We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience close to stores and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 West Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good experience close to stores and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the holiday inn express while waiting for red-eye flight. Five minutes from the airport so that was good. Close to several restaurants and arizona mills mall. The breakfast was the standard holiday day express type. The receptionist was very helpful, above the usual holiday inn standard. Elevators are a little slow during rush hour, but not bad. Overall great stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
15
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is located near Interstate 10 and the U.S. Route 60 (Superstition Freeway) junction, an ideal location to easily get to the towns of Tempe, Mesa, Chandler, as well as central Phoenix. It is also located near a shopping mall, a couple of restraunts and there is a drugstore located across the street. The only gripe about the location is getting to the hotel from Baseline road as you come off of Interstate 10, I found out you have take the turn off that goes towards the mall.
The hotel in general was very clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room I had was very large and comfortable! I really liked the the tile in the bathroom. The elevator button was kind of weird but no biggie. I would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are very pleased that you had a great stay! As of today all of our elevator buttons have been replaced. We take pride in our hotel and appreciate your comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property specifically.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Was in town for a conference being held at the Arizona Grand Resort. Arizona Grand Resort is a fine hotel for those who golf, but since I don't, I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express, which is a short walk away and over a $100/night cheaper. Room was large, comfortable, and clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was good but crowded in the morning. Location is next a large shopping center. If you choose not to rent a car, public transportation to and from the airport was a breeze. There is no free airport shuttle provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so pleased your stay with us was great! We look forward to any future stays you may have with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Here for business and impressed with value. I've stayed here a dozen times and it is consistently the same. It's within walking distance to Claim Jumper (very good happy hour), Joe's Crab Shack and Arizona Mills Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your consistent stays with us. We appreciate our valued guests. We really appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding our hotel. I have shared your comments with our staff and look forward to all future stays you have with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean hotel, nothing major I would complain about. It was a busy weekend, so there was nowhere to sit at breakfast, but that's not the worst thing in the world. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. My minor gripe would be the vending machines - $2 for a 12oz can of pop, and the snacks machine was equally overpriced, and also had many items being sold well after the expiration date.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location of the Holiday Inn Express Tempe on the grounds of the Arizona Mills Mall was wonderful for access to shopping, restaurants and movie theaters. The staff was very accommodating for directions and other extras we needed. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and the fresh coffee and cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Window Rock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had booked several rooms, or so we thought, and when our group arrived we were told that we didn't have reservations. Rather than try to help us, the manager tried to "blame" us by saying that it was all our fault. Having talked to the person who had taken our reservations, this person had given the info to the manager. Who knows what happened to it from there. I refuse to stay at this hotel and do not recommend it to anyone who happen to have large groups of 30 or more. I complained to the coporate office, but all that happened was that they had the manager contact me and he wanted to know what he could do? I replied that there was nothing he could do now, if he wanted to help us, he should have done it the night we needed help. It was a "nightmare" and the worst experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our policies have since changed for group bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Address: 1520 West Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel. For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks. Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event. Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Or escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel. Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay Smart at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tempe
Holiday Inn Tempe
Holiday Inn Express Tempe
Tempe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.