We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Year In Paradise - There Will Be A Third!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manu Yoga Retreats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manu Yoga Retreats
Save
You added Manu Yoga Retreats to your Saves list
Hatillo Rd, Dominical 25687, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Mt Airy, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Second Year In Paradise - There Will Be A Third!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Our small group visits Costa Rica every year for a week's missions work in the Central Highlands and then an additional week relaxing in the sun somewhere on the Pacific Coast. We've been North, South and Central on the beach. For the past two years we have stayed with Alex and Grace at Manu Villas......and we intend to return again next year!

The accomodations are lovely. The road from Quepos to Hatillo and from there to Dominical really stinks, but we think that lends an air of adventure to our travel! (ALWAYS rent a 4X4 for this adventure!) The hospitality and warmth of Alex and Grace more than compensate for the driveway.....which will only bother one if you feel no sense of adventure!

We consider this to be our perfect vacation site......and we've been LOTS of places. Grace can arrange any tours you'd like, her meals are wonderful and her massages are first rate. We really like Ploma, Chika and CC - they make us feel at home!

We are already planning for our trip next year, and we only arrived home 48 hours ago! I'd recommend the accomodations here for anyone.....not much action on the hill for young singles, but you can always take the 6KM jaunt for company if you like.

See you next February!

Terry and Daun Michael

  • Liked — the warm hospitality and views
  • Disliked — the road to Dominical
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Arriving at Manu Villa we instantly felt a sense of home, comfort, and relaxation. After many hours of travelling we were greeted with a delicious dinner prepared for us by Grace. The Pavillion structure, infinity pool, and breathtaking views were stunning. There was an air of meditative calm when sitting by the pool overlooking the valley and the ocean beyond. Grace's open air massages were heavenly. Manu Villa is definately off the beaten path and we felt very safe and secure. Grace and Alex, and their employees, provided a perfect balance of privacy and company in sharing their space and making our vacation at their Villa devine. Thank You Alex & Grace!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvr
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

A very heartfelt thank you to Alex and Grace, Jose and the rest of the staff!!
Such beauty, and peaceful surroundings are much appreciated.
A haven to rest and rejuvinate, and a great home away from home!
The food is delicious - thank you Grace !, the stories shared were funny, and amazing ! - thank you Alex.
The homes are spectacular, and the scenery fills you up!

We will be back!
Nadia and David
Las Vegas

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Suzanne, Pasadena, California
We just returned from spending Christmas week with our families. My sister and her family stayed in the Potoo and ours stayed in the Pavillion. What a magical trip for everyone. Imagine yourself sipping your first cup of coffee on the patio while watching the sun come up, all while a toucan is chewing on leaves in a nearby tree. The accommodations are top-notch (and believe me we've stayed in the very best) and Grace and Alex (the owners) are warm, kind and very hospitable as is the rest of their staff. If you're visiting this part of Costa Rica for the first time, this is the place to stay. I cannot wait to return to this very spot.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

What more can we say than the title. We have been all over, from Hawaii, to California, to the Eastern Beaches, Arizona, Florida, Mexico, and the Guld of Mexico. and there is no comparison to our time we spent in the Manu Villas!!!! When we first wanted to go to Costa Rica, we were looking for ppossibly a Four Seasons or something similar to that. We then found on the internet the setting we were looking for along with the mountain, jungle surroundings! Are we glad we made that decision!
The one bedroom villa, Potoo was perfect for the two of us, spacious, yet cozy, and everything was a 10 in regards to quality. Whether sitting on the wrap around deck, overlooking the jungle and beach views, or relaxing in the hammock to the gentle breeze, it was close to heaven!!! Grace and Alex were wonderful hosts and took care of our every need. From the wonderful prepared breakfast to the elegant romantic dinners, it was money well spent at each sitting. We also enjoyed the spa service, and great insight into restaurants, and local interests. They set up our tours for us and made us feel like we had no worries, which we really didn't.....
We were just a short drive into Dominical, and a private beach, and the privacy was unmatched!!! We are already settting up next years travel with more friends!!!! A The pool is wonderful, and in immaculate condition! The scenery is the best part of the the mountaintop. Animals and the gentle breeze make rest and relaxation even better!!! We were very pleased with everything and hope to be back soon!!!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — No Complaints
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed in a villa called Potoo. It is an amazingly beautiful antique Indonesian villa that was taken apart piece by piece and meticulously rebuild on the mountain slope overlooking Dominical. The hard-wood construction and ancient wood carvings are phenomenal! We design furnature and build houses ourselves, and we were extremely impressed with the beauty and quality of the buildings. Also, the views are breathtaking, and you get refreshing breezes from the even taller mountains near by. You can even see a huge waterfall in the valley in the distance and all kinds of wildlife like sloths, monkeys, and many beautiful tropical birds.

The location is great if you are looking for seclusion and a wonderfully romantic setting - but you are also a short 25 minute drive from Dominical, and even closer to several restaurants. However, you don't even need to leave the grounds if you don't want to because the fabulously friendly hosts, Alex and Grace, have the whole set-up right there. They prepare yummy meals, offer spa treatments, and did we mention the private pools? Unbelievable!! They have really worked tirelessly to build beautiful villas at the fringes of the rain forest, and they are available as much as necessary - but not in an invasive way at all.

If you appreciate beautiful scenery, really nice people, and exotic settings with a touch of adventure...this place is for you. The location is somewhat remote (which we love), but if you are looking for a bellboy and room-service, and freak out if you see a night-moth, then you may be better off at a big ugly high-rise hotel. We loved our time at Many Villas, and will definitely return!!!

  • Liked — Everyting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

My wife & I spent the final 4 days & nights of our 9 day Costa Rica vacation at the Bosque en Cielo villa, part of Manu Villas & spas, located on a hilltop in the rain forest, overlooking the Pacific coast just north of Dominical. We loved the villa and the surrounding property, everything you could want for a relaxing & interesting vacation. The villa is laid out so you have beautiful views of the coast or the forest from every room. The bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms are very large. The living area is huge with a fully equipped kitchen and a large dining and sitting area, complete with satellite TV. The bedrooms have AC, but due to the abundance of ceiling fans and natural air movement, we never needed it.

The terrace is surrounded by beautiful tropical trees, plants and flowers of every variety. We observed many types of wildlife from the terrace, including white-faced monkeys and macaws. The infinity pool is a highlight, with a fountain, and a view extending many miles up the Pacific coast. And the sunsets are to die for!

Alex & Grace are gracious hosts who will pamper you or leave you totally to your privacy, whatever you desire. Grace is a terrific chef who will prepare your meals for a reasonable price, we ordered 2 suppers and both were outstanding. Grace also has a massage studio on site.

We had a great stay at Manu and would love to return. One word of advice, a 4WD vehicle is recommended for the road up to Manu, we had rented a Nissan X-Trail and it handled the road without any problem.

  • Liked — The infinity pool and the views of the ocean and sunsets. Also the tropical vegetation and wildlife.
  • Disliked — Distance from town and the road.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Manu Yoga Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manu Yoga Retreats

Address: Hatillo Rd, Dominical 25687, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manu Yoga Retreats and Spa in Dominical Costa Rica caters to individuals who value an authentic encounter with nature. Hidden among 30 acres of lush tropical rain forest, four luxury vacation villas are situated on a small mountain ridge with expansive Pacific Ocean views stretching from Manuel Antonio Park in the north to the southern tip of the Osa Peninsula. Each rental villa comes with a private pool, fully equipped kitchen, organic linens, ocean views, tropical breezes, and the rainforest at your doorstep. The villas can be fully staffed for an indulgent vacation, honeymoon or retreat. We can tailor the experience for groups and yoga retreats of up to 14 persons as well as the discriminating individual. Among the many available options are soothing spa services, extreme athletic adventures, and customized cuisines for the educated palate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manu Yoga Retreats Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manu Yoga Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.