rated!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only place we frequented other then the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Love this place! Got marriend in Dominical with a group of 20 friends and family, and EVERYONE loved the ice cream. We actually took the whole wedding party here right after we were married on the beach!

Highly recommend the Maracuya(passion fruit) flavor. That was a huge hit with the group.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Homemade Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.