We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nunda Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Divundu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nunda Safari Lodge
Save
You added Nunda Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Kavango East Region, Divundu, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Right at the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a place that met all our expectations and even surpassed them! Cabins are excellent, food is nice. The river terrace is a great place to hang out at any part of the day. You could hear the hippos thumping around at night. The sight that opens from the river view cabin is amazing. It feels a little funky with the open toilet and bathroom (no real separation from the room itself) but adds to the character.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are very pleased that your stay with us was a pleasant one. It is satisfying to know, as owner, that we do make a difference to someones holiday. We look forward to your next visit. Until next time, take care. Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the place to visit in the Caprivi. A brilliant lodge on the Okavango river. The staff are stunning. Helpful, professional and so friendly. The lodge food is very good. The view from the lodge deck is just something else. So beautiful. The rooms have a river view, with a very interesting bathroom. You feel you are in the veld. We did a boat cruse, and we saw loads and loads of hippos. Rooms are good with all thaw facilities that are required.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Alex, thank you very much for the feedback of your experience here at Nunda. I am really thrilled that your time with us was most enjoyable, as these positive experiences makes one's holiday. I sincerely hope that you will return to our country and in particular to us here at Nunda some day. Your positive review makes all the difference to my staff and I, and encourages us to do just that bit more.

Until next time, take care and safe travels.

Cameron & the Nunda Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

On arrival at Nunda we were greeted by Cameron who immediately set about making us feel welcome and at home. As you walk through he doors of the main Lodge building the vista really does have the Wow-factor. It enjoys a wonderful position on the Kavanga River and when we were there, there were plenty of hippos to hear and watch and an abundance of birds to spot. We had a beautiful luxury bungalow which had the most amazing view of the river. We stayed 2 nights here and both nights children from local schools performed traditional songs and dances for us - magic. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly.

We took a river trip to see the Popa Falls and the Hippo Spot and our guide was really knowledgeable about all he showed us. We also took a game drive into the Mahango National Park where we saw an abundance of animals including Cape Buffalo, Roan and Sable Antelopes, Elephants, Zebra, Giraffe as well as lots of beautiful birds and other antelope.

All in all a really good Lodge - great position, great ambience, great people, great wildlife viewing, good food, local cultural interest.

Room Tip: Our bungalow had an uninterrupted view of the river which was rather special as we were able to watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your very positive response and we are extremely happy that your stay with us was a most enjoyable one. I trust that the rest of your visit in Namibia was just as enjoyable and I we hope you have fond memories of your visit to our country. We trust you will return some day to experience the warm Namibian hospitality and reacquaint yourselves with our magnificent country.

Until next time, take care.

Cameron and the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We camped here for one night on a campsite very close to the river #7. We liked it here. Campsite had lots of privacy and a group of hippos stayed right in front of our site on a rock! Amazing. The braai can in handy and the lodge also sells some braaipakkets (bbq pack of meat). Ablution blocks were stylish and clean. Hot water was not always available.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive response, it is appreciated as one does not always get positive feedback. Human nature dictates that we always see the negative before seeing the positive, so it's reassuring to know that we must be doing something right.

As for the hot water, yes, it does pose a problem when the camp sites are full and then donkey (wood fired boiler) struggles with the demand. We are considering alternatives such as solar, electric geysers or heat pumps.

Thank you once again and trust you had an awesome holiday in Namibia and we look forward in hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the minute Cameron greeted us on our arrival we knew we would love it here. Our tour operator, Gemma from Discover Namibia Safaris, had mentioned to them that we were celebrating my husband's big birthday, so we were given an upgrade to a bungalow and a choice of wine from Cameron's cellar, plus an extra activity from Gemma herself. We really enjoyed the hospitality and had a wonderful stay.
It was winter, so it was gorgeous in the daytime, but cold at night as it had been in most of the places we had stayed on our trip, but here we had electric blankets. Yes, the bathroom was partly open air, but it was only a question of timing your shower once the sun had warmed things up a bit, and there wasn't a mosquito in sight. An advantage of travelling in June. Eugene, a co-owner, and equally as friendly as Cameron, lovingly tends the gardens, which makes them a bird watchers paradise. The sunset cruise was great with hippos, hippos and more hippos, crocodiles and birds. An afternoon game drive to the small, but excellent Mahangu National Park is not to be missed, lots of wild life including lions.
We only stayed 2 nights but could easily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Dot_Em, Thank you for the wonderful review and it was a real pleasure having you staying with us and, time and budgets permitting, we would love to host you again in Namibia. We trust you had an equally enjoyable safari though our country. Until next time, do take care. Cameron, Eugenie and the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Most chalets are right on the river with views and sounds of hippos.The lodge itself is spacious as is the tremendous bar and deck. We took the sunset cruise with was great--lots of hippos and some other game. Great birds too. Sunset was magnificent. Also did a morning game drive to Mahangu National park which was absolutely fantastic. We saw 16 different mammal species including a lion. Birds were great there too. This is a really good game park and one can also self-drive it easily. Cameron, one of the owners was so nice and helpful as were all of the staff. The staff really makes a great lodge and boost the overall experience. Our game driver was super too. The chalets are basic inside but have a very comfortable porch with river views. The large nearly open air bathroom was good but in May too cold for morning showers--afternoon fine though. Food was somewhat iffy-- not bad but very bland and uninspiring. Breakfast likewise. Really good wine selection though. I highly recommend this lodge and plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review, it is appreciated and we hope to see you back in Namibia again. Also thank you for your honest reviews. I have brought it a professional chef for two weeks to do considerable training with our local cooks. So far the results have been amazing so I believe we will have raised the standards considerably by the time she leaves. Until next time, take care and God Bless. Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After 200Km on a paved road we finally arrived at the lodge. All wooden built with bungalows few minutes away from the lodge. The lodge has a nice terrace directly on the river where, if lucky, you'll see hippos. (we did not but we heard them). The bungalows are nice; the room is enclosed, but the washroom is partially opened to the outside (beware of mosquitoes) ; the bottom of our toilet was liking (but not much- reported it the next morning upon leaving); pool is nice; bring some light to walk back to your chalet (the road is lighted but not that much); food is basic but good. Service is very good and the owner is very affable. In the afternoon we went to the Buffalo Park were we saw hundreds of those animals (but they are shy). Nice stay (2nd day in Namibia- out of 10 ).

Room Tip: have a room where there is no vegetation blocking your view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. They are must appreciated and keeps us on out toes to always try harder and go the extra mile.

I hope to see you back in Namibia again.

Take care.
Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nunda Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunda Safari Lodge

Address: Kavango East Region, Divundu, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kavango Region > Divundu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Divundu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nunda Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Nunda Safari Lodge Namibia/Divundu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nunda Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.