We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 West Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Okinawa, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Confortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This place is standing beside of Arizona mills and very convenient location for shopping and eating.
Room was clean and well maintained. I spent 2 nights and relaxed after my business meetings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Very pleased to know you were able to relax after your business meetings. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the mall and unwind. Thank you for reviewing our property. We look forward to seeing you again.

D. King AGM / GEC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
15
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
khobar
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I spent there for a whole week when I was attending my brother’s graduation; he recommended to me. The room is spacious and the bed is comfy and there is a setting area with a sofa and a chair. There is also a desk if you want to finish some business work in addition to a nice flat TV. So, the place has everything you need except for a safety box! The hotel is very clean (room, lobby area, etc.).
Location is excellent as it gives you access to basically everything and it is just located next to the mills mall.
I would stay there again whenever I am Tempe, and it is also reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Glad you found the room to be ideal for your needs. Congratulations to your brother for graduating. Should your travel plans bring you back to the Tempe area, we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for commenting on our property. Hopefully you were able to spend some free time at the mall and relax in our spacious rooms.

D. King AGM / GEC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here with a friend and her 18 month old son who was relocating to the area. The hotel is conveniently located right off the interstate and has several restaurants and shopping centers nearby as well. The room was decently sized, with two queen beds, a desk, and a comfortable chair and ottoman. It also had had a small kitchen area with a bar sink, microwave and small refrigerator. It would be a bit of a stretch for me to call this a suite, as it was all one big room, but it was a nice sized room. There were lots of nice little touches, like usb charging ports on the nightstands and desk for various electronic devices. There was an extensive breakfast buffet, with just about any hot or cold breakfast food you'd like, and coffee and tea were available in the lobby 24 hours. There are several reasons I'd recommend it for short stays only. One is because of the outside noise levels, both from the road and the mall across the street. Every night around 11:00 there seemed to be a drag race or something, judging from the loud engine revving . The rooms had very small trash cans, which filled up fast. There was no where private to put the pack n play for the baby, which meant that all activity had to stop when he went to bed at 8:30. So all in all, I'd recommend this for a single traveler or even couple, but not for families if you need somewhere for more than a couple nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Have stayed here before and had the same experience .
Very helpful finding the right golf course to play. The front desk printed out several options and listed by rating and price. That was very helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
There are many great places to play in Arizona. As an avid golfer I truly enjoy living here. We really appreciate the comments regarding our property. We hope to see you again in the future.

D. King AGM / GEC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is only two blocks off interstate 10 and it is easily accessed. It is centrally located when visiting the greater Phoenix, AZ area. The hotel is next to a shopping center, great restaurants in walking distance and a drugstore across the street. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Clean, great beds, excellent staff BUT extremely noisy next to major streets. At the time We stayed, there were bikers who were testing their bikes all night after midnight. After they left, the noise was still unbearable and it was difficult to sleep. Great place but horrible location leading to terrible noise. Would not stay there again

Room Tip: You can't choose a good room because of the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear marwan r,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness, bed and staff.

However, we’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our second stay at this Holiday Inn Express was as good as our first. We made it our business to fit this hotel into our itinerary based on our earlier stay. Terrific in all respects. Our room was extremely comfortble, clean and attractive. A small but important feature was the constant fan-only setting goes a long way to make things restful. Staff was great, friendly and accomodating. The only minor hickup was the fact there were no eggs at breakfast on the morning we were there, but certainly not a big thing. Lots of places to eat, plus the Arizona Mills outlet mall, are all directly adjacent and an easy walk. Super-handy location not far from the airport. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We all agree the constant fan setting goes a long way. We really appreciate your comments on our property and I have posted them to share with all the staff. We hope to see you guys again in the future should your travels bring you back to the area.

D. King AGM / GEC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Address: 1520 West Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel. For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks. Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event. Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Or escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel. Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay Smart at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tempe
Holiday Inn Tempe
Holiday Inn Express Tempe
Tempe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.