We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Coco

El Coco
Main Street, Dominical, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 33 Restaurants in Dominical
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Central American
Restaurant details
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great cheap joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had dinner here with my family of 4.
Great spot close to the beach, no windows so no problem with smoking people.
Extended menu and dead cheap prices on food and drinks.

As I wouldn't test too hard freshness of food here, we all had the typical casado, which was cheap and great!!!!

Really enjoyed this place as it was a relief from all those pricey restaurants in CR, especially on the southern Pacific coast

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Don't order the ceviche....
We were sick for two days, one bathroom...
The service was friendly and the setting was pretty but the food poisoning brings my rating down.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Decent food, great arroz con pollo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

clean place, nice ocean view and certainly feels authentic. Food is decent, but they did have the best arroz con pollo I've had in Dominical and I think I've tried them all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Food was awesome, view spectacular and the iguana coming out of the tree was an added attraction! Food for the whole family!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We love to eat here after a day at the beach. Good food, and batidos (smoothies). Good service and good prices!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coco also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.