We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay-friendly hosts, clean rooms, awesome beach and pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Save
You added Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages to your Saves list
Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Galt, California, United States
2 reviews
“Great place to stay-friendly hosts, clean rooms, awesome beach and pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in the big house for three days. It was neat and clean, kitchen well stocked with condiments and kitchen utensils. the porch in back had great seating, a table and hammock with a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. The pool was a few feet away.

Diane and Richard take great pride in their lodging. They are kind and compassionate people who rescue animals who would not have survived without them. The dogs coming to visit adds to the friendly atsmophere. They are not intrusive.

Looking around, you see lots of beautiful trees and flowers, iguanas and birds. Sunset is beautiful.

I look forward to my next visit and staying at the Coconut Grove again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Coconut Grove for 2 nights in their small beach house. It was clean & spacious and quiet (with the exception of the 5am wake up calls of the many birds!). Lots of iguanas on site and the owners have several dogs that roam the grounds so if you don't like dogs (big ones like Rottweilers, etc.) don't stay here!

Room: was clean and well kept. The bed was ok, the pillows were lumpy and old but did the job. Pillows need to be replaced. A/C worked well (a bit loud) but to keep bedroom cool we needed to keep the bedroom door closed. The bedroom walls do not extend to the lofted ceiling.

Bathroom: was clean, hot water was intermittent (shower went from scalding to freezing without adjusting the tap, weird?). The toilet also backed up and we had to plunge it several times. We notified the owner (about both the shower & toilet) and he came to investigate and said he couldn't replicate the problems, but we continued to experience both problems.

Kitchen: well stocked and perfect for full meal prep. we stayed only 2 nights but the kitchen was well set up for extended stays.

The private beach access is nice but due to the tides (the beach is also inundated w hermit crabs) there is no where to lay out and enjoy the beach. The pool area is nice & comfy but we didnt come all the way to CR to hang out by the pool. Oh and if you don't mind sharing the pool w the dogs, they come and drink out of the pool and one even took a dip to cool off while my husband was in the pool! So if thay bothers you, don't stay here!

I would recommend staying here if you want a nice beachside cabin getaway. We likely won't return to Dominical as there are nicer beach areas to visit in the Pacific side (Playa Grande, Playa Hermosa near Jaco).

Dominical is just a short 5 min drive. Its a neat place to visit but it is a dirty hippie town. Hippies squatting on the beach selling their crappy wares. Depends on what kind of vacation you want. Otherwise Coconut Grove delivers what is promised, plumbing is the only real issue we had.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I hadn't done much planning of where to stay before we headed down to the Dominical area, but a guy named Randy who had booked a sailing tour on my sailboat further up the coast had just left this place and recommended it. We pulled off the road to check it out and we were blown away at how beautiful it was. We looked at the smaller cabins and a house that were available. We would have stayed there in a second if it weren't for the 2 night minimum. We only had one night free so we moved on, but now we know for in the future! It was very very clean and absolutely beautiful. Walk from your porch to the beach in under a minute to go swimming, snorkeling and exploring!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarentum,Pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed with Diane and Richard several days in January. We wished we would have reserved longer because we were not ready to leave when the time came. Coconut grove is beautiful in every way. We stayed in the larger of the houses and were very comfortable there. The beach is within sight and about a 30 second walk from the house.
Our hosts could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Their dogs were also friendly and we enjoyed their little visits. We accidentally left our laptop in the car that transported us to Coconut Grove. Diane and Richard were most helpful in helping us to contact the driver and retrieve it.
We are hoping to return to Costa Rica next year and Coconut Grove will certainly be where we want to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica mid December. We emailed owner Diane and she was extremely helpful in providing basic travel information and informed us there was a bungalow available. We reserved a few weeks in advance.

When we arrived the location was perfect. Nestled away in the jungle with private access to the beach and pool - we couldn't have asked for a better place to decompress, unwind and listen to the wildlife. Richard and Diane, the owners of the property were gracious hosts and helped us get our barrings and even invited us to dinner in town. We were extremely grateful for their hospitality and for providing a perfect, safe and clean home away from home to begin our vacation in Costa Rica.

Tip for travelers coming from San Jose - if at all possible rent a car. Coconut Grove is a little way from town and the road in to town is not the best road to walk on. Though, you can have a taxi pick you up, we found it useful to have a car to go on day trips to Manuel Antonio park or Uvita.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This place is located in a fairly deserted and REALLY nice swimable beach a couple miles douth of Dominical. We loved the beach - there is a volcanic rock formation next to the beach which was really cool to walk on,. The sunsets here were absolutely amazing.

The pool was REALLY clean and a perfect temperature. The rooms were clean, but the fixtures were a little dated. The wireless worked, for the most part, although we did have intermittent problems. The AC worked great (and it was REALLY hot when we were there). There were almost no bugs in our room (which for Costa Rica is really hard to find).

The expat owner was extremely hospitable. He had offered to help us with anything we needed, and addressed our questions regarding good places to eat, activities, etc. He even took us to a nearby waterfall couple minutes away that is not open to the public. In addition, we had requested extra pillows and they were in our room by the time we got back from a tour.

We would have given this place 5 stars easily, but the bed was so bad we both left with pretty bad back pain that took us a few days to recover.

Overall, we would HIGHLY reccomend this place, unless you have back problems or have a sensitive back.

Room Tip: All the cabins have a partial ocean view and a pool view - you cant go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This was one of our favorite places on our 23 day road trip on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Reserve your bungalow in advance—this is a popular small place. If you travel this far south, to Dominical, this is the very best place to stay. Right on a magnificent beach, with a pool. Clean sheets, towels, and air. Excellent rates. The owner was the drummer for “Grand Funk Railroad” and is quite a character. What I read about Dominical is true—a lot of expatriates live here. Musicians take turns at local restaurants/bars on different nights of the week and play. Loved it. The pictures tell it all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.