We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bargain at half the price... :-|” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Durham, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a bargain at half the price... :-|”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

This hotel wasn't awful, it just wasn't good enough to warrant the price. I know it's a crapshoot when you reserve a room in an unfamiliar place, and it is my own fault that I didn't call the Tempe Mission Palms in time to stay *there*. Having said that, however, I would be embarrassed to charge what they charged me at the Courtyard considering the quality of the amenities.

The ice machines on the first and second floors were practically non-functioning, the whole place reeked of air freshener, the restaurant wasn't even open through dinner and the only room service offered was from a nearby chain restaurant. Still, it was conveniently located to my conference and none of those things was horrid enough to check out and go somewhere else for a couple of nights. It just galls me to be charged $280/nt to stay in what is essentially a 2-to-3 star hotel. If you have the option of staying the Tempe Mission Palms, it is a MUCH nicer place than this.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
12
17
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

My husband and I were in Tempe for the "Rock & Roll Marathon". We picked this hotel because of its location - close to the finish line and only 2 blocks from Mill Ave which has a great selection of restaurants. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the room were clean. The only negative is that our room was across the street from a sports bar which played loud live music until late at night making it quite difficult to sleep without earplugs. I would stay there again however I would request a room on the other side of the hotel, away from the bar on 5th Street. Otherwise bring earplugs!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin Ranch, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2005

This is the second stay I've had at this hotel and it was another great experience.
I stayed in a King Spa room for $129 a night. It has a King Bed, Two person Spa right next to your bed, 27 inch TV with pay movies, Refrigerator, and a big shower/bathroom.
I recommend staying on the bottom floor so you don't have to deal with the elevator. They have a buffet breakfast that is fine. About $8 per person.
I went in the pool which was fine as well. They also offer a gym which looked fine.
It's withing walking distance from Mill Street, Sun Devil Stadium, The Library, Hooters and the Mall. There's a sports bar accross the street called McDuffy's that was fun to get some drinks.
When I go back, this is where I'll stay. If your just there for a game then you don't need a car. It's about 8 miles from the airport. Just cab it in and walk everywhere you need to go.
The only bad thing is there is a train that runs behind the hotel, but I only heard it one time.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

Stayed here on a guys spring training trip and the location was great. Close to airport, stadiums, bars. Standard hotel rooms but service was great. Staff was able to shuttle us around for a tip to the games, greyhound track, etc in the shuttle bus. The train does go by at night which can be loud, otherwise a great location.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2005

Great location, clean, comfortable, nice breakfast.... But that train was so loud, the train sounds like it is inside your room. Was there for work for 3 days. Would stay again simply because it is so close to everything, but next time I am bringing ear plugs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2004

Hotel is in a great area to hit restaraunts and bars in downtown Tempe. Literally a block to University Ave. The rooms were average for Courtyards (which seem to be going downhill in general). However this hotle bakc up to train tracks that have trains periodically during the night. And they aren't afraid to use that horn at any hour!! Free high speed internet (but not wireless). Ask for a room far from the tracks. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Courtyard Tempe
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott
Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list