We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #24 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you want or need to stay near ASU, this is a great location. It is right off Mill Ave, near all the shops, bars and restauarants that students frequent. The room was nice and very clean, but it was too expensive for this hotel. The front desk wasn't particular helpful for information on the area, but when you are that close to campus, nthing is hard to find. It is within a couple blocks of the newer lite-rail system so you can get around and see Phoenix.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend, be prepared for the large volume of college students you will find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
12
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location is great, but that also helps drive the price. The hotel is very standard for a Courtyard. Nice, but not fancy. It's clean. It's also a bit noisy. I had a room on the east side and at 1:30am I could hear music coming from the outside. At 6:00 am, the flights out of Sky Harbor airport started in earnest.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. From our guest’s eyes we can learn of ways to improve. We work to be a great experience for our guests and it sounds like the outside noises interrupted your rest. While we cannot change the airport noise, we can be more diligent with noise on the grounds. We love our location and the fact that guests have access to light rail, downtown Tempe activities and venues and a host of other events.

Sincerely,

Jim O'Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was a standard looking room, with a tiny bathroom counter that didn't fit all my stuff. Nothing was exceptional but nothing was bad either. Pretty much what I'd expect from a Courtyard Marriott hotel. It was clean and easy to get to downtown Tempe which was good enough for me. The staff were very helpful and friendly in a genuine way, which was enough for me to bump up an average sort of hotel to a 4 star rating.

Pros: close to downtown Tempe and lots of restaurants and bars, shuttle to/from the airport
Cons: can be noisy because its so close to everything; I was on the first floor and you can hear people at night walking back from bars

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate your 4 star rating as our team prides itself on making a difference to our guests by keeping it clean and providing friendly and helpful service every step of the way. Our great location to restaurants, shopping, corporations and campus activities is such a plus. Many are within walking distance. We hope to see you on another business trip to Phoenix.
Sincerely,

Jim O’Meara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in late March using Marriott points. Overall, the location of the hotel was excellent. We were able to get by without a car which saved the rental car cost and the cost of parking ($8 a day). The hotel shuttle picked us up at the airport quite promptly and the driver was very nice.

From the hotel, you can walk to many restaurants, the ASU campus and a shuttle that will take you to the Angels spring training ballpark. The hotel shuttle driver said he would also take us to places within 5 miles of the hotel but we never used that service.

The pool was decent for a Courtyard. It got sun from 10am on and had plenty of chairs. We never ate at the mini restaurant but did buy a few snacks from the lobby.

There were two negatives to our stay. Our room faced the train tracks and a busy intersection and we heard a lot of noise all night long. It is impossible to get a good night's sleep unless you are a very deep sleeper. I'm guessing other rooms might be better and wonder if we got this room since we were using points?

Also, the hotel was having major problems with TV channels during our stay. The first two days we couldn't even get CBS which was disappointing during March Madness. After complaining on the third day to the front desk, they said they couldn't do anything but then asked our room number. Miraculously, about an hour and one half later all of our stations were working. Not sure if they did something or if it was a coincidence. The attitude of those at the desk on that day was less than helpful so my husband thinks it was just luck that it started working.

Housekeeping during our stay was very good. Even if we just left for an hour or two, the room was made up when we returned. This was greatly appreciated.

We would definitely consider this hotel again in the future, but would try to get a quieter room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the close proximity to food, public transportation and A's Spring Training Baseball! The shuttle picked us up quickly at the airport and drove us right to the ballpark, letting us catch the first pitch...even after a delayed flight! The driver was incredibly nice, as was the gentleman that checked up in later that afternoon, and everyone else we came into contact with. Our room was clean and very comfortable with a nice patio facing the pool. The pool was a little cool for my taste, but we enjoyed the spa. We really appreciated being able to walk to/from Mill Ave. for morning coffee, to catch the lightrail up to the park, and to have dinner at one of the many, many nearby restaurants. We will definitely consider this hotel again if we return for Spring Training!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I attended a workshop in Tempe downtown and this hotel was within walking distance so good location. On the last day in town, I booked a hotel elsewhere for a lower rate and I asked if the hotel would match it (without me having to unpack and move). I was pleasantly surprised by the front counter personnel that they would honour the lower rate, so I saved some money. Consider that I stayed with them for 4 nights and the Friday evening was not a busy time for room bookings, still it was perceived by me to be excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel quite a bit for work and stay at my fair share of Courtyards. It isn't often you can find one of the cheaper options in such a great location. I had business in Tempe, PHX, Tucson and Flagstaff. I don't like to change hotels everynight so I generally pick something central and deal with the drives so I don't have to pack up every morning. This was a perfect choice. The downtown is walking distance with a ton of restaurants. Parking was easy.

Downsides to this Courtyard compared to others include the smaller gym size (really small), older elevators, and because of the layout if you have a room on the opposite side of the bulding from the front check-in area you will do a fair share of walking down the hallway on the way to your room. As a younger female traveling alone I don't prefer this but I felt safe enough.

The staff was friendly and the restaurant downstairs does get busy in the morning and evenings. If you need to grab breakfast quickly in the morning call ahead and order it before you leave your room to cut on wait time.

Room Tip: Choose something closer to the lobby to avoid having to lug your bags down the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.