We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Loved it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort to your Saves list
La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 meters from main road, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely Loved it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Start with a sloth sighting right on arrival (like he was waiting!), a lovely pathway to a charming palapa with tables for dinner, and a beautiful inviting pool! This is how to start our adventure on the central Pacific coast of Costa Rica.

Christina and Manuel were lovely hosts. After showing us our private casita through a well manicured trail, we were surprised that we had a private veranda overlooking to we manicured grounds.

Its unbelievable the amount of love, sweat and care that Manuel and his crew must have put into this jungle setting in the last year. It is really beautiful.

The palapa was clean, nicely furnished and well appointed. A short stroll lead us to dinner under the palapa for a lovely chicken casado typical costa rican dish.

At night, I went out and found frogs, sloth, leaf cutter ants and heard birds. The birds also act as an alarm clock in the morning in a relaxing way.

Breakfast was buffet style and included. Other guests were there as well and it was great to discuss what they did the day before and exchange tips. Christina and Manuel were great to help up arrange a couple of trips that we would have otherwise missed. Nayauca Falls and a Mangrove tour.

If you need to catch up on email, the wireless in the main palapa area worked well for my iphone and ipad. It would drop if many people were using it, however this has been my experience in many other locales.

Fruit juices as well as adult beverages were available for a reasonable cost. ( I only had beer, but think they have fruity drinks and wine, however it's more of a laid back eco tour type environment, rather than a 'party at the resort' kind of place. If you looking for loud music and people partying, this wouldn't be your place. If you want relaxation and a quiet secure, safe and fun jungle adventure, this is it!!

We will definately return to this piece of paradise in Costa Rica! Thank you Christina and Manuel for a lovely, memorable, relaxing stay at La Palapa Eco Resort!

Room Tip: We had casita 8 and loved it, just a little way from pool and palapa, but all rooms seem really nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    33
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
41
76
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siverstone UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose to stay at La Palapa on the south pacific coast for the last week of our 17 nights in Costa Rica to avoid the commercial excess of Manuel Antonio and to just chill out.What a great decision, 20 mins away from Manuel Antonio and yet in its own world in the village of Portalon.
We coudn't have wished for better hosts. Manuel, the owner, is a fanatical gardener and the grounds are a stunning array of exotic planting. As a bonus the place is full of birds, we saw a greater concentration of bird life at La palapa than we had seen anywhere else in Costa Rica, The bungalows are spotlessly clean, spacious, private. and the veranda is a great place to be with a long drink, by day or by evening. The pool quality was perfect and the Portugese fish casserole was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Manuel and Christina and their enthusiasm for their envirinment was boundless. Just a short walk up the lane there was a pair of Chestnut-mandibiled Toucans nesting and a little further beyond you can take a dip in the pools and waterfalls of the river while watching Kingfishers.
Really good value, with quality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We finally left one day early although we were fully paid because it was such a negative, hostile and scary experience.

Thankfully we had two wonderful VRBO stays during our recent month-long trip to Costa Rica or La Palapa would have ruined our vacation. At first we were excited because the grounds are beautiful and the pool perfect. But then the owners became very overbearing and insistent on unreasonably controlling the behavior of their guests. The owner screamed at me 3 different times so that every guest on the property could hear.

This property shouldn't be listed on VRBO. It isn't a "villa," it's a bad hotel with bad service. The bungalow kitchens aren’t equipped enough to even make coffee or reheat leftovers. The living room had two twin beds and no comfortable furniture. We invited three couples we met who were also renting bungalows on the property to our living room for happy hour. Although there were only 5 bungalows on the property and the guests in our room represented most of those renters the owners actually showed up at 9:00 p.m. on Saturday night and angrily insisted that we were being rude to the other guests.

The owner repeatedly loudly verbally abused me for asking for something I could make tea in for our rental kitchen and at breakfast in the dining room. Although they had water carafes I was told I couldn’t use one. He screamed that I only wanted to use a kitchen because I was cheap and wanted to cheat the hotel. The owner actually said "you are to only use one tea bag per cup." When I suggested that the "customer is always right" especially since all I wanted for breakfast was hot water he screamed at me "no, not when the hotel is perfect." We asked one day to skip maid service and was told "No. We must go into your room every day."

The dinners were inedible at $20 per person. The owner loudly complained about hating to cook for vegetarians. The wireless only worked in the "restaurant" but you weren't allowed to bring even a bottle of water with you to check your messages. And if there were more than 2 people on the internet already you couldn't get on. When I said I needed to conduct some business the owner informed me that I shouldn't be working while I was there.

We received no notice of these very strict rules. We wouldn't have rented if they had made clear the lack of amenities/privacy as well as the control that the hotel owner expected to exert on his guests.

If you are expecting a low budget hotel this might be an okay place to stay. But we weren't. We were expecting to be able to treat our one bed-room like a little home away from home. Instead it was five days of trying to avoid raising the wrath of the owner.

Room Tip: Don't rent here unless you want to be mistreated and bullied by the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbraganca, Owner at La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
People with drinking problems are not welcome to La Palapa.
This is the case of this couple that drunk all day Rum bothering at all times other guests.
Finally they decided o live earlier the resort because I did not tolerate this kind of behavior no longer, and also because other guests press them to live.
The review is based on lies that we are not aware that ever happen on the resort, because the lady threatened and promised that was going to all internet sites to say the worst about La Palapa, and for what we can read the promise was kipped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice place, But if you require Internet service, It does not work from your room, only from the Pool area which we were told. What we were not told is that the Internet service is extremely poor due to this place is so rural, and you have to try and log on to their service which takes you about 20 attempts, and then all of a sudden you find your disconnected,and this is a major problem,if you require good internet service.Other guests had the same problem,When I asked the owner why it was so bad, he said it was because of electrical surges on his property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at La Palapa. The lodge is beautiful and quiet and the owners are very nice and service-oriented. The pool is amazing. A great place to stay for families. Two nice beaches are only a short drive away. You have easy access to the Manuel Antonio area but can avoid both the crowds and high prices.
Only minus: the cleanliness of the room was acceptable but not as excellent as the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at La Palapa for 4 nights and loved our stay and our wonderful hosts. The location was perfect for us, very removed from the resort and tourist areas but only a short drive to amazing beaches, towns, and resturants. We had a car which I think is key to enjoying the area to the fullest. La Palapa is beautiful and the private bungalows were more than we hoped for. We had a large private patio where we enjoyed cocktails with local fruit daily. Breakfast is included and dinners are available nightly. The dinners were amazing and we ended up eating their most evenings as the food was delicious! The grounds are filled with flowers, birds, wildlife and a few noisy roosters (helped us get up early every morning and enjoy the day..). Cristina was amazing booked all our tours and provided us with much information before and during our staff. I really can't say enough about how lovely our stay was here. This is truly getaway experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: The bunglows are amazing, some have more private patios ask to have a patio that faces the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The pool is the perfect temperature. The bungalow is the perfect size and comfort. The gardens are the perfect lush. The breakfast is the perfect "typical". The hosts are the perfect hosts. The weather and surrounding areas are amazingly perfect. The location to beaches and swimming holes is perfect. Our stay in La Palapa was relaxing to the max, and a great vantage point to the attractions in the Manuel Antonio area.

Room Tip: All bungalows are well situated. We were directly in front of the swimming pool and still private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Address: 800 meters from main road, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'La Palapa EcoLodge Resort', surrounded by tropical gardens is located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land, in the Central Pacific Coast of Portalon in Costa Rica, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora. A perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North and Southern Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The La Palapa Resort is considered one of the most beautiful and well kept in, Quepos-Matapalo-Dominical and Uvita area, with grounds and tropical gardens beautifully maintained and clean, by dedicated staff that deliver the best service every day. What makes a great Hotel is one that makes you want to stay forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort Costa Rica/Portalon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.