We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Tombstone Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$89 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You will not be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We decided to try this hotel and we were not disappointed with the service, cleanliness, good breakfast and friendliness of Anamarie and Josh and the kitchen staff, we would highly recommend the Tomstone Grand Hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We're very glad you had such a pleasant stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. You can keep track of our special offers and packages on our website and Facebook pages too -- look us up!

Thanks again!

Angela Durrell
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    90
    34
    20
    13
See reviews for
111
132
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Would like to thank all the staff for their great service while we stayed September 20-22nd. Went to Tombstone for the ride to destiny and staff really went out of thier way to see that we had a good time. One staff member even went out of his way to bring a cooler for us to use at the fire pit. Thanks. Even though the extreme law enforcement in town made us not want to stay in town the Grande made our trip. Will go back agian.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello Jon U! Thank you for staying with us during the recent Ride to Destiny and I appreciate that you took a moment to share your experience. We do take great pride in our staff and I am happy that they made such a positive impression on you. We often talk about 'going above and beyond' for our guests and it sounds as though we did that in this case. I do hope that we see you again soon in Tombstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the friendly reception desk personnel, to the great view from our poolside room, we couldn't have had a better experience. The room was spacious and very clean. We also had an excellent complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Barbara A! It sounds as though you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Tombstone and I thank you for taking a moment to share it here on TripAdvisor. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful landscape which surrounds the hotel - it is definitely a 'natural wonder'! I appreciate your kind words and will share them with our team! Travel safe and I hope to see you soon in Tombstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night. Annmarie at the desk was awesome! Gave us places to eat, see and she was very nice. Breakfast was good and they had activities going on. Very nice!
Rooms clean! slept good.Close to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi mimi644! Thank you for the kind words in your recent survey response and also for mentioning Anna Marie specifically for her high level of service. I am happy that you found the rooms clean and enjoyed our nightly activity - and of course, a good nights rest is always one of our main goals. Travel safely and I hope we see you in Tombstone again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you want peaceful sleep, this isn't the place, DONT stay on ground floor you can hear everything, footsteps all night, it is worse than an apartment, made you want to bang o the ceiling!!!!! But the staff, a woman with long blonde hair was incredible, we chose to leave early so we could sleep. The pool did not appear to be heated, spa had horrendous smell, a gentleman with sores all over him went in and the rules clearly stated not to do so. The room was very clean,, breakfast was very good. .

Room Tip: Nothing on ground floor!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello irenic1951! I appreciate that you took the time to complete a survey about your recent stay with us in Tombstone. I sincerely apologize for the specific issues you encountered and our General Manager would be happy to discuss your concerns directly if you wish to call her at the hotel. We do take pride in providing excellent accommodations and I will personally look into the specific issues you raised in your review. I am happy that you received good service and found your room to be clean and the breakfast satisfactory. Thank you again and I do hope we have the opportunity to regain your confidence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was concerned when I received the notice that this was no longer a Holiday Inn Express. I shoulod not have worried. The hotel was clean, and the people working there were very friendly. The water pressure was a little lacking, but that was my only even small complaint. This hotel is just outside of town (not a bad thing) as in town was kind of run down looking. It was very close to Boot Hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Tananda! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us in Tombstone! I appreciate your kind words and will pass them along to our team! I appreciate that you mentioned our cleanliness and the friendly service of our staff. I do apologize for the low water pressure issue and will have it looked into immediately. Thanks again and travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean, comfortable bed. Check in clerk, Darryl was very nice and helpful. We booked 3 PRE-PAID nights through Hotels.com. The rooms were booked one night at a time, not three nights together, as our itinerary kept changing. Anamarie modified our reservation at the front desk so that we would not have to check out each morning and check back in.
We decided to leave about 6pm after staying 2 out of the 3 nights. Upon check out, we were told that we needed to pay for two nights as we had only paid for one(not true). LUCIA at the front desk was rude and had a horrible attitude. We dealt with her horrible customer service or over 20 minutes while she called her boss, then Expedia (they confirmed that we pd for 3 nights) then her boss again. Then, she wanted to charge us for a 4th night because it was after the noon checkout time!??! She couldn't seem to grasp the concept that we paid for 3 nights, stayed for 2 and were leaving early, not late. She stormed off in a huff and Rainy finalized the checkout and was very apologetic. 2 1/2 hours later, "Lorraine" calls me from the hotel to ask for my credit card information "for their records"?? What kind of scam are they running here?? I think not being associated with a hotel chain puts you at a disadvantage when issues arise. They are also not members of the BBB. Send Lucia to a math lesson and customer service training. Stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: We were in a large closet sized room on the first floor. Our friends got an upstairs room which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Angela:

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. I think there is a misunderstanding at hand here, if you will allow me to explain:

Our company policy is to request a credit card number upon check in for incidentals and to gather guest contact information. Our Front Desk clerks are required by management to do so, and in fulfilling these instructions, may have been a bit overzealous. We do not have anyone named Lorraine employed at the hotel, however, and so are unable to address that issue.

Again, we apologize for the confusion and understand your frustration. If you would like to discuss this matter further, we encourage you to contact the hotel and ask to speak with our GM, Madie Wunrow. She will be happy to speak with you.

Sincerely,

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Family Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tombstone Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.