We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Save
You added Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages to your Saves list
Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Katy, Texas
1 review
“Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A great place to stay and relax. Very nice cabinas and right on a beautiful beach. Not to mention the owners Richard and Diane were more than nice,and helpful telling us great places to go and and good places to eat.I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

There was a reason they had rooms available on one of the busiest weekends of the tourist year. The Rottweiler was friendlier than the owners. The construction of the cottages is absolute minimum. Lots of traffic noise. Nice location, great beach, great food within walking distance, though.

Room Tip: All rooms are very small and poor quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived almost at dark. Parking is safe and secure, All the rooms face the ocean. We got room 1 which had 2 beds (single and full) and a small kitchen which had coffee and supplies for making a nice pot of coffee in the morning on the deck. The pool was clean and warm. You can hear the surf as you sleep. Room had a/c and a ceiling fan. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've been to Coconut Grove twice now and loved our experience both times. If you are headed to the Dominical area, I highly encourage you to stay here. It's affordable, clean, and right on the ocean! The large house was perfect for 4 of us and has everything you need for a comfortable stay (we stayed 10 days). To me, the main selling point is the fact that it is right on the ocean. It's hard to find that anywhere else in the area, unless you want to stay directly in Dominical. Coconut Grove is also quiet and peaceful. We've already planned our trip for 2016 to Costa Rica and there is no question where we'll be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I have been visiting Dominical for several years and had seen this property walking on the beach. This time we decided to book it for 5 nights. Best decision of the trip. We rented the small house which has everything you need. AC, Full Kitchen, Screened Doors, Beach facing patio with hammock/chairs, high-speed internet, houses have Televisions, swimming pool, personal parking spot, yoga platform, etc. The rentals are all separated and located on a luscious and green 3 Acres of land. Close proximity to shopping, grocery, restaurants, ATMs, and various activities (waterfalls, surfing, ballena national park, and many more). Thank you very much Richard and Diane for being such gracious hosts! We will be back! PS - Richard and Diane do a lot for the community having been residents for over 20 years and we applaud their dedication to giving back. Cheers!

Room Tip: Just reach out to Diane directly on the site and explore what best fits your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 4 days at Coconut Grove and were the only guests (start of rainy season). We stayed in cabin 4 which was kindly upgraded from cabin 2 seeing as we were the only guests. Cabin 4 is the closest cabina to the ocean and we could hear the ocean crash all day and night. Our favourite activity was standing in the pool and watching the ocean. We also enjoyed watching all the iguanas, there are plenty! Richard and Diane are perfect hosts. Richard likes to come by now and then to see that everything is ok and sit and chat, but is very respectful of your privacy. We did not have a vehicle so he offered to drive us around and show us places and answer our million questions. We joined them for dinner one night at Roca Verde where we had the pleasure of watching Richard drum with his former band, very cool. After they invited us for drinks in their home and we felt we had made new friends. You will not find a better location for the price and nicer people to share your time with. Their dog Flaca was our adopted baby during our time there, she rarely left our sides. We spent 21 days traveling Costa Rica and this place was by far our favourite!! Taxi into Dominical was $4, too far to walk. Porque No is just up the beach within walking distance and serves amazing food. Thank you Richard and Diane for such an amazing experience!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, AB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the big beach house for 4 nights on our 2 week trip to CR. Our family agreed it was our favourite of all our accommodations. Great house, pool, porch, views. Also, Richard and Diane were very friendly, and helpful. We will for sure return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.