We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay for business and convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“okay for business and convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

I stayed here for 5 nights and only slept good one of the five. The rate was high (group rate) for the property and the fact that the hotel is sandwiched between a condo construction site that is is open for work 24 hours a day and a railroad track that has trains going by hourly. It is a very convenient walk to dowtown, many shops and restaurants and the ASU campus. It is also a quick ride from the airport. You won't need to rent a car if you stay here.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
12
17
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spokane,WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

I found this hotel to be very simialr to other Courtyards I have stayed in. The hotel is close to restaurants and very clean. The negative is the proximity to a large construction project and a train that runs nearby. I don't think the price that a person pays for a Courtyard is worth a hotel room this close to the train tracks.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

A friend and I stayed here while in Phoenix for the Rock 'n Roll Marathon. While I think this hotel was a good value, the biggest issue I found was that we heard a train pass right across the street about 3 times per night, including 3AM. I think the train has to blow it's whistle when coming through the city for safety reasons, but it was very loud and woke us up every night. The rooms were nice and the hotel was quite clean. It was a good location for the race being only a few blocks from the finish line. There were lots of restaurants nearby. The pool area/courtyard was very nice. There was no phone book in the room so we called the front desk to ask about the nearest movie theatre and they said they would call us back. I'm still waiting...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Train noise at all hours
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

Stayed at the Courtyard Tempe for a triathlon event on Oct. 29th. We got a decent room rate because it was the host hotel for our event. Upon arrival to when we left 4 days later, our stay was perfect. We were in a room on the second floor and never had an issue with noise. It was extremely quiet for its location, which was a top priority for me. Our room with 2 queen beds and the bathroom were spacious and tastefully decorated. The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The hotel offered laundry service (which we didn't need to use) as well as a washing machine & dryer located on our floor (I believe the same was available on the 3rd floor as well). A buffet style breakfast was served each morning, which was a bit pricey but offered a decent variety of hot and cold items and the one day when I only wanted a banana and bagel, the clerk was very nice about only charging me for the 2 items. Every employee we came into contact with was genuinely pleasant and went out of their way to help us. The location of the hotel was excellent. I parked my car upon arrival and only needed to use it once to pickup my husband from the airport which was extremely easy and convenient to get to. Everything that you could possibly need is within walking distance of the hotel, with a great variety of food establishments, bars (it is a college town!), coffee houses & various retail stores. The pay-per-view movie list is one of the most extensive that I've seen. While they don't offer room service, they do sell frozen dinners, snacks, sodas and juices in the lobby and have an area with complimentary water, coffee, microwave oven, big screen tv and computer with internet connection. Although we didn't use it during our stay, there is a very nice pool area with lots of chaise lounges and Jacuzzi. Can't say enough good things about Courtyard Tempe and will definitely stay there again when we’re back in town.

  • Liked — The room was very quiet
  • Disliked — Tempe is an expensive town
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel offers a free shuttle to/from the airport
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

This hotel wasn't awful, it just wasn't good enough to warrant the price. I know it's a crapshoot when you reserve a room in an unfamiliar place, and it is my own fault that I didn't call the Tempe Mission Palms in time to stay *there*. Having said that, however, I would be embarrassed to charge what they charged me at the Courtyard considering the quality of the amenities.

The ice machines on the first and second floors were practically non-functioning, the whole place reeked of air freshener, the restaurant wasn't even open through dinner and the only room service offered was from a nearby chain restaurant. Still, it was conveniently located to my conference and none of those things was horrid enough to check out and go somewhere else for a couple of nights. It just galls me to be charged $280/nt to stay in what is essentially a 2-to-3 star hotel. If you have the option of staying the Tempe Mission Palms, it is a MUCH nicer place than this.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

My husband and I were in Tempe for the "Rock & Roll Marathon". We picked this hotel because of its location - close to the finish line and only 2 blocks from Mill Ave which has a great selection of restaurants. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the room were clean. The only negative is that our room was across the street from a sports bar which played loud live music until late at night making it quite difficult to sleep without earplugs. I would stay there again however I would request a room on the other side of the hotel, away from the bar on 5th Street. Otherwise bring earplugs!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin Ranch, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2005

This is the second stay I've had at this hotel and it was another great experience.
I stayed in a King Spa room for $129 a night. It has a King Bed, Two person Spa right next to your bed, 27 inch TV with pay movies, Refrigerator, and a big shower/bathroom.
I recommend staying on the bottom floor so you don't have to deal with the elevator. They have a buffet breakfast that is fine. About $8 per person.
I went in the pool which was fine as well. They also offer a gym which looked fine.
It's withing walking distance from Mill Street, Sun Devil Stadium, The Library, Hooters and the Mall. There's a sports bar accross the street called McDuffy's that was fun to get some drinks.
When I go back, this is where I'll stay. If your just there for a game then you don't need a car. It's about 8 miles from the airport. Just cab it in and walk everywhere you need to go.
The only bad thing is there is a train that runs behind the hotel, but I only heard it one time.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Courtyard Tempe
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott
Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.