We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 West Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great service and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Have stayed here before and had the same experience .
Very helpful finding the right golf course to play. The front desk printed out several options and listed by rating and price. That was very helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
There are many great places to play in Arizona. As an avid golfer I truly enjoy living here. We really appreciate the comments regarding our property. We hope to see you again in the future.

D. King AGM / GEC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
15
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is only two blocks off interstate 10 and it is easily accessed. It is centrally located when visiting the greater Phoenix, AZ area. The hotel is next to a shopping center, great restaurants in walking distance and a drugstore across the street. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Clean, great beds, excellent staff BUT extremely noisy next to major streets. At the time We stayed, there were bikers who were testing their bikes all night after midnight. After they left, the noise was still unbearable and it was difficult to sleep. Great place but horrible location leading to terrible noise. Would not stay there again

Room Tip: You can't choose a good room because of the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear marwan r,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness, bed and staff.

However, we’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our second stay at this Holiday Inn Express was as good as our first. We made it our business to fit this hotel into our itinerary based on our earlier stay. Terrific in all respects. Our room was extremely comfortble, clean and attractive. A small but important feature was the constant fan-only setting goes a long way to make things restful. Staff was great, friendly and accomodating. The only minor hickup was the fact there were no eggs at breakfast on the morning we were there, but certainly not a big thing. Lots of places to eat, plus the Arizona Mills outlet mall, are all directly adjacent and an easy walk. Super-handy location not far from the airport. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We all agree the constant fan setting goes a long way. We really appreciate your comments on our property and I have posted them to share with all the staff. We hope to see you guys again in the future should your travels bring you back to the area.

D. King AGM / GEC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed this past weekend. We absolutely love this hotel. The staff is amazing. I would like to comment on the manajer, Joe King. He is such a wonderful person. We had several issues, he handled them all. Our luggage was delayed upon our arrival, he made sure United brought them to our hotel as we had switched en route from the airport to the Holiday Inn. We had internet issues, he resolved them as we are not computer saavy in the slightest and had no idea that our own computers were the problem. There are many reason why we continue to stay at this specific hotel. The rooms are quite spacious, the flat screen TV is always nice. Bigger than we have at home. As a platinum member we are always greeted with our loyalty rewards and fresh baked cookies. This hotel is a gem and Joe is an amazing asset to Holiday Inn Express!

Room Tip: We prefer the Executive style room as it has a microwave/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests again! We are always willing to assist our guests with whatever help we can. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip. Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our property. Joe King AGM Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Was in town to run the Rock n Roll Marathon and decided to make this Holiday Inn Express my home base.

The location of the hotel is great. You are walking distance to the mall and a few restaurants.
- Hotel Staff: Not the best service in the world but, of course, you get what you pay for
- Free Breakfast: Typical Holiday Inn Express fare; bacon, fruit, cereal, and a pancake maker
- Room: Definitely outdated; had a sort of humid, musty smell to it. I reminded myself that it was decently priced so definitely no surprises there.

- Overall: As the name of the hotel implies, "Express", you should only consider this hotel if you are in town for one night and need a place to shower, shave and sleep. Otherwise, pay a bit more and get some additional amenities and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor facing the parking lot so that you don't get the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear BennieBlanco,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the high score for Value. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right off the 1-10. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. However the service was aboustely horrible. The front desk staff were the worst I have ever experienced at a HI Express.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Tanaug,

Thank you for having taking the time to write your comments. It is good to know you found our location convenient. Your feedback is extremely important to us. Your comment about the unacceptable level of staff service received has been conveyed to the appropriate department for necessary improvements. Rest assured this will certainly be looked into.

Once again, thank you very much and we hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Address: 1520 West Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel. For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks. Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event. Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Or escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel. Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay Smart at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tempe
Holiday Inn Tempe
Holiday Inn Express Tempe
Tempe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.