We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Tempe to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5211 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Room was clean. Size was perfect. Beds were fine. Location a block from Mills Mall and about 10 minutes from the Sky Harbor Airport. We were catching an early morning flight, so this was a quick overnight stay on Xmas night. Would stay again Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are great for families and happy to be your home away from home on Christmas. Thank you for the review and we hope the rest of the holidays treated you well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
24
5
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to Highways, Shopping and Restaurants. The rooms are just what you would expect for a bargain hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Registration was quick and painless. Overall service was very good. Easy parking and quick checkout.

Room Tip: My personal preference is to stay on a lower floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel seemed to follow environment-friendly practices.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for complementing our staff! They certainly set us apart from all the rest in Tempe, and I am glad everything went better than expected on your visit. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Overall, this hotel is tired and needs some work. My room was not clean in terms of Marriott standards. The trash can by the desk still had receipts in it from the previous guest. Hallway carpets are worn and dirty. Also, I think only one out of the two elevators may have been operating while I was there. However, the most disgusting part about the room was the blood stained yellow chair. I should have complained to management during my visit, but had already been in meetings for six hours and flown over 1400 miles and was absolutely exhausted.

In the morning, the breakfast attendant didn't show up. Therefore, breakfast was completely continental and was not ready by 6am. In addition, the hotel's juice machine was completely broken and out of order. They didn't even put out a pitcher of water for guests. Some staff members were attentive, but the morning clerk didn't even apologize for not having a hot breakfast (which is advertised excessively around the hotel) or ask how my stay was. Overall, I probably would not return since there are lots of other choices in the immediate area, but management has made an effort to reach out to try to rectify the problems. Definitely not worth the $106 government rate I paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
It was my pleasure after hearing of your issue as you left to reach out to you and help any way I could. Everything has been addressed with the team and taken very seriously with immediate reaction. I appreciate your time here with us and look forward to giving you the best of Marriott and even more of Tempe the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having stayed at numerous Marriots, including this one last year, I was highly disappointed by our stay this time. The shower had no water pressure and did not even get hot. There was no way we could wash our hair in the small amount of water coming out of the shower. We asked the front desk staff twice for an extra blanket for the pull out bed and were told they would send one up. We NEVER got one. The second night we stayed, our room NEVER got cleaned and we did not have the privacy notice up at all. We were at an event all day and it was very disappointing that the room never got cleaned. The air conditioner also only seemed to hit one area of the room making that one part extremely cold. Since this was the sponsored hotel of the Susan G Komen 3 Day for the Cure, we were disappointed that although we were ensured there was a shuttle for crew and walkers, the shuttle did not start running until 530 am and the crew had to be there by 4am so we ended up taking our own cars which was not planned at all. When we discussed this with the staff at the front desk, they told us there was nothing they could do. Very, very disappointed in this stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Susan G Komen will be surely missed in Arizona, but I hope that as a guest that has been with us before that we can win you back sometime again. I understand your frustrations with the shuttle service, unfortunately everything for that was set up soley by the event. Houekeeping is making some big steps the past few weeks and I am so sorry we were not able to fix the issues in time for your experience I agree, it certainly is not up to Marriott's standards but is quickly on the way! Thank you so much for your support for the cause and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed in a two queen room with a buddy for a triathlon in Tempe Oct 17-21st. I have never experienced a more friendly, helpful staff throughout any hotel property and I travel for both personal and business quite a bit. Food at breakfast was warm, fresh and tasty. The complimentary shuttle provided as a treat, and every restaurant recommendation was an absolute winner. Room was more than comfortable, not a 4/5 star, but wasn't expecting that. Keep up the good work, and someday maybe I will be welcomed with the sign that says guest of the day, have never seen that before!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator. The pool is much smaller in reality than the pics on the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
That is so sweet and we are so happy that you had a wonderful time! Hope the Triathalon went well for you and your buddy, and we look forward to having you stay again next year. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Tired, needs cleaning and updating. Though the rates are lower than the upscale places, this should be a cleaner facility. Elevator has dirt in corners, dirt is visible around the entry and inside. Room is sufficient, not dirty but just looks kind of tired. Good location though! Staff very friendly and its quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for being here with us and complicating our wonderful staff. There are some great new processes in place with our fantastic new owners that found the same issues and we are looking great! Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The front desk staff was very helpful and responsive. The location was convenient to the AZ Mills Mall, which was part of our itinerary and why we chose this hotel. The overall condition of the hotel was average - worn out, dirty carpets in the main areas and hallways. Room was clean and beds comfortable, but bathroom had what looked like mold in the upper walls and ceilings near the shower and air conditioning had an odd smell when first turned on. We were worried about the noise due to the proximity to the freeway, but turned out that was not an issue - unfortunately, the issue was paper-thin walls where you can hear every conversation and shower/toilet flush from the room next door. The breakfast left a lot to be desired - luke warm scrambled eggs and potatoes and the quality of the waffle batter and pastries were subpar, so much that my normally sweet-craving children threw them away. There was no water available and we had to go to the front desk to get service in the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_L_Marshall, Manager at SpringHill Suites Tempe, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We appreciate the honesty, and are excited that new ownership is bringing some much needed updates that you pointed out.Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you see and love the differences we are making every day to blow you away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Tempe

Address: 5211 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated and completely reinvented SpringHill Suites Tempe Arizona Mills Mall hotel. Perfect for business or leisure travel, our Tempe hotel lies at the gateway to the Tempe high-tech area near numerous attractions such as ASU, Arizona Mills Mall, and companies such as Bank of America Insight, and Intel. With complimentary shuttle service available Monday -Friday from 7am to 10 pm, getting to Phoenix Sky Harbor has never been easier. All suites at have been completely recreated and feature new luxurious crisp linens, elegant fixtures, comfortable sleeper sofas and mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee makers. Complimentary high speed internet access in all suites and a 24 hour business center will keep you connected and productive. Offering a chef inspired complimentary hot breakfast in our stylish new lobby, your day is sure to start off right. Our reinvented hotel coupled with our friendly hospitable service, the SpringHill Suites is sure to be your choice hotel in Tempe, AZ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Tempe Hotel Tempe
Tempe Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.