We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The rooms were very clean and employees very professional. It's close to everything you would want to go to in Tempe and easy to access. Security there is a plus! Too bad they didn't have a Casino there so we ended up going to a Casino 4 miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
I thank you for taking the time to let others know about our hotel. I am tickled to say the least to hear that you feel our associates are professional and our rooms are clean. I can assure you that I will be sharing that with each and every associate. They are always giving their best, and your recognition makes it all worthwhile. Thank you again, and if I can ever be of service to you please feel free to reach out to me directly.

James O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
12
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Here for a quick visit of ASU with teenage son. Have stayed at multiple Courtyard through the years and this one did not disappoint. Spacious clean rooms, comfortable bed and great shower. Close to Mill Ave and ASU. Wish we could have stayed longer but if my son decides on ASU, we will be back!

We normally like to venture out for meals, so I can't attest to the food or any of the other amenities. Be aware of the parking charge, although not outrageous for a central and busy location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Touring college campuses is an exciting venture for families and we are pleased you choose the Courtyards for your hotel stays. I am happy we excelled in your view with our cleanliness standards and comfy rooms. Of course our location to ASU’s campus and all the activities is perfect for families of students throughout their college years. Parents find our walk-around neighborhood perfect for meals and entertainment on the famous Mill Avenue. On some occasions it makes sense to dine in and our Bistro offers creative selections for you to enjoy either in your room or while relaxing on the patio! Either way you are able to choose. Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed your stay and that you will return! Returning is the greatest compliment a guest can give us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This Courtyard Marriott does have a nice location and it is an easy walk to many eateries and nightclubs. A little dissapointing that there was not a complimentary breakfast.....and the small food/bar bistro closed at 10pm and wasn't open at 7 am when having to leave. I guess when your location is so close to other places it doesn't make sense?? The only other concern was that this place was pretty noisy. We were on the bottom floor and there was a lot of noise outside and on the upper floors. Most of the noise came from a nearby apartment that obviously had many patio parties going on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to let others know about our hotel. While we are close to many great places to eat and play in the ASU and Tempe’s Mill Avenue, it seems like we let you down for additional food options at the hotel. Your comments regarding the times of the Bistro are eye opening. Beyond those posted hours the front desk team is trained as Baristas and can provide Starbucks beverages on a 24 hours basis. In addition, on the weekends when the Bistro opens at 7, we can provide a limited selection of food options prior to your early departure. My sincere apologies to you as that did not appear to be an option for you. As a suggestion for all Marriott properties whenever you are in a similar situation, our front desk team is often cross-trained and would be happy to assist you in finding a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

First, you cannot beat the location. Walking distance to everything Tempe and ASU has to offer.

The bartender was great and very accommodating. There was a large group of high school debaters that arrived after the kitchen closed. They were delayed and just wanted to get some food. He kept the kitchen open to accommodate their request. He even advised them that they could order from a local sandwich shop that delivers and cheaper thank the food at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and for the compliments to our bartender! Pats on the back from our guests make a big difference! I am pleased to know we were able to accommodate the group’s need for food after hours. What makes our location so great is that it is part of the ASU campus area and next to Tempe’s famous Mill Avenue with numerous dining options, shops and activities that students and families enjoy. Everything is within walking distance and close to the light rail to allow guests to connect to Sky Harbor Airport and downtown Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had to stay here as Mission Palms was overbooked. I would always prefer Mission Palms over this place.

Stay in this hotel if you need:
A convenient location.
Stay close to very good restaurants, pubs, bars in Tempe Downtown.
Some staff members are very helpful (Jeremy: The Shuttle driver (He'll provide you with coupons you can use at restaurants))

Con's:
No refrigerators in the room.
People buy stuff and provide any random room number. The hotel staff just bills it on your room. It was a pain to get all those charges reversed.

Beware: Keep a check on the authorization charged by the hotel on your card. I almost had a $4000 credit that was blocked on my card even after paying their bill of $1700. This credit was blocked for 21 days. I tried calling the Marriott helpline, the hotel, no-one helped.

To summarize:
Convenient, no frills, don't expect too much, check billing

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your stay with us. Jeremy will be pleased you mentioned him by name. I am very sorry for the charging challenges you experienced and will work with our team to correct that for future guests. Please know that we care when our guests are frustrated with our systems. Should you wish to contact me to further discuss the details, please call the hotel and ask for the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently spent two nights here and was surprised to realize I now had to pay for parking at $8.00 per night and there was no free breakfast in the morning. They had a Bistro that you could order breakfast in the morning on the main floor across from the registration desk.
I just noticed that there was new Marriott Residence Inn just down the street closer to AZ University. This must have been a rebranded hotel. I'm afraid the next trip I will be looking at that property to stay at as the prices were the same and I get more space for the money.
The front desk staff were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Even Numbers face the court with the pool. Odd numbers face out to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Our front desk team will be pleased to learn you found them to be nice and friendly. It is our goal to provide exceptional service to all of our guests. We are happy to have another Marriott hotel in this very busy part of Tempe and the ASU campus. Each brand offers different options to our guests and attracts different types of people. Please enjoy either hotel for future trips as we are all one family under the Marriot frand of hotels and both hotels are located in the center of Tempe and the ASU campus. There is so much to enjoy in our neighborhood and at the Courtyard you will find our Go Board provides ideas of what to do and directions to navigate the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

One of those quick business trips. Stayed here based on recommendation of colleague. Had a nice stay. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Located very close to ASU and many great restaurants. It is the type of place you wouldn't mind staying for a few days so you can really take advantage of the facilities and the location. Seems like it would be a great area to walk around with so many restaurants and ASU close by. Next time I need to be in PHX, I would definitely plan to come back here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed your brief stay and appreciate our great location. The best advertizing is word of mouth! Our staff is passionate about customer service and strives to provide that friendly and helpful service guests expect from a Marriott hotel. When you return you will discover the exciting options within walking distance of the hotel. Should you get bored, there is also the light rail nearby to get around the valley and see what our downtown looks like. You are even able get to and from the Sky Harbor international Airport on it. Many guests are visiting ASU for business or pleasure or the local business offices. Our Go Board in the lobby or our helpful staff are both available to provide directions and suggestions when you need them! We look forward to seeing you on another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.