We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tombstone Monument Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tombstone Monument Ranch to your Saves list
Tombstone Monument Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   895 West Monument Road, Tombstone, AZ 85638 (Formerly Apache Spirit Ranch)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great food, accommodations and staff. A short distance from all the fun but far enough away that it is quiet and one can relax and enjoy the good food and beauty of the desert, warm camp fires. We enjoyed the tours, horseback riding as well as a reptile exhibit and of course a gunfight.

Room Tip: Call early we had friends that could not get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    21
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
76
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tranquility
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

All the dreams of living in the time of cowboys and Indians come true at Apache Spirit Ranch. No detail has been left out. The ranch looks like a western movie town, the cowboys are the real thing and the Indians are friendly. You can ride horses, visit Tombstone legend of so many westerns or relax by the pool. The meals are tasty and filling and the salon with evening entertainment is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with a private patio and a view of the Dragoon Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We went out to Apache Spirit Ranch for a night away. We did the sunset horse ride, dinner and stayed the night.

We found the staff to be welcoming and delightful--they went out of their way to make sure we had a great time.

The ride was nice and the wrangler spent the time pointing out local history. After the ride we went to the saloon and had a few drinks and played pool. We socialized with other guests and enjoyed the atmosphere. We then went in for dinner and to be honest, we enjoyed the food and the staff were on hand continually bringing us the next course, taking dishes, getting drinks--very attentive. Afterwards we went back in saloon and enjoyed the night with live music--thank you Robbie :) , conversation and pool. The night ended in our room--which was very clean, comfortable and had everything we required and more. I regret that we had a short visit and were not able to enjoy more of the activities that are offered at the ranch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

As with the other reviewer, it seemed odd that a reservation could not be made over the phone. The staff were friendly and tried to make our stay pleasant. We were a bit taken back with the legal document that we were required to sign relinquishing the ranch of any liabilities for accidents. It might have been appropriate had we been joining a risky activity such as riding horses. The rooms were appointed in western decor and were clean and neat and very spacious. We had two double beds per room, a shower, TV and wireless connections. One bed had a dramatic sag in the middle. The meal was advertised as "gourmet"; it was very good but could not be described as gourment. Overall efficiency was lacking, e.g. there was a lot of running back and forth to the bar to bring water, tea and drinks to the dining table. We had some mix ups when checking out, as the room number for the extra drinks were not assigned to the correct people. We enjoyed the jacuzzi next to the pool; it was a beautiful, starry night. We had a good time and felt that the issues that we experienced were likely due to the new ownership and perhaps lack of experience in running a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Apache Spirit Ranch is under new ownership (this was my first trip so I don't know what that really means). The people are awesome, the food magnificent and the layout is really cool. We went on a Wednesday so there were very few people there and the layout is set up like the original town of Tombstone. So it was a lot like we were walking through a ghost town on the way to dinner. I would recommend this as the follow up to a day spent in Tombstone doing all the touristy things. I will go definitely go again.

Room Tip: The room that has its own balcony is really cool, cant remember the name (they are all old west them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willcox, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We bought a Groupon for 1 night stay for 2 and a 5 course dinner. When I called to make the reservation, a very rude woman with an accent answered the phone. She told me I would have to EMAIL to request a reservation and chose my entree. I said "Can't I just make the reservation over the phone?" She said "no". I asked what the choices were for entree and she said "follow the instructions on the Groupon". I said "The Groupon says to CALL for a reservation and mentions nothing about emailing and choosing an entree". She coldly told me it did. So she gave me the email address and I did as she asked. The next day, 24 hrs later I had heard nothing regarding confirmation so my husband called. He got the same woman who told him someone would get back to us 24 hrs after I sent the email. He told her it had been 24 hrs. She didn't care. It has now been 48 hours and no response. I called the desk last evening and no one was there. I read the reviews and with those and my interaction with the front desk, I called Groupon and complained. Groupon apologized and refunded our money. I double checked the instructions on the Groupon and it said "call for reservations". It also said we would receive an entree "LIKE chicken, salmon or steak". No mention of emailing and making a choice. Also my idea of entertainment is NOT a reptile show. This place could use a whole lot of improvement with their front desk service. I believe I was treated differently because I had a Groupon!.

Room Tip: stay home and chose your own bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApacheSpiritRanch, Manager at Tombstone Monument Ranch, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear TomKat2006,

we are taking your opinion very serious and we want to apologize, that you have not been satisfied with our communication according to your Groupon reservation. In order to make our service better for our guests and more efficient for our kitchen staff we need the voucher number of off your Groupon to know what deal you bought and what kind of meal you are getting, means we are offering dinner only, dinner and stay, dinner + trail ride and stay and also a 3 course or a 5 course dinner.
Unfortunatelly, your voucher number was not in our system, so we had to get back with Groupon to find out what deal you bought. We apologize, that it took longer then the promised 24 hours to get the needed information from Groupon and send out your reservation confirmation.
The Apache Spirit Ranch is always trying to entertain their guests in many different ways. We are sorry that you did not take the chance to actually be here and enjoy our reptile show, because so far all the guests we provided this kind of entertainment loved the education about reptiles that are actually living in the area around the ranch.
We schedule our nightly enterntainment program weekly and try to have variations, so there is something different every day for the simple fact that we do not want our guests to get bored. Therefore, we have live music, campfires, cowboy college, dance or like the day you were suposed join us, a reptile show.
The whole Apache Spirit Team again apologizes for your inconveniences and we will work further on ourselves to provide excellent customer service, food and dining, riding experiences and a great western ranch adventure.
We hope that you will come visit us some time in the future to actually experience our hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The overall experience was good, horse back riding was good, first time for me, the room was good for us, the food was kinda disappointing, the menu was not a choice of steak, salmon or chicken, we got what they served us, a small piece of fish, some vegetables and a dessert. Not a 4 or 5 course dinner as written on the ranch description. Although it is a Groupon deal and it is a reduced price, we felt we could have got a better deal in Tucson for the money. Thanks for the hospitality, but we'll pass on this ranch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApacheSpiritRanch, Manager at Tombstone Monument Ranch, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Gavino B,

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our service. The Apache Spirit Ranch is always trying to make their guests happy and we will take your comment very serious to further improve our services, our food and overall ranch experience.
Thank you for being a guest at our ranch and please feel welcome to come back some time in the future to experience our always improving services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tombstone Monument Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Monument Ranch

Address: 895 West Monument Road, Tombstone, AZ 85638 (Formerly Apache Spirit Ranch)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tombstone Monument Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest ranch is situated amidst ancient bolder formations of the Dragoon Mountains and is setup like an 1880's Western frontier town. We are 3 miles, down a dirt road, outside of Tombstone located in the heart of Cochise County, Arizona. Here you can step back in time to the era of the cowboy in our individually designed rooms; each with a unique historical Western theme. Experience the adventure of the historic Wild West with spectacular sunsets, sweeping views of sun-drenched terrain, dry creek beds, panoramic scenery and wildlife. Treat yourself to an historic Wild West adventure while enjoying all of the comforts and conveniences of the modern world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Tombstone Monument Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apache Spirit Ranch Hotel Tombstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tombstone Monument Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.