We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Nose Kates Saloon

Big Nose Kates Saloon
417 E Allen St, Tombstone, AZ 85638
(520)457-3107
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a nice lunch at Big Nose's. Only reason for a drop from an excellent rating is slow service..but at least it was slow service with a smile. Our server was very busy, but she was friendly. Wanted to get out in time for a 2 p.m. showdown at the OK corral, which we couldn't do as we weren't finished dining so we had to wait for the 3:30 one. But with pretty good food (basically sandwiches and fried appetizers) and listening to an aging hippy singer/pianist (one of the many grizzly, bearded, grey pony-tailed hippies that served as actors, singers, and stage coach operators), we still had a great time. Enjoyed it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    210
    64
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great stop for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a late lunch on a weekday. There was hardly anyone eating, more locals (perhaps!?) at the bar, so our server was very attentive and helpful. We expected (for a tourist trap restaurant, of course), that for the prices, the food would be mediocre. We were wrong.
The beef in the brisket sandwich was one of the most tender and tastiest I've had. The nacho platter serving was large and tasty.
We enjoyed the live music too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We first when into the establishment to have a drink at the bar. The bartender was friendly and provided good service. We told her that we would like dinner and she told us that we could sit at any available table, which we did. We sat at this table for 25 minutes watching the waitress continue to pass by our table without a word. Finally I asked her for service to which she responded, "Oh, I thought you guys were just hanging around." I told that we were waiting to eat and she said "well I didn't know that". We walked out and never returned. I advised another couple we met at the motel about our experience. In spite of what we advised they when to this property. The same evening we met them again at the Crystal Palace and they agreed that the service at this Saloon is terrible.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food....service, not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My rating of a three is not based on the food, it is based on the service we had experienced. The restaurant was very busy during the Festival of Roses parade. We were advised by our server, Mary, to seat ourselves when the other table was finished. Upon seating ourselves and asking if we could get a towel to wipe the table down with, she told us "she was a little busy," in a very rude way. We ordered our food and drinks. We had to flag down another server to have the table cleaned off. We also had to remind Mary three times for glasses of water.
The table behind us also made comments about her attitude. All the other waitstaff was interactive with guests, smiling and joking. I am not sure if she was having a bad day, but it was definately showing.

The food was good , beers were cold, atmosphere fun and our past dining experiences will bring us back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“VIP table is the way to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Dumb luck put us in the VIP table, a small table elevated just to the right of the door. Far enough from the live music to carry on a conversation and out of everyone's way. Our server was awesome, the food was tasty and the drinks were reasonably priced for a tourist trap town.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Nose Kates Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Big Nose Kates Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Nose Kates Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.