We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay but was very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tempe

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5075 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick stay but was very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Could only stay one night but this would be a great place to stay for a week or so. Stayed in a 2 bed/2 bath suite was perfect for our situation. Very clean, good location and would stay here again. Pool was nice, not really big and not heated but it was 90 degrees outside, so it wasn't too bad. The jacuzzi tub made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Our pool is heated to at least 82 degrees year around although depending on the time of year it can feel a bit cooler. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we looking forward to your next trip and maybe you can stay a little longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
12
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed here a few times with my longest stay being almost two months. It is a convenient location (across the road from the Arizona Mills mall) and easily accessible to I-10 and the 60.

The rooms are clean, and I really like the beds here. Most of all, I like the small kitchen, and one of the things I like about most Residence Inns it being able to enter directly into your room from the outside. This is especially nice for longer stays as it gives you less of a feel of living in a hotel.

Overall this is usually a good value for the money. However in peak seasons it does book up faster than some other nearby Marriott properties, so in those cases (or if the price is significantly lower) the very nearby SpringHill Suites is a nice alternative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable time here and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Residence Inn in Tempe Arizona last month. We booked a studio but were upgraded to a two bedroom two bath suite with a fireplace. It was awesome! I felt like I was at home. A very clean hotel and up to Marriott standards as far as service on checking in, cleanliness of the room, comfort and amenities. Close to all of the ball parks for spring training and other attractions in the Phoenix area. They have the customary complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks. It's a great place to stay with or without children. I would definitely book there again.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool but I think any room in the hotel would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is great! Full breakfast everyday, social hour weekdays, pool, jacuzzi, sports court, great people. I hold back on a 5 because it is not a full resort. We come here during baseball spring training and the place is booked solid. It is in Tempe near the freeway. There is a mall nearby and restaurants.

Room Tip: We think the rooms are large and well decorated. No elevator, so make your choice that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to you again next March for some more spring training baseball!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from 4 night baseball trip and stayed at this property. Have stayed each of the last 3 years due to the service, amenities during a vacation stay and the location. Property is very well taken care of. Staff is friendly and the hotel and grounds are very well kept. Have read where wi-fi was an issue, was not for us. Both used I-pads in room with no problems at all. We'll be back next year, hopefully our team will fare better in spring ball...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you didn't have any problems with your WIFI. The hotel went through an internet upgrade and became wireless in 2012 so happy to hear that you it was useful for your stay. We look forward to your return trip next March for some more baseball!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for the opening weekend of Baseball Spring Training and enjoyed services, accommodations, and convenient location to the freeways. I have traveled extensively over the years, and I was impressed by the very friendly and sincere customer service (a quality that is lacking from many of today's hotels). Check in was a breeze...and I promptly received a FedEx package that was sent to the hotel. The front desk was always available to answer questions and provide directions. Wireless Internet service is free, and there is a computer and printer in the lobby.

The rooms include a full kitchen, utensils, etc which we didn't necessarily require, but it was nice to have a microwave, as well as a fridge for beverages, Lighting was perfect, with pleasant lighting in the kitchen/desk area, as well as reading lamps on both sides of the bed. Two large windows also provided some welcome daytime light.. This was a comfortable and inviting environment for work or leisure.

Towels and bathroom amenities were adequate, and there was an excellent new hairdryer provided as well. The bed was a bit hard, and pillows and quality of the sheets was standard for Residence Inn...didn't hate them, didn't love them.

This hotel has suites on 2 levels and no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, or have a bunch of luggage and items to haul in, you might want to consider a unit on the ground floor. We always opt for the top floor, feeling it is a bit more quiet. There seemed to be a lot of families at the hotel over the weekend, as the price and accommodations are much more convenient and comfortable than a cramped hotel room.

Breakfast was included and was outstanding, although a bit crowded and noisy (so plan your breakfast time accordingly). The staff was challenged in keeping up with the demands of the patrons, as most people seemed to really pile on the food. A very good variety of food was offered, with a waffle maker (and whip cream, syrup, blueberries, chocolate chips as toppings), eggs, sausage, potatos, oatmeal, rice, fruit, yogurt, cereal toast, bagels, and muffins. The hot items varied slightly each day, but standard items remained the same (which was great). The Monday breakfast was much more civilized, as most of the families were replaced with business travelers.

There is a nice outdoor area for evening receptions, which are held M-Th. This was also enjoyable for sitting and relaxing and reading a book. They also had 2 grills..which I believe can also be used by guests.

The pool (not huge, but nice) was in use quite frequently, despite the windy 60 degree weather, so I guess the water temp was fine. We sat out one day and enjoyed the final rays of sunshine...and also filled our water bottles with the filtered water from the dispenser that is in the pool area (the hotel has very hard water...so the filtered water was great).

This hotel is convenient to every fast food chain known to mankind (within 1/2 mile) and is directly across from the Arizona Mills Outlet stores. For men, the Home Depot is right across the street as well! A CVS pharmacy is right next door, which is very convenient for snacks and other necessities. We found a nice selection of wine, beer, alcohol as well, which eliminated the need to go to a grocery store (Although Fry's grocery and food is about 2 miles away).

A word of caution about the area...this hotel property is very clean, safe, and secure. However, we went to the CVS Store next door at 10 pm on a Friday night, and the clerk informed us that at 8:30 pm, 3 men came in and stuck a shotgun in the clerk's face and demanded money. We saw several sheriff cars in front of the store earlier that evening, and another CVS clerk was talking about it again the next morning; apparently this is the 3rd time in 4 months the store has been robbed, so I certainly wouldn't be out walking alone...day or night. The clerk also mentioned that there is an Indian reservation south of the area, and apparently police/sheriffs cannot enter the property, so the thugs, regardless of race, head for the reservation to escape...

Overall, we enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and recreational area, the great customer service, and convenience of this Residence Inn. The added value of the quality breakfast, (and newspaper) as well as easy access to the freeways resulted in a very enjoyable weekend of baseball.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake havasu city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent two nights here over Thanksgiving, after a very disappointing attempt at getting an upgrade at Mayo location (I am a Lifetime Gold member). I chose this location based on the glowing reviews here concerning the staff, and I can honestly say the comments are spot on. The Front Desk Supervisor, Christine H. could not have been more helpful, polite or welcoming. She called the other location and moved our reservation, gave us a wonderful room and offered to assist us in any other way possible. Our holiday stay was a great success due to her and her staff. We will definitely return to this location as it ranks tops in customer care. I hope Marriott takes note of the difference in guest relations between these two properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am so happy to hear that Christine and the team help make your holiday even more enjoyable. I think that our team is pretty special and glad to see that our guests do as well. We look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tempe

Address: 5075 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tempe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Tempe, Arizona Hotel is an ideal lodging choice near ASU. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Tempe. You’ll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free wireless high-speed internet and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Tempe, AZ hotel’s spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and well-designed bathrooms. Fully-equipped kitchens complement each suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Tempe, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen and don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn All-Suite Hotel in Tempe, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tempe Hotel Tempe
Tempe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.