We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but barely OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tempe

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5075 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old, but barely OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Inn was old, but OK. Needs updating. As we watch Hotel Impossible, we notice his observations of his places. The first observation was hair in the bathroom. We had to climb into the old bathtub to take the shower-old timey. One good thing was the room had a regular 12 cup coffee-maker. The breakfast was ok, but luke warm.
When we noticed their happy hour was only three days/week-that was a letdown-we arrived on Thursday-it ended on Wednesday.
The pool was small, but clean and OK along w/hot tub.
The bed/matress was not up to par, very worn out and saggy.
So, all in all it was an OK experience, but we will not return.

Room Tip: Rooms are OK on east side to avoid the afternoon heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
12
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in early July, and was very pleased. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The staff was great - special shout out to Cheryl and Heather. The hotel was very well situated, near a Chipotle (yum!) and a YMCA, and right across from Arizona Mills Shopping Mall. The pool was great and so was the hot tub. Breakfast was very good, and the Social Hour wasn't bad. The free internet was very fast, oh, and they have two awesome bbq's for guests to use!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

An excellent Residence Inn... The front desk person was very friendly and made me feel welcome. My room was updated, everything was in working order, and very clean. The wired Internet worked fine. And it's a good location with several restaurant choices nearby. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

no issues at all. staff was great, room was good & breakfast was good; cant go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very nice Residence Inn, rooms were clean, updated, and pleasing decor. However, I have come to expect Wi-FI in the rooms (no just the lobby), as having a wired connection rendered our I-Pads useless! Also, there was no elevator, which just made it a pain to lug our heavy suitcases up and down the stairs....also there was quite a bit of street noise. But the front office staff was very very nice...can't evaluate the breakfast since our flight left too early to take advantage of that. So...easy 5-10 minute drive to the airport but next time I'll pick a place with wi-fi in the rooms....

Room Tip: Try to get one that's NOT near the road (not sure if there are any!) and be aware that there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Great location, just near a mall, convenience store and restaurants and pretty close to town. The studio apartments are perfect for business trips. They are very homely, with a neat little kitchen and all amenities for you to cook in. The service is great, the ladies turn out the room everyday and clean up the kitchen as well. There is a small pool and a tiny exercise room. Lots of parking space is available. A wholesome breakfast is provided every morning, and has a wide variety of options. Also there are snacks and I think even complimentary drinks in the evenings, but due to late work hours I wasn't able to try those. The front desk people are very friendly and helpful.Would surely stay again if I'm in that region!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA - Northern California - Bay Area
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel is located in a great spot for families, because it was friendly. It also allowed pets to check in with the guests. Although we did not bring our dog, it is nice to know for future visits.

There's a tennis and basketball court in addition to paddleball and volleyball. A guest can check out the equipment at the front desk.

Also, the exercise room, pool, and jacuzzi was in the same complex. We used all of them.

If you need extra clothing, Arizona Mills Shopping Mall is across the street.

If you forget any toiletry items, CVS pharmacy is physically next door (rather in front of Residence Inn).

For grocery shopping, there's a Trader Joe's and Whole Foods within five miles.

We checked into a two-bedroom two bathroom suite with a full kitchen, dishwasher, living room, dining counter, red chaise lounge sofa (we want to buy one), fireplace, desk, three televisions, lots of storage, queen beds in each room, and nice shelves and closets.

We liked the lighting.

The staff was nice and professional.We would like to thank them for making our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Book the room facing away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tempe

Address: 5075 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tempe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Tempe, Arizona Hotel is an ideal lodging choice near ASU. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Tempe. You’ll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free wireless high-speed internet and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Tempe, AZ hotel’s spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and well-designed bathrooms. Fully-equipped kitchens complement each suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Tempe, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen and don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn All-Suite Hotel in Tempe, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tempe Hotel Tempe
Tempe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.