We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled mahi-mahi is the bomb!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortilla Flats

Tortilla Flats
inside Tortilla Flats Hotel, Dominical, Costa Rica
506 770 0033
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Dominical
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Stockbridge, Georgia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Grilled mahi-mahi is the bomb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were hungry and hunting something good. Boy did we find it! My husband had the grilled mahi plate, and I had grilled mahi tacos -- sitting basically seaside with a bi-lingual waitress -- and it was just nice and funky and pleasant. The decor seemed fresh and open - with that great seabreeze blowing through. When we got ready to leave, my spouse was overcome with heat exhaustion -- the waitress and busboy helped to make him comfortable while one of the other guests found a medic; then they called a taxi for us....Yeah, we'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    144
    77
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casual dining/bar on surfer beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

English-speaking server. Food was good, but not cheap for CR. Fun tourist place. I had grilled tuna steak. In the US, I'd order it rare, but here I ask for medium rare. Anyway, it was very good, but I should've ordered rare. It was a large tuna steak, but cost like $17-18 USD. Comparable to prices back home.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Funky, fun beach bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Tortilla Flats is a funky, fun beach bar where the food is good, the ocean is near and the people watching is great!! The menu has a wide variety of options and prices. We've eaten there before and would happily go back again. Truly an institution in Dominical.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So good we went twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place has a great view of the ocean, interesting patronage, and wonderfully delicious food! We went for dinner one night and lunch another day. The fish dishes are very fresh and well worth their price. If they have tuna, order the tuna!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good stop, fine food for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a fun place for lunch. Food isn't outstanding, but the restaurant is right by the beach and it's a fun place to sit and people watch. We'd go again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortilla Flats also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortilla Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.