We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beachfront hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Save
You added Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages to your Saves list
Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice beachfront hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived almost at dark. Parking is safe and secure, All the rooms face the ocean. We got room 1 which had 2 beds (single and full) and a small kitchen which had coffee and supplies for making a nice pot of coffee in the morning on the deck. The pool was clean and warm. You can hear the surf as you sleep. Room had a/c and a ceiling fan. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've been to Coconut Grove twice now and loved our experience both times. If you are headed to the Dominical area, I highly encourage you to stay here. It's affordable, clean, and right on the ocean! The large house was perfect for 4 of us and has everything you need for a comfortable stay (we stayed 10 days). To me, the main selling point is the fact that it is right on the ocean. It's hard to find that anywhere else in the area, unless you want to stay directly in Dominical. Coconut Grove is also quiet and peaceful. We've already planned our trip for 2016 to Costa Rica and there is no question where we'll be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I have been visiting Dominical for several years and had seen this property walking on the beach. This time we decided to book it for 5 nights. Best decision of the trip. We rented the small house which has everything you need. AC, Full Kitchen, Screened Doors, Beach facing patio with hammock/chairs, high-speed internet, houses have Televisions, swimming pool, personal parking spot, yoga platform, etc. The rentals are all separated and located on a luscious and green 3 Acres of land. Close proximity to shopping, grocery, restaurants, ATMs, and various activities (waterfalls, surfing, ballena national park, and many more). Thank you very much Richard and Diane for being such gracious hosts! We will be back! PS - Richard and Diane do a lot for the community having been residents for over 20 years and we applaud their dedication to giving back. Cheers!

Room Tip: Just reach out to Diane directly on the site and explore what best fits your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 4 days at Coconut Grove and were the only guests (start of rainy season). We stayed in cabin 4 which was kindly upgraded from cabin 2 seeing as we were the only guests. Cabin 4 is the closest cabina to the ocean and we could hear the ocean crash all day and night. Our favourite activity was standing in the pool and watching the ocean. We also enjoyed watching all the iguanas, there are plenty! Richard and Diane are perfect hosts. Richard likes to come by now and then to see that everything is ok and sit and chat, but is very respectful of your privacy. We did not have a vehicle so he offered to drive us around and show us places and answer our million questions. We joined them for dinner one night at Roca Verde where we had the pleasure of watching Richard drum with his former band, very cool. After they invited us for drinks in their home and we felt we had made new friends. You will not find a better location for the price and nicer people to share your time with. Their dog Flaca was our adopted baby during our time there, she rarely left our sides. We spent 21 days traveling Costa Rica and this place was by far our favourite!! Taxi into Dominical was $4, too far to walk. Porque No is just up the beach within walking distance and serves amazing food. Thank you Richard and Diane for such an amazing experience!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, AB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the big beach house for 4 nights on our 2 week trip to CR. Our family agreed it was our favourite of all our accommodations. Great house, pool, porch, views. Also, Richard and Diane were very friendly, and helpful. We will for sure return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We only stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February but it was one of our favourite places in Costa Rica. The cottage had everything we needed including a kitchenette. It was great to watch the iguanas on the trees and in the grounds by our cottage.
The sunsets from the oceanside were spectacular. We found we were just content to sit on the beach and watch the birds and the waves. The woodpecker going to and forth from it's nest in the tree on the beach was a bonus. Diane kindly lent us beach towels and beach chairs to help us enjoy the wonderful beach. We did not swim as it was surf waves and rocks but there was a small area around the headland which became more tranquil at a certain stage of the tide. However, we did make good use of the lovely pool in the grounds which was nearly right in front of our cottage. So not far to go!
Richard was really helpful and gave us a lift to Dominical and back as we had no transport and getting a taxi proved impossible due to the festival at Uvita. We were really grateful for that. Another frequent guest also helped us out a couple of times with lifts which we really appreciated. I mustn't forget the owner of the supermarket on the main road towards Dominical who brought us back to Coconut Grove the first time we failed to get a taxi! The kindness of everyone was brilliant and much appreciated.
There was a coconut tree near our cottage and one morning a young man quickly climbed up the tree, which was amazing to see, and started cutting down the coconuts. The owner, Richard, regularly gets the coconuts cut down and we were treated to coconut milk straight from the tree.
A great place to enjoy a natural garden by the Pacific with friendly and helpful owners.

Room Tip: All cottages were in good positions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We rented the large beach house and were pleasantly surprised to find the house to be everything we needed...and only steps away from the ocean. Richard and Diane, the owners were friendly and welcoming...providing lots of local information and things to do! The pool and rancho provided a great spot to relax, take a swim, and meet other guest. The dogs were very well behaved and were soon our friends..often enjoying a walk on the beach with us..or a brilliant sunset. The drinking water is well water that is tested and good to drink and use. We felt very secure during our two week stay and enjoyed not having to worry about that issue. The sunsets are breathtaking almost every night and long peaceful early morning walks on the beach are very enticing! I appreciated the well stocked kitchen since we like to eat in and enjoy the local products. The staff was very friendly and provided whatever we needed. We plan on returning in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 12 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 12 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#4 of 12 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tree of Life Cabinas
Tree of Life Cabinas
#2 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.