We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it. Location, proximity to the airport and restaurants. But, in my opinion, their best asset is the front desk staff. Specifically, Indyo. She went above and beyond to insure my stay would be pleasant. I witnessed this type of service for each guest she was helping. This hotel is lucky to have her!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Yes, we are lucky to have Indyo on out team! She loves to provide excellent customer service to every guest and continues to be an inspiration to others on the best way to treat our guests! Thanks for recognizing her! We are happy your stay was pleasant and you like our downtown Tempe location! As you found, many great restaurants and shopping options are within walking distance as well as the ASU campus. While many people have rental vehicles, others rely on either the Phoenix light rail or our hotel shuttle to go to and from the airport as an added convenience. Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
16
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was on a short visit to Tempe and decided to stay at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown. The location was great. It was close to the airport, restaurants and public transportation. Everyone from Igna at the Front Desk to Jeremy at Guest Services were friendly and went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. I was very pleased with my room which had a king size bed, sitting area and very clean. I would stay there again if ever visiting Tempe again.

Pat S., Baltimore, MD

Room Tip: Room on first level was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review to let others know of your visit to our hotel! We agree that our location is one of the biggest factors for staying with us. Many restaurants and activities are within walking distance of the hotel in downtown Tempe. The ASU campus is nearby for all of their classes, programs and events. Our hotel shuttle is available for transportation to nearby places and the airport or to the light rail station to access both the airport and other Phoenix area locations. I will be happy to pass along your comments on the friendly customer service you experienced by Igna and Jeremy. They appreciate your pat on the back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was a good experience for me. I was a little turned off at first because of the price. Luckily my stay was in the middle of off season so the front desk person discounted my nights by $30 a night. The rooms were clean and within walking distance to shops and food. Would be more than happy to stay there on my next visit to the Phoenix area.

Room Tip: Courtyard view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Telling others you would return is the greatest compliment we can receive! So much of what brings guests back is due to the clean and comfortable hotel we provide. The rest is how convenient we are to shopping, dining and the ASU campus. There are options for getting around and they include our hotel shuttle to the airport and local venues or the light rail which gives access to downtown Phoenix as well. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 6 years or so. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed for business. The internet is reliable. They have updated the lobby and added the Bistro for drinks and meals. The staff has always been helpful and polite.


The only drawback is the ongoing construction next door and the occasional train passing by. The train is less of an issue now that they don't blow the whistle each time they pass through.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
What a great compliment you give our hotel and our team by returning for over 6 years! As a part of the Marriott hotel family, we have focused on providing what we know our guests enjoy and need to be comfortable. One of those is the reliable WIFI which is complimentary for our guests. Another is to be consistently updating our look and feel with design improvements. We have added the very popular Bistro which serves creative and delicious meals and snacks plus Starbucks beverages our guests enjoy having conveniently located in the lobby! I am pleased to pass along your praise for the staff who strive to be able to assist when needed and help guests connect with the neighborhood and the places of interest in our city. Yes, the train still passes nearby occasionally and now does so without any train whistle to be as quiet as possible. Our neighborhood improvements do involve construction sounds during daylight hours; and, like you, we will be happy when the project is completed in the near future. We do look forward to serving you in the future. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

In the heart of downtown. Easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants and entertainment.

Close to Skyharbor Airport. Free shuttle.

Can be noisy. Main fire station around the corner. Light rail line nearby.

Daily charge for parking.

Room was comfortable and clean. Size was modest by Courtyard standards. More like a standard Marriott.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are pleased to hear about your stay at our Tempe Courtyard! You list many of the reasons why guests choose our hotel when traveling to Arizona. Our location is prefect for getting around the ASU campus, visiting nearby corporate offices and seeing the sites throughout the Valley of the Sun. With our complimentary shuttle to nearby places as well as the airport, convenience is a real benefit for any guests. In addition, the light rail is reasonable and provides transportation to the airport plus downtown Phoenix where guests can see Major League baseball or basketball games. We are happy you got a good night's sleep in our comfortable beds! That is a must for any traveler. Thanks for staying and please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We ended up here after walking out of another hotel (See my review of the Tempe Ramada.) We were tired, and literally went to the first place I found on Tripadvisor. If I had taken the time to do more research, I probably would have selected another hotel. This one charges $8/night for parking, and was about 20% more per night than comparable hotels that offer breakfast. Even with AAA discount, it was just a little expensive for what it is. No breakfast, no coffee in the lobby... Just a high priced "bistro" that we didn't bother to try.
We were in the room on Saturday morning until about 10:30. At that time, I took the "do not disturb" sign off of the door, and expected the room to be made up when we returned at around 5. It wasn't. I asked the front desk if we could have maid service while we were out to dinner, and I was told there was no one available to do it, but I could get fresh towels from her. So, we paid much more than neighboring hotels, and didn't even get our room made up. A little disappointing for a Marriot. That said, the room was clean, beds were very comfy, and the airport noise wasn't an issue for us. The location is great, close to everything we were in town for. Staff was friendly. In a pinch I would stay here again, but I think I will shop a little more carefully next time we are in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with others and are pleased you found the beds comfy and the staff friendly . With our downtown Tempe location we are close to everything you may need to visit from the campus to great dining and entertainment. Most places are within walking distance of the hotel. Thanks for the heads up about weekend maid service. We strive to provide the very best service and will be reviewing our weekend service practices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
544 reviews 544 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Close to the airport and lots of places to grab a bite nearby. The place is clean and the staff is very nice. My room was big with a soft bed. Marriott will not let you down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
What a great compliment! It is our intention as a Marriott hotel to have every guest feel that we will not let you down. One of the best things we can do is provide you with a comfortable bed so you can get a good nights rest while traveling. Many guests enjoy our close proximity to the Phoenix Airport and that downtown Tempe is right out our parking lot with numerous restaurants and places to see. For ASU guests, the campus is also within walking distance! Our team will be pleased you found everyone treated you well! Nearby is our light rail to add extra options for those without transportation. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.