We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“revisiting Phoenix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“revisiting Phoenix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

the staff was very nice and although no upgrade was possible, I did get a $4 credit which was nice. the breakfast excellent although the plates were small (more for just one item). the place was crowded due to NASCAR race and opening of baseball summer camp. good location and near Scottsdale.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
JetPilotPoet ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in March. We value your feedback and we are glad the front desk was able to compensate you for your loyalty.

We look forward in seeing you again the next time you travel to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
8
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located. Very close to downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale.
Rooms are clean and spacious, the hotel provides free parking space and free breakfast. Pool and fitness room were small but clean.
We faced some issues since the begining : We arrived in a late flight and were forced to pay a taxi since the hotel shuttle stops working at 11pm. A group of young men took the hotel as a party base and returned every night around 2 or 3 am making extremely high noises that continued for more than half an hour without the people at the front desk doing anything. On the third day we, and people from other room complained and were asked to inform as soon as the situation was repeated; we did and tried to call the front desk at 2am just to find that the communication to the reception did not work. Another day we returned to our room around 2pm to find it wasn't clean,even after coming down to the front desk and ask for cleaning it happened a lot later.
We got the impression that the staff is angry (or sad) all the time, without a kind gesture, not focused on the clients; it is unfortunate since the property and its location have a lot to give.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear xelaju007,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We apologize for the noise from other guests disturbing you. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were in Tempe to tour Arizona State. We literally could not have chosen a hotel much closer. We could have walked to the campus.

The hotel is on a small lot, so a parking pass is required to park there. This location includes breakfast, which was typical Holiday Inn fare. On Sunday, I noticed it was pretty busy, and the trays of food were empty for a while before they were refilled. It was not an issue on Monday.

The room itself was fine. However, there was a lot of noise from the street as well as from the halls and adjacent rooms. One evening, I could hear the TV in a nearby room. Another day, I heard a baby "talking", and it was pretty loud. I assumed the family was walking down the hall. When I left my room, I could still hear the baby, but there was no one in the hall. So the child was obviously behind a door, and it was still quite loud.

The beds were very comfortable, and there were two pillow choices - soft and firm. The pillows were nice, and the sheets were soft. The bathroom situation included a tub/shower combo and a commode. This was behind a door. The vanity area was not, and there was not a curtain to divide the area if someone had to get up and get ready while others still slept. There was also a refrigerator in the room.

The workout room was fine - it included some free weights, a stationary bike, an elliptical and a treadmill. All machines were working. The pool was small but sparkling and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
LaurieTN ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We love to hear what our guest have to say as it helps give us directions on areas we need to improve.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward in having you back as a guest the next time your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is located in a somewhat industrial part of town but it is not too far from downtown Tempe and Phoenix.

Since I am Platinum, I got upgraded to a nice room without even asking. The room was of nice size and has good furniture. The bed was very comfortable. The room actually had a nice jacuzzi bathtub but the jacuzzi did not seem to work (I didn't really try) and the shower drips. So, I would say maintenance is not very on top of things.

The fire alarm went off but there was no announcement or anything. Then it stopped and no announcements either. So, it was not very comforting.

Breakfast was OK - standard HIE breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Want2gohome ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a recent review about your experience at our property. We appreciate the feedback as it gives us direction on areas that we need to improve on.

We value your loyatly and glad the staff was able to upgrade you to one of our suites..

As far as your other comments I will make sure and pass them along to the proper departments.

We look forward in having you as a guest again the next time your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had to come to Arizona as my mother had passed away. The front desk staff was awesome when we checked in on the 10th of January 2014 at 230pm mst. The room was clean and wonderful Breakfast was hot and always had plenty. I would say this will be my only place to stay when I come to visit Arizona We stayed for 5 nights and everything was awesome

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
DrRobinRushlo ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. We are sorry to hear about your mothers passing.

We are glad that the staff was able to take care of you. I will make sure and pass along your kind words.

We do hope to see you again the next time you are visiting Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my second visit here and I found the staff to be much friendlier than the first visit. Davin greeted us with a warm smile and helpful attitude every time we encountered him. But, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The local & airport shuttle service available to guests is a great feature. The drivers were very accommodating and Luis and our driver who took us to the airport (sorry, I didn't get his name - African-American gentleman with glasses) were both great. The close proximity to the light rail stop is another added bonus as well.

The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Love the high shower head as I am a tall guy! The beds were very comfortable, too. The breakfast was great and had a good selection. Staff kept it well-stocked, even in the midst of a high-school wrestling team descending upon it!

My only criticism is the WiFi was very poor quality. It clearly does not have adequate bandwidth to support a full house. The first day, the hotel was not full and it was decent, but even then, the signal was weak and still somewhat slow. Once the hotel filled up, it was almost impossible to use the WiFi as it was literally slower than dial-up unless you used it very early in the morning before everyone got up. I opted to use my 4G smartphone instead as it was much quicker.

Aside from the WiFi, it was a most enjoyable stay and I will look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are more quiet as the wooden-frame building tends to make for noise overhead on lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Joe M ~

Thanks for taking the time to review.. We value your feedback as it gives us direction on areas that need to be improved.

We appreciate you coming and staying with us again and glad that this time our staff was friendly. We appreciate the kind words and will make sure and pass them along.

Also we appreciate you bring up the interent issue and will pass along the comments to our provider.

We look forward in seeing you again the next time your travel needs bring you back to Tempe.

Take Care and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I wanted a hotel for my trip to Phoenix to attend the PAC-12 CHAMPIONSHIP game at Sun Devil Stadium:

Here were my criteria for a hotel:
- well known brand
- nicer than the Best Western types
- walking distance from Mill Ave
- walking distance from Sun Devil Stadium

This hotel was perfect. There are hotels that are closer to Sun Devil Stadium and Mill Ave but they were sold out. That being said, on my next trip for a similar purpose, I will stay at this hotel again.

Excellent friendly staff (Rashad (and the other guy who picked my up at PHX) were both fantastic - great to hear about how much they liked their student life at ASU - yes, complimentary shuttle to and from PHX)

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Ssaikia ~

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property while in town to watch the Pac 12 Championship game. We are glad you found our hotel to be apporiate for what you were looking for.

We are glad you were able to utlize the complientary shuttle.

We look forward in having you as a guest again the next time your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Address: 1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake, Tempe Market Street that has some of the well know names all in walking distance and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. In addition we are located not to far from many corporate business such as Limelight networks, US Airways headquarters, Microsoft, Rockford Fosgate, Hybrid Designs, Quiktrip Division office, First Solar, and Salt River Project to name a few. Coming to town for Spring training? We are located closely to the ballfields. So the next time you are traveling to Tempe Arizona how about giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University a try.We now have a complimentary shuttle that will run our guest to different venues within a certain mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu Hotel Tempe
Comfort Inn At Asu
Comfort Inn Tempe
Tempe Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.