We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one's more like extended homestay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This one's more like extended homestay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had to stay here as Mission Palms was overbooked. I would always prefer Mission Palms over this place.

Stay in this hotel if you need:
A convenient location.
Stay close to very good restaurants, pubs, bars in Tempe Downtown.
Some staff members are very helpful (Jeremy: The Shuttle driver (He'll provide you with coupons you can use at restaurants))

Con's:
No refrigerators in the room.
People buy stuff and provide any random room number. The hotel staff just bills it on your room. It was a pain to get all those charges reversed.

Beware: Keep a check on the authorization charged by the hotel on your card. I almost had a $4000 credit that was blocked on my card even after paying their bill of $1700. This credit was blocked for 21 days. I tried calling the Marriott helpline, the hotel, no-one helped.

To summarize:
Convenient, no frills, don't expect too much, check billing

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your stay with us. Jeremy will be pleased you mentioned him by name. I am very sorry for the charging challenges you experienced and will work with our team to correct that for future guests. Please know that we care when our guests are frustrated with our systems. Should you wish to contact me to further discuss the details, please call the hotel and ask for the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
13
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently spent two nights here and was surprised to realize I now had to pay for parking at $8.00 per night and there was no free breakfast in the morning. They had a Bistro that you could order breakfast in the morning on the main floor across from the registration desk.
I just noticed that there was new Marriott Residence Inn just down the street closer to AZ University. This must have been a rebranded hotel. I'm afraid the next trip I will be looking at that property to stay at as the prices were the same and I get more space for the money.
The front desk staff were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Even Numbers face the court with the pool. Odd numbers face out to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Our front desk team will be pleased to learn you found them to be nice and friendly. It is our goal to provide exceptional service to all of our guests. We are happy to have another Marriott hotel in this very busy part of Tempe and the ASU campus. Each brand offers different options to our guests and attracts different types of people. Please enjoy either hotel for future trips as we are all one family under the Marriot frand of hotels and both hotels are located in the center of Tempe and the ASU campus. There is so much to enjoy in our neighborhood and at the Courtyard you will find our Go Board provides ideas of what to do and directions to navigate the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

One of those quick business trips. Stayed here based on recommendation of colleague. Had a nice stay. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Located very close to ASU and many great restaurants. It is the type of place you wouldn't mind staying for a few days so you can really take advantage of the facilities and the location. Seems like it would be a great area to walk around with so many restaurants and ASU close by. Next time I need to be in PHX, I would definitely plan to come back here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed your brief stay and appreciate our great location. The best advertizing is word of mouth! Our staff is passionate about customer service and strives to provide that friendly and helpful service guests expect from a Marriott hotel. When you return you will discover the exciting options within walking distance of the hotel. Should you get bored, there is also the light rail nearby to get around the valley and see what our downtown looks like. You are even able get to and from the Sky Harbor international Airport on it. Many guests are visiting ASU for business or pleasure or the local business offices. Our Go Board in the lobby or our helpful staff are both available to provide directions and suggestions when you need them! We look forward to seeing you on another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here on a campus visit and baseball camp at ASU. Great location. Lots of restaurants close by within walking distance. Clean rooms, great staff. Very close to airport. A large outdoor shopping area with lots of restaurants, theater, large and small shops at Tempe Marketplace, just a few minutes from hotel. Great spot if you are going to a game at Sun Devil Stadium. Easy walk. The pool was large by hotel standards. Nice large area for sitting out and enjoying the sun and having lunch. Not the standard tiny hotel pool. Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a wonderful review you wrote about your recent visit! Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your great experience. Our pool is a highlight for guests every day! This is the time of year it draws the biggest crowds of appreciative guests. Our location is convenient on foot to all of the Tempe places and ASU campus activities. Should you have a rental car, you can easily find your way around the Phoenix valley with directions from our Courtyard GO Board. If you do not have a car, you can still get around easily using the light rail which is close to the hotel too. Thanks for recognizing the great customer service by our team! We look forward to meeting you on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The location..is great. That was the only plus. The room was SO loud, you could hear the street, the ice machine, the elevator, EVERYTHING I couldn't even sleep there I checked out at 2am. I told the guy who gave me my receipt and he didn't even offer to move me or discount it or anything. I guess they were having a problem with some random people coming to the hotel because security was all over the place. I was really let down by my whole experience and went to the mission palms down the street, MUCH better experience.

Room Tip: go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We certainly do not want our guests to have a challenging time at our hotel! Since you called the following day, I am pleased we were able to offer you a refund for your stay. We are at the mercy of our guests when it comes to noise complaints as there is generally a lag time between the complaint and our being able to get security to the site of the noise. We much prefer our guests conduct themselves in a quiet manner when in the open areas of the hotels, especially the hallways. Again, we apologize for your disrupted night and hope that does not keep you from choosing a Marriott in the future as we value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burt1972
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel was fine. Typical room for the standard of hotel. Rooms well kept though. Staff are very friendly. Gym is very small. Size of a standard bedroom. Great location, in center of town so easy to walk to restaurants. Would use again if staying in tempe.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your visit to our hotel in the heart of Tempe and the ASU campus. Our team strives to provide every guest with the best experience possible. We love our location for many reasons.... The close proximity to the campus, the connectivity by light rail to downtown Phoenix and the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport. Of course we would love having you return on a future visit, That is the highest compliment a guest can pay a hotel! We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Lourdes was wonderful, and helped me change rooms when needed. This hotel is a remodeled courtyard, convenient to everything and right near asu. They have a nice pool area and many rooms have balconies. It would be nice to have the microwave and fridge the other remodeled courtyards have tho.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are proud to have Lourdes on our Marriott team. She has a passion for customer service and strives to make every guest feel special. Within walking distance guests can take advantage of ASU activities and the exciting Mill Avenue shops and restaurants. Many guests find our pool and patio to be comfortable and inviting for their morning coffee or enjoy evening snacks and beverages. The new look of Courtyards across the nation is vibrant and appealing. Thank you for being our guest and for letting others know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.