We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #24 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a large group for 1 week. Staff were amazing, helpful, bright, courteous and professional. Good range for breakfast including healthy options. Location was fantastic and transport even dropped you off to the local malls when they weren't doing airport runs. Gym was adequate.
Positives: Clean rooms. Not noisy. Hot powerful showers. The staff. Location. Good speeds to the free Internet.
Bad: no healthy food options after the restaurant was closed ( minor)
Overall: would definitely stay again if in Tempe.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
12
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott has location on its side. Close to ASU & the airport. Walking distance to plenty of bars & restaurants. Rooms are small & airplanes fly directly over. The pool is small but clean & towels are put out daily. We stayed with points which made this a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here with my family while we were visiting Arizona State University. First of all, let me say that you couldn't be much closer to ASU anywhere else. You're just a few steps from Mill Ave., where a lot of the restaurants and activity is in downtown Tempe. This property been upgraded like many Courtyards which makes it an attractive place to stay. The front desk service was among the best I've had anywhere. Thanks! I certainly recommend this property if you're looking to visit Tempe and/or ASU.

Room Tip: The two room king suites are great if you're traveling with a family. There's a separate be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you want or need to stay near ASU, this is a great location. It is right off Mill Ave, near all the shops, bars and restauarants that students frequent. The room was nice and very clean, but it was too expensive for this hotel. The front desk wasn't particular helpful for information on the area, but when you are that close to campus, nthing is hard to find. It is within a couple blocks of the newer lite-rail system so you can get around and see Phoenix.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend, be prepared for the large volume of college students you will find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location is great, but that also helps drive the price. The hotel is very standard for a Courtyard. Nice, but not fancy. It's clean. It's also a bit noisy. I had a room on the east side and at 1:30am I could hear music coming from the outside. At 6:00 am, the flights out of Sky Harbor airport started in earnest.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. From our guest’s eyes we can learn of ways to improve. We work to be a great experience for our guests and it sounds like the outside noises interrupted your rest. While we cannot change the airport noise, we can be more diligent with noise on the grounds. We love our location and the fact that guests have access to light rail, downtown Tempe activities and venues and a host of other events.

Sincerely,

Jim O'Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was a standard looking room, with a tiny bathroom counter that didn't fit all my stuff. Nothing was exceptional but nothing was bad either. Pretty much what I'd expect from a Courtyard Marriott hotel. It was clean and easy to get to downtown Tempe which was good enough for me. The staff were very helpful and friendly in a genuine way, which was enough for me to bump up an average sort of hotel to a 4 star rating.

Pros: close to downtown Tempe and lots of restaurants and bars, shuttle to/from the airport
Cons: can be noisy because its so close to everything; I was on the first floor and you can hear people at night walking back from bars

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate your 4 star rating as our team prides itself on making a difference to our guests by keeping it clean and providing friendly and helpful service every step of the way. Our great location to restaurants, shopping, corporations and campus activities is such a plus. Many are within walking distance. We hope to see you on another business trip to Phoenix.
Sincerely,

Jim O’Meara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in late March using Marriott points. Overall, the location of the hotel was excellent. We were able to get by without a car which saved the rental car cost and the cost of parking ($8 a day). The hotel shuttle picked us up at the airport quite promptly and the driver was very nice.

From the hotel, you can walk to many restaurants, the ASU campus and a shuttle that will take you to the Angels spring training ballpark. The hotel shuttle driver said he would also take us to places within 5 miles of the hotel but we never used that service.

The pool was decent for a Courtyard. It got sun from 10am on and had plenty of chairs. We never ate at the mini restaurant but did buy a few snacks from the lobby.

There were two negatives to our stay. Our room faced the train tracks and a busy intersection and we heard a lot of noise all night long. It is impossible to get a good night's sleep unless you are a very deep sleeper. I'm guessing other rooms might be better and wonder if we got this room since we were using points?

Also, the hotel was having major problems with TV channels during our stay. The first two days we couldn't even get CBS which was disappointing during March Madness. After complaining on the third day to the front desk, they said they couldn't do anything but then asked our room number. Miraculously, about an hour and one half later all of our stations were working. Not sure if they did something or if it was a coincidence. The attitude of those at the desk on that day was less than helpful so my husband thinks it was just luck that it started working.

Housekeeping during our stay was very good. Even if we just left for an hour or two, the room was made up when we returned. This was greatly appreciated.

We would definitely consider this hotel again in the future, but would try to get a quieter room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.