We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely remodeled courtyard, great manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nicely remodeled courtyard, great manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Lourdes was wonderful, and helped me change rooms when needed. This hotel is a remodeled courtyard, convenient to everything and right near asu. They have a nice pool area and many rooms have balconies. It would be nice to have the microwave and fridge the other remodeled courtyards have tho.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are proud to have Lourdes on our Marriott team. She has a passion for customer service and strives to make every guest feel special. Within walking distance guests can take advantage of ASU activities and the exciting Mill Avenue shops and restaurants. Many guests find our pool and patio to be comfortable and inviting for their morning coffee or enjoy evening snacks and beverages. The new look of Courtyards across the nation is vibrant and appealing. Thank you for being our guest and for letting others know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
16
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here over a wedding weekend. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Tempe and within walking distance of everything I wanted to do. Hayden Butte, Tempe Center for the Arts, Tempe Beach Park, many restaurants and nightlife. The hotel staff was very nice and even let me take the hotel shuttle back to the airport after I checked out the night before. The gal at the desk said " you are still our guest" which exceeded my expectations. The pool area is very nice. Resort quality beds. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I picked the 3rd floor since it was a football weekend, less noise this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are pleased you found our hotel and could enjoy the football game at ASU. It is easy to get around our neighborhood and find the best places to make your weekend a special one! It is always a pleasure to know that guests have an exceptional experience and that our team througout the weekend provided great service! Do visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here over a weekend with a friend to attend an ASU football game. Very good service from a friendly staff (front desk, bartender, cleaning staff), clean room, perfect location, strong A/C, convenient parking -- not sure what else I could have wanted (better toiletries, perhaps?). Note, of course, that this is a Courtyard, so you cannot expect a full restaurant service, etc., but that is just the nature of the property.

Room Tip: The lower the number (eg, 224 vs 277), the closer to the lobby elevators (which is good, considering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for letting us and others know of your great weekend attending the ASU game. our location is perfect for ASU functions as most of the campus is within walking distance! Of course we are pleased you found our team to be friendly and helpful from the front desk to the bartender! That is our intention for all of our guests. We appreciate your business and hope you will return for another visit to Tempe and ASU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent the weekend at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown and found it to be a nice, clean hotel. Was in town for a ASU football game and the location was the prime reason for selecting this property. It is within easy walkjng distance of the stadium and is the perfect locale for the pre and post game activities. Even though I was disappointed that there wasn't a complimentary breakfast or even beverages I would stay there again just because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We appreciate your staying with us for any reason, especially the ASU campus activities. Guests find themselves in the heart of the campus within walking distance to campus venues as well as many restaurants and activities along the famous Mill Avenue for pre and post game activities. Thanks for letting others know you found the hotel to be clean and inviting. We are proud to offer Starbuck beverages to our guests as well as a great menu for breakfast, dinner and snack items with plenty of quick and nourishing selections. Come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here while moving our daughter into ASU. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. They offered to store some of our luggage (my daughter had ALOT) to make our room more comfortable and helped us dispose of extra boxes we acquired from purchasing stuff our daughter needed. However, the room was spacious enough that it held all the luggage without making us feel cramped up. The room was very comfortable and the cold AC was great after some long hot days out in the Arizona sun (it also stayed on at night and didn't have the motion detector cut-off we've seen in other hotels). Some of the other reviews said they heard train noises outside their windows - we heard none of that. Also, they have hot coffee and flavored creamers in the lobby in the AM which was much better than the coffee they supplied in the room. All in all, a solid choice and great customer service for what was a somewhat stressful event for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Moving your daughter into ASU is an exciting yet emotional time. We are pleased to be able to offer assistance with additional bags and boxes during the process. Our team will be pleased to learn you found them friendly and helpful as that is our goal for every guest experience! Many guests love the option to have Starbucks right in our lobby throughout the day and evening. During the heat of our summer months we know how important great air conditioning becomes for our guests. I am pleased you found comfort both day and night! While we are located along the train route through Tempe, our special windows eliminate the noise as they pass through the city. As you visit your daughter throughout her college years, we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel. Please stop in to say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The front desk staff and van driver provided excellent service. I had forgot several items for a business meeting and did not realize until a few hours before my meeting. The morning was busy this morning, but he was able to work in a quick trip to a local store for me and never missed his scheduled runs. I made my meeting with time to spare. THanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We used this location as our hotel base for our 20 year reunion that took place at Macayo's Depot Cantina just down the street. And it was perfect for what it was! A well priced, conveniently located hotel that was clean and quiet. We had no outside noise in our room, never heard anyone in the halls, slept great in the uber comfy bed & super clean room and enjoyed the clean pool area. The only HUGE wish would be to provide complimentary coffee/water in the lobby. The lobby did have a nice little bistro with reasonably priced food and drinks and also had cool little niches to munch and your own TV to watch whatever you wanted. Overall, it was wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone. I was hoping as the coordinator of the reunion/group booking we would have been able to receive a complimentary upgrade but was told that wasn't a possibility. It wasn't a big deal but it would have been a nice little touch.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing the courtyard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.