We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location....That's It” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice Location....That's It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This Courtyard Marriott does have a nice location and it is an easy walk to many eateries and nightclubs. A little dissapointing that there was not a complimentary breakfast.....and the small food/bar bistro closed at 10pm and wasn't open at 7 am when having to leave. I guess when your location is so close to other places it doesn't make sense?? The only other concern was that this place was pretty noisy. We were on the bottom floor and there was a lot of noise outside and on the upper floors. Most of the noise came from a nearby apartment that obviously had many patio parties going on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to let others know about our hotel. While we are close to many great places to eat and play in the ASU and Tempe’s Mill Avenue, it seems like we let you down for additional food options at the hotel. Your comments regarding the times of the Bistro are eye opening. Beyond those posted hours the front desk team is trained as Baristas and can provide Starbucks beverages on a 24 hours basis. In addition, on the weekends when the Bistro opens at 7, we can provide a limited selection of food options prior to your early departure. My sincere apologies to you as that did not appear to be an option for you. As a suggestion for all Marriott properties whenever you are in a similar situation, our front desk team is often cross-trained and would be happy to assist you in finding a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
12
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

First, you cannot beat the location. Walking distance to everything Tempe and ASU has to offer.

The bartender was great and very accommodating. There was a large group of high school debaters that arrived after the kitchen closed. They were delayed and just wanted to get some food. He kept the kitchen open to accommodate their request. He even advised them that they could order from a local sandwich shop that delivers and cheaper thank the food at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and for the compliments to our bartender! Pats on the back from our guests make a big difference! I am pleased to know we were able to accommodate the group’s need for food after hours. What makes our location so great is that it is part of the ASU campus area and next to Tempe’s famous Mill Avenue with numerous dining options, shops and activities that students and families enjoy. Everything is within walking distance and close to the light rail to allow guests to connect to Sky Harbor Airport and downtown Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had to stay here as Mission Palms was overbooked. I would always prefer Mission Palms over this place.

Stay in this hotel if you need:
A convenient location.
Stay close to very good restaurants, pubs, bars in Tempe Downtown.
Some staff members are very helpful (Jeremy: The Shuttle driver (He'll provide you with coupons you can use at restaurants))

Con's:
No refrigerators in the room.
People buy stuff and provide any random room number. The hotel staff just bills it on your room. It was a pain to get all those charges reversed.

Beware: Keep a check on the authorization charged by the hotel on your card. I almost had a $4000 credit that was blocked on my card even after paying their bill of $1700. This credit was blocked for 21 days. I tried calling the Marriott helpline, the hotel, no-one helped.

To summarize:
Convenient, no frills, don't expect too much, check billing

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your stay with us. Jeremy will be pleased you mentioned him by name. I am very sorry for the charging challenges you experienced and will work with our team to correct that for future guests. Please know that we care when our guests are frustrated with our systems. Should you wish to contact me to further discuss the details, please call the hotel and ask for the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently spent two nights here and was surprised to realize I now had to pay for parking at $8.00 per night and there was no free breakfast in the morning. They had a Bistro that you could order breakfast in the morning on the main floor across from the registration desk.
I just noticed that there was new Marriott Residence Inn just down the street closer to AZ University. This must have been a rebranded hotel. I'm afraid the next trip I will be looking at that property to stay at as the prices were the same and I get more space for the money.
The front desk staff were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Even Numbers face the court with the pool. Odd numbers face out to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Our front desk team will be pleased to learn you found them to be nice and friendly. It is our goal to provide exceptional service to all of our guests. We are happy to have another Marriott hotel in this very busy part of Tempe and the ASU campus. Each brand offers different options to our guests and attracts different types of people. Please enjoy either hotel for future trips as we are all one family under the Marriot frand of hotels and both hotels are located in the center of Tempe and the ASU campus. There is so much to enjoy in our neighborhood and at the Courtyard you will find our Go Board provides ideas of what to do and directions to navigate the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

One of those quick business trips. Stayed here based on recommendation of colleague. Had a nice stay. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Located very close to ASU and many great restaurants. It is the type of place you wouldn't mind staying for a few days so you can really take advantage of the facilities and the location. Seems like it would be a great area to walk around with so many restaurants and ASU close by. Next time I need to be in PHX, I would definitely plan to come back here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed your brief stay and appreciate our great location. The best advertizing is word of mouth! Our staff is passionate about customer service and strives to provide that friendly and helpful service guests expect from a Marriott hotel. When you return you will discover the exciting options within walking distance of the hotel. Should you get bored, there is also the light rail nearby to get around the valley and see what our downtown looks like. You are even able get to and from the Sky Harbor international Airport on it. Many guests are visiting ASU for business or pleasure or the local business offices. Our Go Board in the lobby or our helpful staff are both available to provide directions and suggestions when you need them! We look forward to seeing you on another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here on a campus visit and baseball camp at ASU. Great location. Lots of restaurants close by within walking distance. Clean rooms, great staff. Very close to airport. A large outdoor shopping area with lots of restaurants, theater, large and small shops at Tempe Marketplace, just a few minutes from hotel. Great spot if you are going to a game at Sun Devil Stadium. Easy walk. The pool was large by hotel standards. Nice large area for sitting out and enjoying the sun and having lunch. Not the standard tiny hotel pool. Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a wonderful review you wrote about your recent visit! Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your great experience. Our pool is a highlight for guests every day! This is the time of year it draws the biggest crowds of appreciative guests. Our location is convenient on foot to all of the Tempe places and ASU campus activities. Should you have a rental car, you can easily find your way around the Phoenix valley with directions from our Courtyard GO Board. If you do not have a car, you can still get around easily using the light rail which is close to the hotel too. Thanks for recognizing the great customer service by our team! We look forward to meeting you on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The location..is great. That was the only plus. The room was SO loud, you could hear the street, the ice machine, the elevator, EVERYTHING I couldn't even sleep there I checked out at 2am. I told the guy who gave me my receipt and he didn't even offer to move me or discount it or anything. I guess they were having a problem with some random people coming to the hotel because security was all over the place. I was really let down by my whole experience and went to the mission palms down the street, MUCH better experience.

Room Tip: go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We certainly do not want our guests to have a challenging time at our hotel! Since you called the following day, I am pleased we were able to offer you a refund for your stay. We are at the mercy of our guests when it comes to noise complaints as there is generally a lag time between the complaint and our being able to get security to the site of the noise. We much prefer our guests conduct themselves in a quiet manner when in the open areas of the hotels, especially the hallways. Again, we apologize for your disrupted night and hope that does not keep you from choosing a Marriott in the future as we value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.