We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Spice Restaurant - CLOSED

Coconut Spice Restaurant
Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Breckenridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We ate here twice while in Dominical for a week. I would go back the next time as well. Its a nice open air restaurant on the river with good Thai Food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice view, food average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Food average, portions small, service good. Nice, quite location with river view. We ate three different dishes, not very authentic nor fat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After hearing very good reviews about the food at the restaurant, my family and I were excited to try this place out for a birthday lunch for my husband. We were barely greeted as we entered the restaurant even though we were the only ones there. As we asked a few questions about the menu and how items were served, we were treated in an extremely dismissive fashion...in a way I have never been treated before in a restaurant. It was most surprising because all of our other restaurant experiences within Costa Rica have been so very positive. So negative was this experience that we did not stay to try out the food. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“River-view location, disappointing food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Nice open-air location with view of the river. Red Thai curry (~$9) with tofu had neither coconut milk nor Thai-curry flavor. Lime chicken with cashews had good flavor, but was fairly dry. Maybe just a bad day for the cook?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A taste of India in Dominical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Small serving sizes but good for sharing. You may need to ask for more rice. Thai tea was good, not overly sweet (although, they do use sweet and condensed milk).

There are many Thai and Indian dishes. For instance, we ordered the honey lime chicken and coconut cashew curry and both were very good.

Definitely try the new tropical dessert: pineapple ice cream, fried mango, and either guava or papaya sauce. I was skeptical as usual but it blew me away -- if you like any of the flavors I mentioned save some room for dessert and don't hesitate in ordering it. Checkout the homemade coconut ice cream, too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Spice Restaurant also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Spice Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.