We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST SEE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O.K. Corral

O.K. Corral
308 East Allen St, Tombstone, AZ 85638
520-457-3456
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$150*
and up
Ranked #7 of 12 Attractions in Tombstone
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Performances, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Actual site of the famous 1881 Gunfight at the O.K. Corral in Tombstone, AZ. Subject of numerous Hollywood movies. See Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday in daily reenactments. Stand where the legendary Gunfight began. Visit Doc Holliday's room. View over 100 photos of 1880s Tombstone and the Apache Geronimo taken by famous Tombstone photographer C.S. Fly. Open daily 9-5.
Fresno,Ca
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“MUST SEE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is NOT the stunt show you may have seen before. This is a presentation of history, told NOT from the Earp point of view. It gives the audience a chance to hear from the Clanton perspective. Although there are a few moment of levity, it is serious, educational, and at certain moments, poetic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    191
    76
    28
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia
1 review
“Truly interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The experience of the characters that we all know and love walking down such a famous street and into the area that was made famous by their gunfight was something I am glad I didn't miss. The tension builds from the yelling in the street to the "behind the scenes" in the Corral itself. We were in the back of the line and the Doc Holliday character kind of egged us on saying something to the effect that if we didn't hurry up that we would miss it. He said it in a tone that would fit the day and character he was portraying. Others may find it a bit rude or arrogant, but it fit the character and was refreshing. It was raining the day we saw the performance, but the actors and actresses still pulled it off.

The only regret I have is that I went out front after the performance to grab a quick cigarette and we missed the movie explaining the REAL story behind what happened there. So, if you are going and watching the performance be sure to go straight into the theater so you don't miss it.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK Corral Performance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

In a tourist town, full of touristy things to do, we saved this experience for last, thinking that we'd end our day with a bang and go home with one last good memory of Tombstone. For the most part, that didn't happen.

Unlike the rest of Tombstone attractions, the staff that sold tickets in the OK Corral gift shop were rude and treated guests with such a snooty attitude that I almost didn't purchase the ticket. But, my mother wanted to see this show and the Historama so purchase I did.

The gunfight act actors were good and the performance was very much akin to Greek tragedy. A good deal of fictional license is taken with the story, but this is true of everything in Tombstone.

The Historama narration is much like you would see in the late 60s at Disney's Carousel of Progress and has not been updated. The film that was created in 1964 and narrated by Vincent price is still the film you see today.

This combination of attractions would have earned a high 4 had it not been for the sarcasm and guest treatment (observed and experienced) by more than one of the staff. If they treat guests with this level of impatience during slow season, I can only imagine the level of low this gets to during busy times.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRENTWOOD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Of course it's worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

As someone previously noted, you probably wouldn't be in Tombstone if not for the gunfight which occurred at the OK Corral. I'd been here once before, and it is one of the places I wanted to take my out-of-state, out-of-country relatives to visit who gathered for Christmas. Most of the original buildings have fallen into disrepair. so you are seeing restorations, with original materials. You can see some of the original adobe walls at the base of the current ones, But the layout and spaces are identical to the originals. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK Corral Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you are visiting Tombstone, this tour of the OK Corral and the wonderful reenactment of the famous gunfight is a must. It is entertaining and the kids will love it (kids of all ages that is).

And their is a nice, inexpensive gift shop with all kinds of OK Corral "goodies".

A wonderful historic place where one of the most famous gunfights in western history took place. Wyatt Earp was the only one of the Earp's not wounded in the gunfight. Amazing considering everyone was so close to each other. We enjoyed everything, no dislikes on our visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O.K. Corral also viewed

 

Been to O.K. Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O.K. Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.