We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Tempe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Tombstone, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best of Tempe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I read reviews about the train horn..The desk agent said that the day they stopped blowing the train was a great day for the hotel and him. Everything was perfect in the room. Will stay there again and again. Great value for using name your own price with Priceline.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
22
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed at his hotel on a Saturday nite. VERY BAD idea. The Hotel is located 2 blocks from Mills Street and ASU. I could hear the bar music and talk all nite until 2am. Then many of the drunk patrons stayed at the hotel being so close to the bars. Several times, I could hear the loud noise and talking until 4AM. Also a group of guys tried to get into my room, finally realizing they were on the wrong floor.

I stayed the next night and had no problem. The hotel has free parking and a great new lobby. The man that checked me in was a great host. Even make small talk with me when I was at the hotel computer. FYI: There is no in room wifi. That is suppose to change soon.

The room was clean and well kept. Average space. The entire hotel was clean and fresh. Only stayed at this hotel because I won a bid on priceline. Otherwise, I don't stay at the Marriott chain because of their political and religious beliefs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife and I go to Tempe, Arizonz for the PF Chang's Rock & Roll Marathon every January. We have always stayed at the Mission Palms. This year we tried the Marriott. Staff was friendly and helpful. The place was immaculately clean. Amenities were adequate. The shower, well the shower was weird. There was just a showerhead and curtain. The floor was all on one continuous level; no berm, no ridge nothing to hold the water in at alll. The tile had been laid with absolutely no thought to gravity and as a result the water simply flooded out soaking the whole bathroom. I have never seen anything so ridiculous in my life! Next year it'll be back to the Mission Palms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
page
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Went down with a few friends for my birthday for a couple days, they we're more than happy to give us adjoining rooms, one of which had a great little balcony. Other than the awesome location (just a parking lot away from Mill Ave.) the rooms were very clean, spacious, beds were super comfortable and we only heard the train once. Perhaps because we were out on Mill all night xD. Housekeeping did an excellent job of tiding up our room, beds were made, fresh towels, extra shampoo/conditioner/soap. The staff was super friendly, answered all of our questions, very professional. I would definitely stay here again, and I'm looking forward to my next visit :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Great rooms but, you will only have a peacefull sleep if u have the rooms facing the carpark. If you wantthe room with the Pool view you will have compromise your sleep then , apparantly the train starts screaming out loud at 12am and 6 am some times at 5am too ! seriously i had to shif out especially since i was going to be there for 5 weeks . cafe is boring really, no variety same food but then again . since the hotel is in such a great location that you get all the good restaurants since it near the ASU at just a walking distance, pubs and bars are available too if you like to hang out late at night wthout going too far. only problem with room 137 is the aircon jus goes into a heater mode and heats up the entire room. sadly they do not have portable remotes like in singapore hotels where you can switch it off while in bed. but al in all my 5 weeks were great. Just FYI the Hotel shuttle is the best takes youalmost anywhere within 15miles of the hotel. there is factory outlet too nearby if youlove to shop.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

As other reviewers have pointed out the location is great for access to downtown Tempe and it's many eateries but forget about a quiet nights sleep. The railroad runs right by the hotel with freight trains tooting as they pass at midnight, 5am, 6am .........it is also on the main approach path to the airport. Landings start from 5.50am and go on beyond 10pm. Nice new lobby though and rooms are a decent size.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just two blocks from vibrant downtown Tempe, this is a great location to park and walk to dozens of restaurants and shops. However, this property is beginning to show a lack of maintenance. The rooms themselves are OK; standard Marriott. But, the ice machine on our floor was dead, the printer in the lobby did not work, the air conditioner in our room was faulty. I called the front desk in the evening to report the broken ice machine. They said that they would look into it, but did not offer to bring us ice nor direct us to a working machine. All problems were reported to the front desk at checkout. The clerk was pleasant, but did not offer any compensation; she simply said that she hoped our day was better than our stay at the hotel!

Room Tip: If you stay here, you may want to inspect your room first to see if everything is actually working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#9 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.