We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   670 North Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Emporia, United States
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is a great value for the money. It is clean, the bed was very comfortable, the decor is up-to-date, and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located close to the ASU football stadium (a 10-minute walk?) and just a few miles from the Phoenix airport. We would definitely stay there again if we visit Phoenix again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Jack,

Thank you for the great review and letting our future guests know how close we are to Arizona State University's Sports facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    100
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
84
65
29
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'm a little torn on this hotel. Man, this area sucks. Yes, it is directly across from the amazing In-N-Out, not to mention a few other awesome places like Wingstop, Jersey Mike's and Starbucks. It is also spitting distance to Tempe Town Lake and literally in the same spot as Denny's. So convenience is huge, but man, every inch surround this hotel is just trash. It smells like urine and there is the largest collection of broken glass and cigarette butts in the empty lot of trash immediately adjacent. There is also not a really sidewalk to the hotel from Tempe Town Lake so I was 99% certain I was going to get run over in the parking lot when entering or leaving. If this hotel is all you see of Tempe, you will never ever be back. That said... we stayed here for Ironman Arizona. We stayed 5 nights and really can't complain at all about our stay. The guys at the front desk were very friendly. We had a great time using the shuttle bus for free to take us to Mill Ave and our room had everything working and clean. There was also an ASU home football game (our room was facing the stadium) and we didn't hear a thing except some random fireworks. We also had no issues hearing through the walls or other guests and the hotel was pretty busy that weekend. Free breakfast was great, never too crowded and well stocked.
In terms of the race, this was a great location as it was only about 1 mile walk to the Athlete Village/Starting line. The only warning I have is that the Best Western is very close to the run course, so you will have to fight temptation to stop running and go lay in your bed ;) The hotel is also only like 500 feet from TTL so you can access the trails for a warm up ride or run easily.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Ironman Guest!

We are glad when you compete in Ironman that you do stay with us! This past year the area was quite busy with an NCAA Football game across the street and Ironman in the same weekend. So we will try our best to keep our area as clean as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stay there 2 or 3 times a year. Great staff, clean, comfortable rooms. Great location. Near the University campus. I'll continue staying there when in the Tempe area. Located near freeway so access to the airport is also quick & easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your continued business! We always look forward to your return! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Decent business place to stay but give it a 2.5 stars rating. No way that it should be much more than that. Breakfast was quite bad... plan to eat elsewhere unless you enjoy prepackaged highly processed foods. Stale smell in room and lobby smelled like chlorine. Not the place to stay if you like pampering yourself. Staff were the best part of stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

To start, thank you for taking time out of your life to sit down and write a review. Addressing some of the issues you'd noticed during your stay . . .
We are sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, besides the heated items, we also provide yogurt, fresh fruit, and cereal.
The chlorine smell in the lobby is due to the spa area being right next to our lobby. I will let our maintenance department know it is a bit strong in the lobby area.
We are a 2 Star Hotel, so you did categorize us properly, so if you were looking for a "treat yourself" hotel that would be Best Western Plus or Best Western Premier property. Which if you are looking for that when you come to town again there are two very close to ASU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Staff was extremly friendly and helpful, simply nice people, Room was comfortable and very clean. The location next to the exit ramp was the only negative factor, but there was no noise from the freeway in our room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Carl,

First, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! Also so look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is the best hotel staff I have ever come across! They were so friendly and willing to help with any request I had. I am most impressed by the night manager, Patrick. He was so accommodating to any issue I had and actually followed through on his word. The room was beautiful and amenities were way above average. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We at the Best Western Inn of Tempe always love to hear a kind word about the customer service they receive from us! So again, thank you Stephanie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I spent 3 days - 2 nights in this hotel. People in the front desk are VERY nice and willinh to help you in anything you need. Rooms have nice size, flat tv screens, good bathroom,... Maybe they could improve the breakfast service. See if the hotel is near the places you have to go, Phoenix is a extremely spreaded city and you can expend $100 in taxi with ease.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Well it is always great to hear a positive review about our property, and thanks for the suggestion on Breakfast too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe

Address: 670 North Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
#9 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Of Tempe Hotel Tempe
Best Western Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.