We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was very disappointing--especially for the price. The rooms were outdated. The staff was snotty. The pool was average. Gym was small.

The only redeeming quality was the location--which is fantastic. You can easily walk to lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
While it is never easy to view how someone who is disappointed rates our hotel, it is imperative that we hear from you so we can take action to correct your perception. Yes, we do have an amazing location in Downtown Tempe near the ASU campus; lots of dining and activities are within walking distance. That does not mean we can skip the important part about being customer focused! While we cannot change the pool size or the gym, we can get back to basics and compensate with exceptional service. Please contact me directly to provide additional feedback so we can begin the process of making this your first choice in Tempe! Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Sincerely,
Jim O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
12
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a Marriott Gold status- and yes this is a good location but the hotel itself is no where to Courtyard Marriott standards that I have stayed at in the past. The rooms are not the latest updated version- the floors in my room were stained and the room itself has a stench. I also would advise anyone over the age of 30 staying here to know this is right on the college campus area and of coarse often filled with college students etc. We encountered a college couple arguing, slamming room doors and going up and down the elevator from 2:00AM-4:00AM. Granted security went and spoke to them but in a typcial Courtyard Marriott most travelers are not that rude. I would not recommend risky your vacation at a hotel this close to a college environment unless that's what your looking for. I did place a call to the GM and am still waiting to hear back from them about my awful experience. I will say the girl at the front desk was kind- kudos to her!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We certainly appreciate your review so we can see first-hand how you felt about your visit to our hotel! Of course, the cleanliness of your room is unacceptable to us and I apologize for it’s less than stellar appearance. We are definitely a part of the college community and do host groups attending functions on campus. That does not give them permission to spoil others’ sleep! While I am pleased your concerns were taken care of by both security and the front desk staff, please know we constantly look for ways to eliminate the need for your calls in the middle of the night. We do appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and your Gold Status. While we did not serve you well at this location, it is my hope that future stays at other Marriott hotels will exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

James O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to ASU, ASU stadium and the Rock N Roll start and finish line for the half marathon. Lots of eating places almost next door. Front desk very friendly. Brought refridge to room upon request no charge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We love hearing how you liked our location and our friendly staff! The team is committed to making your stay the best it can be! Many of our guests are attending ASU functions and enjoy the easy access to the campus! Both business and social guests find our neighborhood filled with things to do and great dining as well. For those times when staying in the hotel is desirable, our Bistro serves delicious and creative food for breakfast and dinner! In addition, we proudly serve Starbucks coffee for those coffee lovers and a full bar for other beverages! We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!

Sincerely,
James O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Nothing good, nothing bad about this Marriott. There is no room service. Their bistro should be avoided. The personnel talks very loud between themselves and creates a lot of noise. Like their small free business center with free coffee served nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Your comments are a wakeup call for our team as you point to areas we can improve on! Thank you for letting us know about your experience. The good thing is you were able to enjoy the coffee in our business center. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel for those who wish to stay connected while they travel.
We love hearing how you liked our location and our friendly staff! The team is committed to making your stay the best it can be! Many of our guests are attending ASU functions and enjoy the easy access to the campus! Both business and social guests find our neighborhood filled with things to do and great dining as well. For those times when staying in the hotel is desirable, our Bistro serves delicious and creative food for breakfast and dinner! In addition, we proudly serve Starbucks coffee for those coffee lovers and a full bar for other beverages! We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!

Sincerely,
James O’Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl game and loved it. The lobby is comfortable with couches, flat screen TV, fireplace, and computer area. Very modern decor. There are tables and an eating area to lounge in as well and this is where you can eat a delicious breakfast. Employees were extremely helpful and pleasant. The bed was comfortable with all white bed linens. Best thing is that it is about 1 and 1/2 blocks from the market area with all of the shops, bars, and restaurants. The stadiums are a couple of blocks further. The main campus of Arizona State is close too. We were very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
You make our day with your review of our hotel! We love our location to the activities of Tempe and ASU as well as the dining and entertainment within walking distance! Please return for another visit to the Tempe area!

Sincerely,

James O'Meara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globalflyereal
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Located in the heart of downtown Tempe, the hotel is ideal to walk to any venue or bar/restaurant in Tempe. Very clean, safe and comfortable. A free shuttle service on the half hour to the airport. Very friendly service. Ask for a room not facing Ash Street or you may be bothered by the Light Rail noise. The only downfall is the price. $169 a night is steep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for letting others know you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel was perfect. We do have many guests taking advantage of the proximity to Tempe’s vibrant downtown! Our connectivity to other parts of Metro Phoenix is enhanced by the Light Rail and our shuttle service to the airport! Come visit again!

Sincerely,

James O'Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent a couple of days interviewing ASU students at the Engineering Career Center, and the Courtyard was just a perfect location. The drive from the airport was easy, and the hotel is just a couple blocks from the career center - the AWS guest parking lot I would have used was further than the hotel itself! And the same distance away is Mill Ave. with lots of restraurants and bars. The room was nicely equipted with everything I needed. I didn't have a good opportunity to use it, but the pool and hottub were inviting and I'm disappointed I didn't find the time. If I have to go back to ASU for work, I'm definitely staying at the same location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many of our guests are in Tempe to participate in ASU activities and find our location is exceptional. When you add the dining and entertainment options within walking distance, we can’t be beat! Thanks for letting others know about your experience and we look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

James O'Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.