We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to stay in Tempe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“Where to stay in Tempe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my second time to stay at this location and the reason I chose it again was because of the friendly staff, local attractions and convenience to the airport. When I checked in, Jeremy was very helpful and made some great hiking suggestions; all of which I did. He went out of his way to provide directions to the locations and followed up to see how the hikes went. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Phoenix.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    47
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
23
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I remember when you could count on Marriott properties to be of high quality. Sadly, this is no longer the case. While the front desk service was friendly, the rest was a disappointment. The elevator was so old and slow. The room was stuck in the 90s and needs to be remodeled. The air conditioner sounded like a jet engine. The bathroom was pathetic and there was mold in the grout in the floor tiles. The van driver Jeremy was excellent. He was the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for recognizing Jeremy who is a valued associate at the hotel! I will pass along your other comments so we can address them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came to Tempe for a conference at ASU, and was so pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The folks who work here - are awesome! The service was great. The room was clean and comfortable. The bar and snack bar was so much more than I expected. We sat at the the restaurant / bar each evening, the wine was great and so were the pizzas. Also had breakfast each morning before the conference. Highly recommend the frittata. I stayed for 3 days and would definately stay again if in the area.

Also the pool and hot tub and terrace sitting area were comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is a courtyard yard with a balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your business and for recognizing our hotel and friendly team. The Bistro is a great place to gather with others to enjoy good food and fellowship. With our great weather guests can enjoy the patio atmosphere almost all year long. Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went with my Husband on one of his business trips. I planned on getting a taxi to see the sights throughout the days, however no need for a taxi. As long as the shuttle didn't have airport pickup, they were able to take me around in the area. It was very unexpected, and a nice surprise. Jeremy was the driver that helped me the most, and he was great. The rest of the staff was great also!
When I asked for the use of a microwave they had one delivered, as well as a fridge right away. No questions asked!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Everyone is pleased you had a great visit and enjoyed our Tempe Courtyard. Jeremy is a big assess to our team and enjoys helping guests find places of interest nearby. Please visit again when you are able to take advantage of the many sports venues, attractions and more in our neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great place to stay. Staff is awesone Jerry was a great driver to the airport. This is my perfered home a away from home when im in Tempe.

They take great care of you. Their frendly care goes well beyond the extra mile.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 4 days ago
The best compliment a guest can give us is the intent to return. Thank you also for letting others know about our hotel! Jeremy is a valued associate and I am pleased he made a difference in your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Great location and comfortable rooms as well as friendly staff and complementary shuttle. Jeremy from guest services was 15 minutes early to pick me up from ASU to take me to the airport, he even brought my luggage from bell service. Great customer service!! Thank you!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are all happy to have you as a guest and pleased Jeremy was able to make a difference in your stay! Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our visit to the Courtyard in Tempe was simply outstanding! Hotel was very clean, the lobby is very welcoming, the breakfast was excellent, and the location is great and right near ASU. We traveled and took two rooms.

Most importantly, we checked in and checked out with Indira Martin, who was just an an amazing, compassionate, attentive and very sweet individual who should be Marriott's Employee of the Year! I am a Platinum member and have stayed at well over 100 Marriott properties over the years, and Indira was just the best, truly, of any employee I've ever seen.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Congratulations on the graduation! Thank you for recognizing Indira as an outstanding associate. She does have the Marriott Spirit to Serve attitude every day and loves taking special care of our guests! Thanks also for your Platinum status in our rewards program. We hope you and your family will return again to enjoy Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#7 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.