We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at your own RISK!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tombstone Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tombstone Motel to your Saves list
Tombstone Motel
502 E Fremont St, Tombstone, AZ 85638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tombstone
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stay at your own RISK!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was my friend's birthday and we decided to spend a weekend in Tombstone. AAA rating was one of the reasons we chose this moderately priced motel. We asked for a non smoking room, however you could smell the cigarette residue. The A/C was not properly maintained. Please note when you are staying there that you might be living next to extremely rowdy motorcycle club.We were forced to shorten our stay as the situation was becoming threatening and the hotel receptionist was very kind to make the process smooth.
The motel itself is old and the walls are thin.
DO NOT stay here during Helldorado unless you are looking for trouble. Educate yourself very well before going there. Make sure to talk to locals as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    31
    17
    33
See reviews for
28
61
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here with my family in November 2013, and feel we got a good room at a budget price, very close to all the action.

All of the staff were very friendly, especially Barry, who went out of his way to make us feel welcomed.

The Tombstone Motel is now called the Budget Host Inn. It's located one short block from the center of the tourist area, about a two minute walk.

The property is your classic two story motel. No elevators, and you park for free in front of your room.

The room is medium size and somewhat clean. The floor could have been better vacuumed. The had a medium size tube television with 15 basic channels and no PPV. There is also a table with 2 chairs in the room. There is no closet, but there is a hanging rack. No frig, micro, or room safe. They room came with free WIFI, and there was a strong signal in the room.

The bathroom is small with a toilet and tub/shower in one room, and outside was the sink. The bathroom was clean, but could use a little better maintenance.

The rating is based on a motel. It's called the Budget Host Inn, so don't expect Marriott type accommodations and you won't feel upset. The bottom line is that the room was inexpensive and super close to the tourist area of Tombstone.

I would stay here again, and would recommend this motel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Over $200 for 2 nights. No coffee for coffee maker. Bathtub not clean. Mold inside refrigerator. Rooms are cheaply built. Shower head not adequate, I suppose their water bills were too high. Note taped to wall said "Tipping the maids is appreciated since they work very hard to clean the rooms". Manager seemed surprised that the room was not satisfactory. He was gracious however and cleaned the tub and frig and left some coffee grounds.

Room Tip: At check-in manager said "you don't want to see our smoking rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I go to Tombstone every year on an annual motorcycle ride. I always stay at the Tombstone motel because it is walking distance to the town. It is a good location. The rooms are hit and miss. This year i had a good room that was clean and comfortable. They recently had the parking lot paved and it was nice not to have to park in the gravel. One negative is that the restaurant closed. I will stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the office. Avoid the rooms on the back side of the motel as they are small, old a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This motel is old BUT it has just been renovated and rooms are now very nice
And quite large, priced. Very low, there is no breakfast , the main street of Tombstone
Is just across the road 100 metres away and so is breakfast
This the closest motel to the town , You can have a few drinks in Big nose Kate's
And walk home I will stay here again.....
Front Desk people are very friendly and helpful,

Room Tip: Book ahead as they are often booked out especially if there is a event on And select a room back f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

As an alternative I suggest you commit some sort of minor offence, get arrested and spend the night in jail instead. There's probably a whole bunch of federal laws that prevent prison cells from being dirtier and less comfortable than the room we were given. Another marginally better alternative would be a night under the stars at boot hill.

Not a very warm welcome when checking in. Parking ok. Room was down an unlit corridor. Carpet was really dirty. Sink taps did not work. Cigarette burns in the TV. Dust and dirt everywhere. Wanted to charge us,extra for a no smoking room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed here for four or five years in a row on Labor day weekend and always get the same room. We look forward to it every year. I guess they changed hands somewhere along the way because there are Budget Inn stickers stuck on everything from trashcans to shampoo bottles. Printed notes taped to the walls ask you to tip your maid and not to use towels for makeup removal. It just feels awkward now. The shower curtain smelled of mold and most of the sprayers on the shower head were blocked. I've never minded it being an old hotel- it's peaceful and quiet and just a block away from the main strip of town. But the price is just so incredibly high for what you get. I'm afraid we will have to search for a new destination for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tombstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Motel

Address: 502 E Fremont St, Tombstone, AZ 85638
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tombstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombstone Hotel Tombstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tombstone Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.