We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place that needs more help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Conservation and Education Centre

Turtle Conservation and Education Centre
behind Bali Dolphins, Serangan, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Serangan
Attraction details
melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An amazing place that needs more help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This morning we visited the conservation Center. There was a young girl who was volunteering her time there (sorry I didn't catch your name), who showed us around to all the tanks and told us about the center. She showed us the small baby turtles and the large 10 year olds. We saw the hatchery where the eggs that they find on the beach are relocated to safely hatch the young. We were able to 'adopt' a turtle to release into the beach/sea which was such an amazing feeling. This is something that all visitors to Bali should make a priority. The work these people are doing is just another example of how our world is changing for the better. Please go and donate to this amazing cause

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Go to the Right Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The first thing to stress is that there are multiple places claiming to do turtle conservation around Bali. This is a review for the site on Serangan Island. This site is an unassuming vbuilding with a turtle statue outside on the coast of the island. The volunteers here are willing to explain to you the entire process behing the conservation they are doing and what it means to the turtles. We were able to find it since we had our own car, if you have a taxi just keep driving on Serangan and you will eventually find it. Any donation you give at this place is completely voluntary. We chose to give one since it was obvious the work they were doing was both vital and very costly. If you want to know about turtle preservation and conservation this is the place to come.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Turtle Conservation - Great For All!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our guide, Made, took us to the Turtle Conservation & Education Ctr in Serangan. It is a simple set up but the objectives were very clear & solid - to breed turtles and to release them back into the ocean. Great place for all to be reminded that there are those who take from the ocean and others who return to it. It also reminds us the importance of respecting sea creatures. Our kids were very enthralled. There is sand pit hatchery, separate tanks for the newborns, 2 mth olds, etc and the different breeds of sea turtles. There was also a tank of rescued injured turtles.

There was, however, a couple from a booming Asian country, who blatantly asked if they could buy a baby turtle! Fortunately, the staff there was very firm and politely explained that they are to be returned to the sea.

Don't forget to buy a souvenir from this purposeful attraction - friendship bracelets at non cut throat prices - and leave a token to help them keep it going!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Most drivers won't know where to go if you just say "turtle conservation centre" even if you mention it is on Serangan Island. Definitely speak with your hotel or make note of the exact address before you go.
That being said, they are a great provider of education on turtle conservation and are working to rehabilitate turtles to their natural environment.
Peak season is a better time to visit (around June-ish to October I believe) as they have eggs hatching and a lot more things happening, whereas we visited in March, and it was really quiet. On the plus side, we had a guide all to ourselves who could answer all our questions.
Good place to visit without any expectations on you. Donations are welcomed (and worth it for the job they are doing!)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small, dedicated place provides chance to learn about turtles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is often confused with the one in Tanjong Benoa. Make sure you tell the driver it's on Serangan Island, and there's a link road to the island. You'll see a turtle statue when you arrive. Here is the address: Jalan Tukad Wisata No. 4, Serangan.

This is the first turtle conservation centre in Indonesia. It's just a simple, kids-friendly conservation for turtles. There are several tortoises as well but the main thing to see is the baby turtles. The man who was in charge that day showed me around and explained the conservation program and conditions of the turtles and place itself. I am Indonesian and I don't know whether it's got to do with the communication, but he really explained the stuffs in detail. There are some pools with different species of turtles. They have a small corner filled with sand and bury the eggs there for an incubation. The turtles are well-managed and I'm glad they are doing this, considering the turtles were used to be hunted until it was banned by the government. The man told me the locals in Turtle Island (the one in Tanjong Benoa) were former turtle hunters but he said that place has progressed a lot.

In the end, we put a little donation, went back happily because we learnt a lot and was able to do some good for the turtles.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Conservation and Education Centre also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Conservation and Education Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Conservation and Education Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.