We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for extended trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tempe to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5075 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Arizona Hiking Package
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place for extended trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from 4 night baseball trip and stayed at this property. Have stayed each of the last 3 years due to the service, amenities during a vacation stay and the location. Property is very well taken care of. Staff is friendly and the hotel and grounds are very well kept. Have read where wi-fi was an issue, was not for us. Both used I-pads in room with no problems at all. We'll be back next year, hopefully our team will fare better in spring ball...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you didn't have any problems with your WIFI. The hotel went through an internet upgrade and became wireless in 2012 so happy to hear that you it was useful for your stay. We look forward to your return trip next March for some more baseball!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
12
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for the opening weekend of Baseball Spring Training and enjoyed services, accommodations, and convenient location to the freeways. I have traveled extensively over the years, and I was impressed by the very friendly and sincere customer service (a quality that is lacking from many of today's hotels). Check in was a breeze...and I promptly received a FedEx package that was sent to the hotel. The front desk was always available to answer questions and provide directions. Wireless Internet service is free, and there is a computer and printer in the lobby.

The rooms include a full kitchen, utensils, etc which we didn't necessarily require, but it was nice to have a microwave, as well as a fridge for beverages, Lighting was perfect, with pleasant lighting in the kitchen/desk area, as well as reading lamps on both sides of the bed. Two large windows also provided some welcome daytime light.. This was a comfortable and inviting environment for work or leisure.

Towels and bathroom amenities were adequate, and there was an excellent new hairdryer provided as well. The bed was a bit hard, and pillows and quality of the sheets was standard for Residence Inn...didn't hate them, didn't love them.

This hotel has suites on 2 levels and no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, or have a bunch of luggage and items to haul in, you might want to consider a unit on the ground floor. We always opt for the top floor, feeling it is a bit more quiet. There seemed to be a lot of families at the hotel over the weekend, as the price and accommodations are much more convenient and comfortable than a cramped hotel room.

Breakfast was included and was outstanding, although a bit crowded and noisy (so plan your breakfast time accordingly). The staff was challenged in keeping up with the demands of the patrons, as most people seemed to really pile on the food. A very good variety of food was offered, with a waffle maker (and whip cream, syrup, blueberries, chocolate chips as toppings), eggs, sausage, potatos, oatmeal, rice, fruit, yogurt, cereal toast, bagels, and muffins. The hot items varied slightly each day, but standard items remained the same (which was great). The Monday breakfast was much more civilized, as most of the families were replaced with business travelers.

There is a nice outdoor area for evening receptions, which are held M-Th. This was also enjoyable for sitting and relaxing and reading a book. They also had 2 grills..which I believe can also be used by guests.

The pool (not huge, but nice) was in use quite frequently, despite the windy 60 degree weather, so I guess the water temp was fine. We sat out one day and enjoyed the final rays of sunshine...and also filled our water bottles with the filtered water from the dispenser that is in the pool area (the hotel has very hard water...so the filtered water was great).

This hotel is convenient to every fast food chain known to mankind (within 1/2 mile) and is directly across from the Arizona Mills Outlet stores. For men, the Home Depot is right across the street as well! A CVS pharmacy is right next door, which is very convenient for snacks and other necessities. We found a nice selection of wine, beer, alcohol as well, which eliminated the need to go to a grocery store (Although Fry's grocery and food is about 2 miles away).

A word of caution about the area...this hotel property is very clean, safe, and secure. However, we went to the CVS Store next door at 10 pm on a Friday night, and the clerk informed us that at 8:30 pm, 3 men came in and stuck a shotgun in the clerk's face and demanded money. We saw several sheriff cars in front of the store earlier that evening, and another CVS clerk was talking about it again the next morning; apparently this is the 3rd time in 4 months the store has been robbed, so I certainly wouldn't be out walking alone...day or night. The clerk also mentioned that there is an Indian reservation south of the area, and apparently police/sheriffs cannot enter the property, so the thugs, regardless of race, head for the reservation to escape...

Overall, we enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and recreational area, the great customer service, and convenience of this Residence Inn. The added value of the quality breakfast, (and newspaper) as well as easy access to the freeways resulted in a very enjoyable weekend of baseball.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake havasu city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent two nights here over Thanksgiving, after a very disappointing attempt at getting an upgrade at Mayo location (I am a Lifetime Gold member). I chose this location based on the glowing reviews here concerning the staff, and I can honestly say the comments are spot on. The Front Desk Supervisor, Christine H. could not have been more helpful, polite or welcoming. She called the other location and moved our reservation, gave us a wonderful room and offered to assist us in any other way possible. Our holiday stay was a great success due to her and her staff. We will definitely return to this location as it ranks tops in customer care. I hope Marriott takes note of the difference in guest relations between these two properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am so happy to hear that Christine and the team help make your holiday even more enjoyable. I think that our team is pretty special and glad to see that our guests do as well. We look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a month. They have great front desk staff - very helpful and professional. They have a great breakfast buffet every day and they also serve snacks 4 days a week in the evening. The room service is great and the cleaning staff does a great job - they even get the dirty dishes for you. The room that I stayed at had a small kitchen, great for cooking on the weekends. They also have a grocery shopping service, good if you are too busy to shop. There is also a CVS very close by - very convenient. The Arizona mills mall is right across the road - they have a decent food court and shopping. Overall, this place lets you focus on your work and takes care of the other things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a couple of days between meetings so needed to relax and not eat at restaurants. You can always count of the Residence. Not fancy but this one has a full kitchen with a range. Good tv channels. Clean pool. Front desk staff are wonderful. Breakfast has a variety even rice! Just what I needed. Great mall across the street and many restaurants nearby

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this property in sept after arriving from LA. Hotel offered all we could wish for and by booking and paying in advance got an absolue bargain.Was not sure if its position would be suitable for the things we had planned to do during our stay,but access to Phoenix and Scottsdale were quick and easy.All 3 mornings found breakfast hot and plentiful,and the pool and jacuzzi area very clean.Also the suite was as expected having stayed in other Residece inns.Staff all very friendly and offered advice on area for dining etc. If in area again this would be my hotel of choice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Inn was old, but OK. Needs updating. As we watch Hotel Impossible, we notice his observations of his places. The first observation was hair in the bathroom. We had to climb into the old bathtub to take the shower-old timey. One good thing was the room had a regular 12 cup coffee-maker. The breakfast was ok, but luke warm.
When we noticed their happy hour was only three days/week-that was a letdown-we arrived on Thursday-it ended on Wednesday.
The pool was small, but clean and OK along w/hot tub.
The bed/matress was not up to par, very worn out and saggy.
So, all in all it was an OK experience, but we will not return.

Room Tip: Rooms are OK on east side to avoid the afternoon heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tempe

Address: 5075 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Tempe, Arizona Hotel is an ideal lodging choice near ASU. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Tempe. You’ll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free wireless high-speed internet and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Tempe, AZ hotel’s spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and well-designed bathrooms. Fully-equipped kitchens complement each suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Tempe, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen and don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn All-Suite Hotel in Tempe, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tempe Hotel Tempe
Tempe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.