We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Anyone who has visited Tempe, Arizona, knows that Mill Avenue is a veritable portal into the past and present. Psychedelic head-shops sit adjacent to beer joints, pizza parlors, the occasional upscale restaurant, ASU fashion outlets, old-book stores, and souvenir shops. It also becomes obvious that Tempe nights belong to partiers. Both current and former ASU students descend upon Mill Avenue like "biters" stalking Atlanta in The Walking Dead." For those reasons, one becomes truly grateful the Marriott Courtyard-Tempe is off the beaten path of Mill Avenue. It's only a couple of blocks, but far enough to make the Courtyard a "safe zone" from the Mill Avenue throngs.

The hotel itself is all one could ask for: clean, accessible, comfortable, welcoming, WiFi equipped, and staffed by a dedicated group of employees whose chief aim is your comfort. Drawbacks are few, but do exist. For instance, the hotel marketplace is truly minimal. Secondly, food service is a la carte and a little expensive. One can quickly miss the free food happy hour of the nearby Residence Inn and its bountiful breakfast.

Granted, the Courtyard is usually less expensive than the Residence Inn, but addressing the few issues cited above would go a long ways towards making the Courtyard a first choice rather than a Residence Inn default.

Room Tip: Make sure your room's A/C is working. This is Arizona!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Clean, accessible, comfortable and welcoming is the theme we strive for every day with every guest! Thanks for telling others of your visit to our Oasis in the desert! You captured the essence of the famous Mill Ave which is nostalgic to ASU students for all the reasons you state. We are happy to be within walking distance and provide a safe environment for guests to relax and rest. Our guests are able to choose between dining out or having a delicious meal at the Bistro. Being close to the light rail station plus close to the airport and freeways, guests find they have access to all of what the greater Phoenix area has to offer. Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
12
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I was very satisfied with my stay. Great location, restaurants and bars are in walking distance. The front desk, Indy in particular, was very helpful. I definitely will be back during my next business trip.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I, along with our five children and their spouses, were in Tempe to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The front desk staff was friendly and professional....especially Indy, who went out of her way to provide excellent service; from the day we checked in with a cheery greeting of "Happy anniversary!", to the time we checked out. What an excellent example of Customer Service! The staff at the Bistro was also very nice. The only complaint we have is regarding the security guard who ordered us out of the pool area on our first evening. Seven of us were just visiting, enjoying the evening, when at 11:00 p.m. he very rudely and loudly ordered us to "get out". Had we known that the pool closed at 11:00 we would have left of our own accord. However, pool hours are NOT POSTED. And certainly there was no reason for his attitude and rudeness. A polite statement that the pool was closing would have been sufficient. Very unprofessional. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Third floor, poolside with balcony. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a lovely way to celebrate your 50th wedding anniversary with your family! Thanks for choosing our hotel and for the review to let others know how pleased you were with your stay. Indy is one of our front desk associates who makes a difference to our guests every day. She really enjoys her job and it shows! Thanks for the pat on the back for her as well as our Bistro team! I do appreciate the heads up on the pool hours which are standard for most hotels. You are quite correct that the approach could have been more appropriate. My next step will be to review our process and customer interaction with the security team. Thanks for letting us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Held a business meeting at this property. Meeting room was good for 12-15 people and the prices were fair for both the meeting room and the hotel rooms. The staff was great and very accommodating. We also used the banquet services and they were also good and priced fair. The location was great with lots of restaurants and nightlife within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Our Tempe hotel is such a great place for meetings and we appreciate your letting others know how much your enjoyed our hotel, meeting room and catering! The team will be pleased to learn you found them accommodating. Your comments go a long way to validate that they are doing a good job and inspires them to do even better! With all of Tempe downtown within walking distance, guests get to enjoy the dining, shops, entertainment and the weather. Please come back for another meeting or simply to take advantage of our area with the mountains for hiking, plus the museums and sports venues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Nearby the university, quiet area, nightlife and good restaurants within walking distance. I had to go in August for business and it was insanely hot. The first two days and nights everything was fine, but when I came back on the third day, the AC was off and it was like 100 degrees F in the room. Service guy came and the AC started back up, but it wouldn't stay on. They offered for a room switch right next door and everything was good again.
The staff was friendly, in particular Jeremy the airport shuttle driver.
I didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review to let others know our location for your business trip in Tempe made your stay a pleasant one. Guests do enjoy the close proximity to dining, shops, and night life. Thank you for recognizing Jeremy he certainly enjoys taking care of our guests. During our summer months with hot, hot temperatures, our AC system gets a workout! I am sorry you experienced a challenge and very pleased we were able to make you comfortable with another room. Hopefully your next business trip will be in our winter months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I needed to move my son into the dorms at ASU. Being a NJ resident, fresh off the plane with one suitcase and no car rental, this was a bit tricky... Or so I thought. Jeremy, at guest services,quickly put my anxiety at ease and helped us navigate the area. He went above and beyond to make what I thought would be a stressful situation very easy. Not only did Jeremy transport us to the local Target, but he even helped us load the shuttle with the many bags and TV that would soon fill my sons dorm room! When Jeremy was not there, the women at the front desk were just as friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Arizona and especially ASU. This was by far the most helpful and friendliest hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Moving a student into the campus is an exciting time and we are pleased to have been able to add to the experience and make it manageable for you and your son! Our close proximity to the campus and hotel services that include a shuttle is perfect for your needs! Jeremy is one of our valued associates and he enjoys making a difference to our guests! I will pass along your positive comments to the entire team! While your son is attending ASU, you will find great restaurants, shops and entertainment all within walking distance. When you have more time, the hotel is centrally located In the greater Phoenix area with easy access to freeways. You can take advantage of the many sports venues, our famous Spring Training, the zoo and botanical garden plus many museums and places of interest throughout the state! Please stop in to say hello when you are here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Indy made me feel right at home while checking in. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants. Very relaxing atmosphere with plenty to do within walking distance. I would highly recommend it to anyone with a layover in Phoenix. Airport shuttle service every 30 minutes.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the pool. Very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They will do as little or as much as you require. I know that everyone's preference are different.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are pleased you recommend our hotel to others because you found it to have a relaxing atmosphere! Our intention is to provide a comfortable environment and engaging customer service! Many guests choose our location so they can be within walking distance to the ASU campus or Tempe downtown restaurants and shops. With the light rail station nearby, guests can easily travel to the airport or downtown Phoenix. Of course, our hotel shuttle offers rides to nearby places which includes the airport. Safe travels and please return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.