We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in Dominical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuna Del Angel

Cuna Del Angel
Costanera Highway | 9 km south of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
506 2787-8012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 restaurants in Dominical
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
salm01@optonline.net
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Dominical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Service, food and atmosphere as good as you will find anywhere. Although a bit pricey; you get what you pay for. Nuff said.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    52
    21
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappoints...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Awesome atmosphere, but service seemed disappointed I wasn't ordering bottles of wine to pad the tab. Maybe it was a bad night, I've had meals in the past there much better, but food all around was mediocre - even the $11 dollar soup. Not many real good options, but I won't be back anytime soon...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming open air restaurant in the round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

There are quite a few steps to get to the restaurant but the food, drinks, and sunset are worth it. We had a generous portion of fish with a lemon caper sauce that was terrific. The mojitos are large and tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dominical's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I visited the restaurant at Cuna del Angel three times during our month (January) in Dominical. We think their margaritas are the best in the area. The atmosphere is romantic; lighting is nice. They have a very nice lounge area ( seems underutilized) which we took advantage of for our drinks last night. The service is very professional but friendly. I am a light eater so I usually got appetizers. Last night I started with their stacked grilled vege antipasto salad which was excellent. I had the tuna carpaccio appetizer as my entree. I would order both again. My husband had the Caribbean salad ( he has had twice now) which has a wonderful ginger dressing. He had sea bass with basil sauce which he also loved. Every plate is beautiful in it 's presentation.
It might be a little more costly than other restaurants in Dominical (although the sea bass was about $15 which we would have paid $22 or so for in U.S.). The prices are very fair in our opinion. Put it on your list for a special evening out. If you are coming from the south, it can be tricky to find. If you pass the Jolly Roger sign on your right, you have just passed it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good food on an interesting menu - ask them to slow down the service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had problems finding this place. The hotel and restaurant sign is only visible when travelling south on the highway, and even then it's positioned quite high up in the trees making it almost invisible at night.

The menu is extensive, mostly in a gourmand Americana vein. The cooking is above average for the area, but for Europeans be warned the portions are enormous. You won't need three courses.

The dining room is open air under a solid sheltering canopy. With its subtle lighting it makes a good venue for a romantic dinner.

We started with beef carpaccio - a huge portion served on-top of shredded lettuce. It was good, just too much. My partner had a very interesting dish of avocado and salmon inside wontons served with a spicy peanut sauce. This was excellent. The mains were a fish filet with a basil sauce which was highly rated, whilst I had the dish of the day - a sea bass, prawn and mussel ragout which was ok. I finished with a very good home made pistachio ice cream, and the waiting staff looked genuinely shocked when I asked for a single ball.

The service was attentive, but just a little too keen. Our main course dishes arrived a second after our starter plates were cleared away. Maybe this is the American expectation, but in Europe we like to partake of a more leisurely dinner. I would suggest telling them up front that you'd like some time between courses.

This is also the nearest good restaurant to Tikivillas.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuna Del Angel also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Been to Cuna Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuna Del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.