We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappoints...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cuna Del Angel

Cuna Del Angel
Costanera Highway | 9 km south of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
506 2787-8012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dominical, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappoints...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Awesome atmosphere, but service seemed disappointed I wasn't ordering bottles of wine to pad the tab. Maybe it was a bad night, I've had meals in the past there much better, but food all around was mediocre - even the $11 dollar soup. Not many real good options, but I won't be back anytime soon...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Charming open air restaurant in the round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

There are quite a few steps to get to the restaurant but the food, drinks, and sunset are worth it. We had a generous portion of fish with a lemon caper sauce that was terrific. The mojitos are large and tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dominical's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I visited the restaurant at Cuna del Angel three times during our month (January) in Dominical. We think their margaritas are the best in the area. The atmosphere is romantic; lighting is nice. They have a very nice lounge area ( seems underutilized) which we took advantage of for our drinks last night. The service is very professional but friendly. I am a light eater so I usually got appetizers. Last night I started with their stacked grilled vege antipasto salad which was excellent. I had the tuna carpaccio appetizer as my entree. I would order both again. My husband had the Caribbean salad ( he has had twice now) which has a wonderful ginger dressing. He had sea bass with basil sauce which he also loved. Every plate is beautiful in it 's presentation.
It might be a little more costly than other restaurants in Dominical (although the sea bass was about $15 which we would have paid $22 or so for in U.S.). The prices are very fair in our opinion. Put it on your list for a special evening out. If you are coming from the south, it can be tricky to find. If you pass the Jolly Roger sign on your right, you have just passed it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good food on an interesting menu - ask them to slow down the service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had problems finding this place. The hotel and restaurant sign is only visible when travelling south on the highway, and even then it's positioned quite high up in the trees making it almost invisible at night.

The menu is extensive, mostly in a gourmand Americana vein. The cooking is above average for the area, but for Europeans be warned the portions are enormous. You won't need three courses.

The dining room is open air under a solid sheltering canopy. With its subtle lighting it makes a good venue for a romantic dinner.

We started with beef carpaccio - a huge portion served on-top of shredded lettuce. It was good, just too much. My partner had a very interesting dish of avocado and salmon inside wontons served with a spicy peanut sauce. This was excellent. The mains were a fish filet with a basil sauce which was highly rated, whilst I had the dish of the day - a sea bass, prawn and mussel ragout which was ok. I finished with a very good home made pistachio ice cream, and the waiting staff looked genuinely shocked when I asked for a single ball.

The service was attentive, but just a little too keen. Our main course dishes arrived a second after our starter plates were cleared away. Maybe this is the American expectation, but in Europe we like to partake of a more leisurely dinner. I would suggest telling them up front that you'd like some time between courses.

This is also the nearest good restaurant to Tikivillas.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice romantic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ask for the passionfruit mojito - gorgeous! I didn't give a full 5 star because the restaurant didn't have a fan, so we were a little warm during dinner. The food is really good but not amazing. At it's a tad expensive. However, the service and atmosphere is great so still worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuna Del Angel also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cuna Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuna Del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.