We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad state of affairs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Birdcage Theater

Birdcage Theater
6th and Allen Street, P.O. Box 248, Tombstone, AZ 85638
800-457-3423, 520-457-3421
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$150*
and up
Ranked #4 of 12 Attractions in Tombstone
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This one-time theater and brothel has been reincarnated as a museum.
Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sad state of affairs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have to agree with the other reviewers, it is so sad to see all that history sitting there in ruins. They seem to pride themselves on the fact that everything is "original," but at some point you have to realize that you're ruining a great piece of history by letting it deteriorate so badly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    141
    61
    17
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Birdcage Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although we only went into the lobby and did not do the museum tour, we could see it would be very interesting. The lobby and exhibits there, are fascinating - old original posters, books etc. Thought the museum entrance fee rather expensive though

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still standing after all these years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Touring this theater you get the feel of what it was like to live during that time and just let me say I'd rather be in this century. Looking at the hotel rooms, I couldn't believe people could actually sleep in the beds they were so small and of course, no running water.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Tombstone must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is genuinely a must-see for history-buffs. It's original (fire never ravaged it) and an eerie window into the past. Not cheap, at $15 each you may walk through and say "was that it?". But take time to understand what went on there. How small people were back then (you'll get it if you go, I don't want to spoil it). The building itself is a time capsule, never mind its contents. Don't forget to take time to read the epitaphs to the working girls, it helps to make sense of it all.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Original, must-see tourist stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although the Birdcage has seen better days -- is now dusty and well-worn -- this is still a must-see tourist attraction in Tombstone. As you enter the old theatre, you sense the unique old-west history and personality of the characters who once frequented this old saloon and theatre. You'll see the old stage, poker tables, and photos of the famous cowboys, sheriffs, Indians and saloon girls, along with some of their original clothing, guns, pianos and what-not. I can't imagine visiting Tombstone without seeing this one.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birdcage Theater also viewed

 

Been to Birdcage Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdcage Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.