We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
“Good Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I attended a workshop in Tempe downtown and this hotel was within walking distance so good location. On the last day in town, I booked a hotel elsewhere for a lower rate and I asked if the hotel would match it (without me having to unpack and move). I was pleasantly surprised by the front counter personnel that they would honour the lower rate, so I saved some money. Consider that I stayed with them for 4 nights and the Friday evening was not a busy time for room bookings, still it was perceived by me to be excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
12
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel quite a bit for work and stay at my fair share of Courtyards. It isn't often you can find one of the cheaper options in such a great location. I had business in Tempe, PHX, Tucson and Flagstaff. I don't like to change hotels everynight so I generally pick something central and deal with the drives so I don't have to pack up every morning. This was a perfect choice. The downtown is walking distance with a ton of restaurants. Parking was easy.

Downsides to this Courtyard compared to others include the smaller gym size (really small), older elevators, and because of the layout if you have a room on the opposite side of the bulding from the front check-in area you will do a fair share of walking down the hallway on the way to your room. As a younger female traveling alone I don't prefer this but I felt safe enough.

The staff was friendly and the restaurant downstairs does get busy in the morning and evenings. If you need to grab breakfast quickly in the morning call ahead and order it before you leave your room to cut on wait time.

Room Tip: Choose something closer to the lobby to avoid having to lug your bags down the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was very disappointing--especially for the price. The rooms were outdated. The staff was snotty. The pool was average. Gym was small.

The only redeeming quality was the location--which is fantastic. You can easily walk to lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
While it is never easy to view how someone who is disappointed rates our hotel, it is imperative that we hear from you so we can take action to correct your perception. Yes, we do have an amazing location in Downtown Tempe near the ASU campus; lots of dining and activities are within walking distance. That does not mean we can skip the important part about being customer focused! While we cannot change the pool size or the gym, we can get back to basics and compensate with exceptional service. Please contact me directly to provide additional feedback so we can begin the process of making this your first choice in Tempe! Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Sincerely,
Jim O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a Marriott Gold status- and yes this is a good location but the hotel itself is no where to Courtyard Marriott standards that I have stayed at in the past. The rooms are not the latest updated version- the floors in my room were stained and the room itself has a stench. I also would advise anyone over the age of 30 staying here to know this is right on the college campus area and of coarse often filled with college students etc. We encountered a college couple arguing, slamming room doors and going up and down the elevator from 2:00AM-4:00AM. Granted security went and spoke to them but in a typcial Courtyard Marriott most travelers are not that rude. I would not recommend risky your vacation at a hotel this close to a college environment unless that's what your looking for. I did place a call to the GM and am still waiting to hear back from them about my awful experience. I will say the girl at the front desk was kind- kudos to her!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We certainly appreciate your review so we can see first-hand how you felt about your visit to our hotel! Of course, the cleanliness of your room is unacceptable to us and I apologize for it’s less than stellar appearance. We are definitely a part of the college community and do host groups attending functions on campus. That does not give them permission to spoil others’ sleep! While I am pleased your concerns were taken care of by both security and the front desk staff, please know we constantly look for ways to eliminate the need for your calls in the middle of the night. We do appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and your Gold Status. While we did not serve you well at this location, it is my hope that future stays at other Marriott hotels will exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

James O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to ASU, ASU stadium and the Rock N Roll start and finish line for the half marathon. Lots of eating places almost next door. Front desk very friendly. Brought refridge to room upon request no charge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We love hearing how you liked our location and our friendly staff! The team is committed to making your stay the best it can be! Many of our guests are attending ASU functions and enjoy the easy access to the campus! Both business and social guests find our neighborhood filled with things to do and great dining as well. For those times when staying in the hotel is desirable, our Bistro serves delicious and creative food for breakfast and dinner! In addition, we proudly serve Starbucks coffee for those coffee lovers and a full bar for other beverages! We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!

Sincerely,
James O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Nothing good, nothing bad about this Marriott. There is no room service. Their bistro should be avoided. The personnel talks very loud between themselves and creates a lot of noise. Like their small free business center with free coffee served nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Your comments are a wakeup call for our team as you point to areas we can improve on! Thank you for letting us know about your experience. The good thing is you were able to enjoy the coffee in our business center. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel for those who wish to stay connected while they travel.
We love hearing how you liked our location and our friendly staff! The team is committed to making your stay the best it can be! Many of our guests are attending ASU functions and enjoy the easy access to the campus! Both business and social guests find our neighborhood filled with things to do and great dining as well. For those times when staying in the hotel is desirable, our Bistro serves delicious and creative food for breakfast and dinner! In addition, we proudly serve Starbucks coffee for those coffee lovers and a full bar for other beverages! We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!

Sincerely,
James O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl game and loved it. The lobby is comfortable with couches, flat screen TV, fireplace, and computer area. Very modern decor. There are tables and an eating area to lounge in as well and this is where you can eat a delicious breakfast. Employees were extremely helpful and pleasant. The bed was comfortable with all white bed linens. Best thing is that it is about 1 and 1/2 blocks from the market area with all of the shops, bars, and restaurants. The stadiums are a couple of blocks further. The main campus of Arizona State is close too. We were very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
You make our day with your review of our hotel! We love our location to the activities of Tempe and ASU as well as the dining and entertainment within walking distance! Please return for another visit to the Tempe area!

Sincerely,

James O'Meara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.