We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's see, we've been coming every February for five years, or is it six?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manu Villas and Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manu Villas and Spa
Save Saved
You added Manu Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Hatillo Rd, Dominical 25687, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Mt Airy, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Let's see, we've been coming every February for five years, or is it six?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is the perfect vacation! Evidence our 5/6 year history.......other places on the CR west coast can not compare. And not only are the accomodations primo, Alex and Grace are the perfect host and hostess. You can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This dream home was absolutely fabulous with every detail attended to. The views of the surrounding jungle terrain as well as the ocean were just awesome as were the variety of wild birds and monkeys that we were able to capture on camera!

We were fortunate to meet the owners, a lovely couple, Alex and Grace, and enjoy their company for an evening, along with a delicious seafood dinner prepared and served for my husband and I. Awesome! Also Jose', the caretaker, was there just a phone call away if we needed any assistance or questions answered. There was even a night watchmen that guarded the front gate to the property so we had no worries.


The property is up in the mountain for privacy, and a 4-wheel vehicle is recommended but it is still in close proximity to the towns below that provide tours, restaurants, grocery and shopping for your convenience. Who could ask for more.

This was perhaps one of the best vacations ever for the two us and we highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the beautiful country of Costa Rica!!

Pura Vida!!
Danny and Julie Emmons
Covington, LA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed in the Bosque en el Cielo for our honeymoon earlier this month and cannot say enough good things about it. It was better than we could have imagined. Alex and Grace were on vacation during our stay but made sure that we were well taken care of by their groundskeeper, Jose and the rest of the staff. The house was incredible and well stocked with anything we could have needed or wanted. We loved being able to wake up to the sounds of birds, watching the toucans and the monkeys play in the trees, and then being lulled to sleep by the sounds of frogs at night. We will absolutely be back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whale Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Our stay at Manu Villas was absolutely exquisite. If there is anything remotely like it elsewhere in Costa Rica I would be surprised. The setting, the facilities, the privacy, the ambiance, the food, the owners'attention to our comfort and details are beyond compare and all the superlatives I can think of fall miles short. Quite simply a place to go if you want to rest, relax and partake in the true luxuries of life. Not easy to find means you are in a secluded and unique part of the world. Fauna, flora and views to the coast that are unrivalled elsewhere we travelled through Central America. I cannot think of a better place to be pampered and soak up life's greatest indulgences.

Room Tip: The Balinese Villas are extraordinarily beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Alex and Grace were amazing hosts. Their Balinese style houses are peaceful and zen-like. I spent all morning watching the hummingbirds buzzing over the pool. Grace is the best cook in Central America!

Room Tip: You will be happy in any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Thanks Alex and Grace for being such amazing hosts. We stayed two nights in the large balinese style villa which Alex constructed. Beautiful woodwork and detail. We got in at night and were completely amazed by the view when we woke up. These all wood balinese style villas are in a nice lush jungly setting. They have amazing views from atop of their hill and all amenities you would need.
Grace is a great host and amazing cook. She has her own experimental recipes made out of fresh local ingredients. Also gives great massages. Leaving directly from the house you can take hike through the forest nearby which lead to a beautiful waterfall where you can swim and relax.
This is even better than what we had envisioned before our a relaxing tropical beach vacation in Costa Rica. The only caveat is a tricky driveway for poor drivers. Surfing and beach activities are a ten to fifteen minute drive away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main pavilion which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Thank you so much Alex and Grace for a great stay. The place is gorgeous, remote, romantic and with great potential for families as well. Super clean and cozy and with amazing views.
You can totally see the love the owners put in this place. Also we have hired chef services for dinner. Fresh Tuna was cooked for us right at our house. Homemade delicious, healthy, organic...
Thumbs UP all the way!

Can't wait to organize some Detox and Yoga retreats!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manu Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manu Villas and Spa

Address: Hatillo Rd, Dominical 25687, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manu Villa Rental and Spa in Dominical Costa Rica caters to individuals who value an authentic encounter with nature. Hidden among 30 acres of lush tropical rain forest, four luxury vacation villas are situated on a small mountain ridge with expansive Pacific Ocean views stretching from Manuel Antonio Park in the north to the southern tip of the Osa Peninsula. Each rental villa comes with a private pool, fully equipped kitchen, organic linens, ocean views, tropical breezes, and the rain forest at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manu Villas And Spa Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manu Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.