We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Free Breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Free Breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Expresses over the years. We know that the rooms are clean and we will have a decent breakfast to start the day. We planned a spring training mini-family reunion in Tempe. I selected this hotel for the family to stay at. At this time of the year they charge extra to stay at the hotel. Our first morning we met for breakfast at 8:00 and there was no fruit. The second morning we met for breakfast at 9:00 and not only were they out of fruit, but there was no eggs, cinnamon rolls, and yogurt. When we complained to the manager he was unclear of the inconvenience on the guests. They do not receive their next food order until sometime on Monday morning. So, for our last morning we may not have breakfast again. We have been given no compensation for this. I have stayed at other hotels and received compensation in some form for far less issues. I will not be staying here again and am very embarrassed that I recommended this hotel to the other members in the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Annemfs ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the feedback as it gives us direction on areas that we need to improve.

We do appreicate you staying with us and hope that you enjoyed your time in Tempe watching the Spring training games.

As part of the management team I was hoping you would contact me so I can discuss this issue with you a little further. I can be reached at angie@bthospitalitymanagement.com
and after we talk then maybe you will consider giving us a 2nd chance if you do come back to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
8
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good location close to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. About a 10+ minute drive, and if you need to take a taxi <$20. The room we reserved wasn't available, so the hotel had already assigned a free upgrade to a larger room, which worked fine. The included breakfast had many hot and cold choices, so a good way to start the day. Front desk person helpful for directing us to a good mexican food restaurant. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Sansho ~

Thanks for your kind review! We are glad that it worked out for you. We are glad our Front Desk was able to help you out with a good restaurant choice.

Also..next time you are in Tempe we do offer a complimentary shuttle to and from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport...

Look forward in seeing you again!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here during Cubs spring training. It was reasonably priced compared to other hotels, so that was nice. The breakfast was not much to talk about. Pretty basic and if you went down a little later in the breakfast time frame, your options were limited. The pool is on the side of the building where if you went down in the afternoon, you had to play musical chairs to stay in the sun. The pool area is very small and had very few chairs. The staff were friendly and always spoke when coming in or out. If you are looking for just a place to lay your head and nothing much else, this property is fine.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back and highest floor are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Nancy N ~

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed watching the Cubs during spring training.

We are glad you found our staff to be friendly.

We look forward in seeing you again the next your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had stayed at many hotels over my career for long stay projects and I was down here for some university work. The hotel is very clean and is run efficiently. The housecleaning staff did a fantastic job and my room is pristine every day. The desk staff is top notch. They are excellent for they always attend to my needs, they ask questions and offer advice on where to eat etc. and are ready to help and make you a priority. They put the customer first. The hotel itself is beautiful, clean near ASU and transportation. The breakfast is good, they put out a nice selection. The pool and hot tub are great and are always available. I felt like I was at home and after a month did not want to leave because of the service.
A great place to stay with a great overall staff and I would highly recommend it for the price range, location, quality, staff quality and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
JSICURAN ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay while working on a project for Arizona State University. I will make sure I pass along your praise to the staff as we appreciate those kinds words.

We do hope that the next time you are in Tempe for either work or leisure we will see you again.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
B&T Hospitality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed this week at the hotel and found it lived up to the reviews as a nice hotel at a decent price. One of the reasons I stayed here was because of their airport shuttle service. The driver who picked me us Tuesday night was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable. Check-in and the rooms were as to be expected.

However, the following morning I was planning to use their shuttle once again. Upon arriving in the lobby I learned the morning driver was sick and his replacement wouldn't arrive until 12:00 Noon. So, I had to call a cab. Sure, it was only $10 bucks, but I was still perturbed due to the time for the cab to show up. My question is:

1) Why don't you have a better Plan B when an employee is out due to illness?
2) If your Plan B is requiring the guests to call cabs, why don't you take the initiative and see if any cabbies would be willing to wait at the hotel.

Room Tip: Skip the 'free breakfast' and walk a block down to the D'Lish Cafe. Very solid breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bill L~

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw. We enjoy hearing about our guest experiences and use them as training tools. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate the concern you had about the transporation and were glad that you were able to use it when arriving at the airport.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope that you will give us another chance when traveling to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for three days while visiting Tempe on business. the service was good, the staff was friendly, the rooms were nice. However, there are problems:
1) On Friday night there was noise in the hallway till the wee hours of the night.
2) the internet went out early one evening and wasnt reset until the next morning in spite of calls to their desk and support organization who insisted things were working
3) the AC unit will not run if the outside temperature is lower than the desired setting. This created issues with the room being stuffy on a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Dont stay near the end of the hall where rowdies come in through the back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Frank H

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoy what our guest have to say and also use the feedback as ways we can improve our service. I will be passing on the issues to our general manager and hope that you will give us another try the next time your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked for the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl the last weekend in December. Glad we booked well ahead. Great location close to Sun Devil Stadium. Easy to get to everything in Phoenix and also to some family in Chandler, AZ. Flew in from Philly with very late check-in. Desk staff was hospitable and understanding of our timing. Complimentary breakfast was average although their biscuits were pretty good. But if you want a really delicious breakfast head out the door to Scottsdale's Scratch Pastries. Totally french and perfectly filling. Coffee there was magnifique.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side AWAY from the new university construction would be quieter. Contractors started wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
ML B -

Thanks for the feedback. We value what our guest have to say. I am glad you found our property in a great location... Hopefully your team won....

I will make sure and pass along the kind words to our front desk staff.. You did mention breakfast... Did you try the Cinnamon Rolls??

We hope to see you back in Tempe the next time your travels bring you this way.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Address: 1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake, Tempe Market Street that has some of the well know names all in walking distance and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. In addition we are located not to far from many corporate business such as Limelight networks, US Airways headquarters, Microsoft, Rockford Fosgate, Hybrid Designs, Quiktrip Division office, First Solar, and Salt River Project to name a few. Coming to town for Spring training? We are located closely to the ballfields. So the next time you are traveling to Tempe Arizona how about giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University a try.We now have a complimentary shuttle that will run our guest to different venues within a certain mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu Hotel Tempe
Comfort Inn At Asu
Comfort Inn Tempe
Tempe Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.