We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than previous experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Tempe to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5211 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Better than previous experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at this property for two nights recently and it was much better than my previous experience. Hotel appeared cleaner than the last visit. However, the hallway carpets could use a good cleaning. Rooms were clean, and the staff was attentive. The breakfast in the morning had numerous choices including egg whites, and a hot meat item. There was fresh fruit both days as well. I'd stay here again when my travels take me back to the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for giving us another try eve if your first time was not as expected! We have made a lot of excellent changes and have so much more to come this morning including updating the hallway carpets! Thank you so much for the review and safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
24
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque NM
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed at SpringHill Suites Tempe for 5 nights.
I had a good stay and would recommend this hotel; I would stay here again.
Location is good---quick access to I-10 and US60 so you could get to Phoenix, Chandler, Mesa, etc. quickly. It is very close to Arizona Mills Mall.
Great staff is the best thing about this hotel. They are very nice and helpful. Sabrina was great. Housekeeping was very nice too.
Suite is spacious.
Free wifi worked most of the time.
Hotel has plenty of free parking.
Free breakfast was good, but the hot items could use some improvement---eggs and sausage patties were rubbery and odd tasting. Sausage links were fine. The final morning I was there they had spicy ground sausage meat which was tasty and by far the best hot item for the week.
They seem to rotate between the sausage patties, sausage links, and ground sausage meat.
It was nice that they had excellent milk variety (skim, 2%, whole and chocolate).

The needs improvement:
Elevators are very slow (including door opening and closing).
Air conditioner was a bit noisy for a light sleeper like me (should have worn my ear plugs). I originally thought it was the unit in my room, but my two other associates who were also staying in the hotel also said their air conditioner units were noisy. But at least it worked and kept my room cool.
It was nice having the in-room refrigerator, but it had no temperature control and froze my drinks the first night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! Our location is perfect and I agree and always say that the second best part of SpringHill Tempe is the staff, and number one being you as our guest! We truly value your opinion as a traveler, and as such love making changes to the buffett to suit special requests and tips to better our service. Thank you so much for the review and we can't wait to put new ideas into action!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for week. check and check out was a breeze, The folks behind the desk were pleasant, and happy to help me with Faxes, etc. The internet access was reliable and included, which is hard to find in the best of hotels. The room was clean, and kept clean. AC worked well, which is a plus in AZ!, Breakfast was great. Nice pool.

if I had to improve anything it would be that the carpets in the hallways could use a good cleaning or replacing. Also, the elevators could use a tune up. Printer cartridges should be on site for replacement. The outside furniture could stand to be updated, but was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Our staff is out of this world and I am glad they took care of everything you needed! Your suggestions are very much noted, and we do have some great updates to almost all of the areas you pointed out including the carpet elevators happening this summer as well as much more. Thank you so much for trusting us the week you were here and we look forward to your return. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have stayed at this Springhill Suites several times and knew it would be a good choice for a weekend away.
Room was comfortable and clean. Love that we get several pillows on the bed and lots of towels.

This was a "do nothing" get away weekend for us so we didn't wander very far from the hotel. We took a walk, went out to eat and then had a theatre performance to attend when we checked out. But other than that, we stayed at the hotel the entire weekend. We stayed in our room or out at the pool or in the exercise room. It was quiet and peaceful. We know there were quite a few guests--we could tell from the breakfast crowd and the parking lot. But the rooms were quiet and not a lot of noise in hallways or out at the pool. That was nice.

Staff was friendly. They answered questions & tried to be sure we were having our needs met--attentive. Very nice.

We ask housekeeping not to clean our room on Sat morning. They asked to be sure there was nothing we needed--no extra supplies, towels, etc and then moved on to leave us alone. Very nice.

Breakfast was good. They did have a lot of choices. The breakfast room was packed both mornings when we went in. So finding a seat was tough and keeping the buffet line stocked was tough.

Would we stay again? Yep. We've done that already.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
It was fabulous to have you back and continue to provide the best service that leads to great reviews to share! I am glad you guys got to getaway and had plenty of quiet time to relax, and truly appreciate you making us your place to come for all occassions. Thank you for the review and we shall be seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Loved the location of the hotel next to mall, Very engaging staff Sabrina is the best give her a raise. The breakfast was very well kept not to busy and lots to choose from. Clean rooms and housekeeping was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Sabrina is the best! We are very lucky to have her smile and her proactive leadership on our team :) Glad you enjoyed everything and don't be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night to be closer to an event I was hosting in Tempe. This is a very nice hotel. It is clean, modern and has a very nice staff. I only stayed one night so I can tell you my perspective from what I experienced

Rooms:
Nicely sized - includes a separate kitchen area with microwave, fridge and sink. Love when there is a separate sink to use. There is a pull out couch, desk area and flat screen TV. Wifi is free which is great! The bed was very comfortable.
Sink is standard size - mine had a slow drain (mgt check out room 332). Nothing special about shower area but it was clean.

Hotel:
One of the elevators is very slow to open and close. I'm sure they have had this checked out, but interesting none the less.
There is a small business center which is actually just a computer and printer, but if you need to print something out it is handy.

Breakfast area:
Nice buffet set-up. While the intent is for people to walk thru buffet style - it never works that way. This is set up in as a corridor style entry, which makes it awkward when people are going back and forth down the line for food - I don't know why people get gluttonous at a free breakfast buffet, but that seems to be the case everywhere. Breakfast included protein such as eggs, bacon, sausage as well as cereals, oatmeal, danish. Coffee was blech - that's the priority in my book.

Pool area:
Looks great, but I was not able to use the pool.

Parking:
Lots of free parking

Food:
Fast food and sit down restaurants close by.

If you are visiting Arizona Mills or ASU - this is definitely a good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Love the details and really appreciate you sharing your experience.Your maintenance concerns have been worked on and we are excited to have some fantastic updates on the way! Our location to not only the freeways but ASU and the wonderful AZ Mills Mall are a real hit, and we are glad that you will be recommending us for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here for two days and the staff was great. They even have the manger doing breakfast and picking up plates off tables, if you want great staff service i would visit these guys and gals at this Springhill Suites Tempe All the staff is GREAT.

Room Tip: big rooms you also get a mini fridge very good for value, choose the 3rd floor room
See more room tips
Green Features: a lil hidden so behind the gas station but cool location to just chill back
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for the review, and all of our team loves the interaction and being out with the guests but Jeff does an outstanding job helping at breakfast and making sure everyon is well taken care of. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Tempe

Address: 5211 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tempe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated and completely reinvented SpringHill Suites Tempe Arizona Mills Mall hotel. Perfect for business or leisure travel, our Tempe hotel lies at the gateway to the Tempe high-tech area near numerous attractions such as ASU, Arizona Mills Mall, and companies such as Bank of America Insight, and Intel. With complimentary shuttle service available Monday -Friday from 7am to 10 pm, getting to Phoenix Sky Harbor has never been easier. All suites at have been completely recreated and feature new luxurious crisp linens, elegant fixtures, comfortable sleeper sofas and mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee makers. Complimentary high speed internet access in all suites and a 24 hour business center will keep you connected and productive. Offering a chef inspired complimentary hot breakfast in our stylish new lobby, your day is sure to start off right. Our reinvented hotel coupled with our friendly hospitable service, the SpringHill Suites is sure to be your choice hotel in Tempe, AZ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Tempe Hotel Tempe
Tempe Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.