We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel on business for 4 nights. My room was opposite the pool which was a nice view. Even though it was on the ground floor and I was a woman on my own I felt safe. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The room was perfect for my stay and very clean. The bathroom was nice and clean with a nice bath and shower. There were toiletries a hairdryer and iron and ironing board. There was free coffe in reception as well as the tea and coffee being refilled in my room each day. I had some laundry done while I was there which came back promptly and clean and pressed. Breakfast was good with a good variety. Free internet in reception which was handy for work. A pleasant stay and I would go back even with my family if I was city hopping. The only downside was there was no freephone from the airport so you need to take the number with you to phone for the shuttle bus to pick you up.

Room Tip: I think my room was 212 which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
12
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The staff at Courtyard Marriott Tempe are wonderful. They are friendly, efficient and caring. But, the trains, were not. They were noisy, loud and rude. They woke the family up at 5:00 am on a Sunday Morning. This would have been ok, if we weren't on vacation. I really like the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy. I just can't do the trains again. If they move the trains I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This property is well kept and the staff is extremely efficient and friendly. That being said, I will never stay there again. It is located under the Phoenix airport approach path and right next to a major railroad. The affords you the tranquil sounds of trains and planes 24 hours a day. Additionally, I believe it is near a fire station. Emergency vehicle sirens went 5 times through the night I stayed. That combined with the half dozen trains and dozens of planes throughout the night meant no sleep. There must be an railroad crossing near because the trains do not just run past, they blow their horns every time the come through. It sounds like they are in your room!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments concerning your recent visit to the Tempe Downtown Courtyard. We pride ourselves in being a product that was designed solely through research and information provided by people like yourself. As a result, we are always interested in any feedback that our guests have to offer.

It is disheartening to say the least that your experience at our Courtyard was not to the standards that you are a custom to, and that we like to deliver. I apologize for the Train Noise that disturbed your stay. I am extremely excited to report that the City of Tempe has made the area surrounding our hotel a Quiet Zone. Effective February 1st, 2012, the Trains will no longer blow their Warning Horns while passing by the hotel. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

James T O'Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

A great staff that was very friendly and they also bumped us up to a suite at no extra cost during our stay. It was very quiet and the walls seems well insulated from sound as we could hear a pin down in our room. We'' stay there again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Very convenient to Mill Street. Décor was nice. Everything looked new with no signs of wear and tear. Large comfortable lobby. The grounds are nicely maintained. The staff was very pleasant. Housekeeping was lacking. Had to request clean glassware for our room, requested more towels 3 times and finally went down to the front desk ourselves and didn’t get any housekeeping service on our 3rd day until after 3pm when we called the front desk to let them know.

This is a very noisy location for a hotel. The train rumbles by at least twice a night, blowing a very loud whistle. Friday and Saturday night there was a lot of traffic noise. Sunday was pretty quite except for the train. The property is also in the flight path for the airport. So if noise bothers you, don’t stay here or bring your ear plugs.

I only gave the low rankings because of the lack of service from housekeeping and the noisy location. May sound contradictory: it is a pleasant place to stay but I can't recommend it because of the noise. Would other wise.

Room Tip: Not on train side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Horrible location for a hotel right next to active train tracks. Both nights I stayed there a train rolled through in the middle of the night. You'd have to be in a coma to sleep through it.

Other than that, everything was good. Location was convenient to ASU campus and Mill Street is fun.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.