We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 46 hotels in Tempe
New Carlisle, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here during Cubs spring training. It was reasonably priced compared to other hotels, so that was nice. The breakfast was not much to talk about. Pretty basic and if you went down a little later in the breakfast time frame, your options were limited. The pool is on the side of the building where if you went down in the afternoon, you had to play musical chairs to stay in the sun. The pool area is very small and had very few chairs. The staff were friendly and always spoke when coming in or out. If you are looking for just a place to lay your head and nothing much else, this property is fine.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back and highest floor are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Nancy N ~

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed watching the Cubs during spring training.

We are glad you found our staff to be friendly.

We look forward in seeing you again the next your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
7
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had stayed at many hotels over my career for long stay projects and I was down here for some university work. The hotel is very clean and is run efficiently. The housecleaning staff did a fantastic job and my room is pristine every day. The desk staff is top notch. They are excellent for they always attend to my needs, they ask questions and offer advice on where to eat etc. and are ready to help and make you a priority. They put the customer first. The hotel itself is beautiful, clean near ASU and transportation. The breakfast is good, they put out a nice selection. The pool and hot tub are great and are always available. I felt like I was at home and after a month did not want to leave because of the service.
A great place to stay with a great overall staff and I would highly recommend it for the price range, location, quality, staff quality and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
JSICURAN ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay while working on a project for Arizona State University. I will make sure I pass along your praise to the staff as we appreciate those kinds words.

We do hope that the next time you are in Tempe for either work or leisure we will see you again.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
B&T Hospitality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed this week at the hotel and found it lived up to the reviews as a nice hotel at a decent price. One of the reasons I stayed here was because of their airport shuttle service. The driver who picked me us Tuesday night was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable. Check-in and the rooms were as to be expected.

However, the following morning I was planning to use their shuttle once again. Upon arriving in the lobby I learned the morning driver was sick and his replacement wouldn't arrive until 12:00 Noon. So, I had to call a cab. Sure, it was only $10 bucks, but I was still perturbed due to the time for the cab to show up. My question is:

1) Why don't you have a better Plan B when an employee is out due to illness?
2) If your Plan B is requiring the guests to call cabs, why don't you take the initiative and see if any cabbies would be willing to wait at the hotel.

Room Tip: Skip the 'free breakfast' and walk a block down to the D'Lish Cafe. Very solid breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bill L~

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw. We enjoy hearing about our guest experiences and use them as training tools. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate the concern you had about the transporation and were glad that you were able to use it when arriving at the airport.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope that you will give us another chance when traveling to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for three days while visiting Tempe on business. the service was good, the staff was friendly, the rooms were nice. However, there are problems:
1) On Friday night there was noise in the hallway till the wee hours of the night.
2) the internet went out early one evening and wasnt reset until the next morning in spite of calls to their desk and support organization who insisted things were working
3) the AC unit will not run if the outside temperature is lower than the desired setting. This created issues with the room being stuffy on a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Dont stay near the end of the hall where rowdies come in through the back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Frank H

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoy what our guest have to say and also use the feedback as ways we can improve our service. I will be passing on the issues to our general manager and hope that you will give us another try the next time your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked for the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl the last weekend in December. Glad we booked well ahead. Great location close to Sun Devil Stadium. Easy to get to everything in Phoenix and also to some family in Chandler, AZ. Flew in from Philly with very late check-in. Desk staff was hospitable and understanding of our timing. Complimentary breakfast was average although their biscuits were pretty good. But if you want a really delicious breakfast head out the door to Scottsdale's Scratch Pastries. Totally french and perfectly filling. Coffee there was magnifique.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side AWAY from the new university construction would be quieter. Contractors started wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
ML B -

Thanks for the feedback. We value what our guest have to say. I am glad you found our property in a great location... Hopefully your team won....

I will make sure and pass along the kind words to our front desk staff.. You did mention breakfast... Did you try the Cinnamon Rolls??

We hope to see you back in Tempe the next time your travels bring you this way.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is located close to the ASU campus and light rail, which made it very convenient to get around. The fitness center, while small, had nice equipment that functioned well. The outdoor pool and hot tub were the perfect temperature, even in January.

The staff, while friendly, was less than attentive at times. When we arrived at 2:40 p.m., the first thing out of the desk agent's mouth was a rather abrupt, "check in isn't until 4 p.m. but I can see if we have any clean rooms." It was as if we were being reprimanded for showing up before the "official" check-in time. Since we were there only 1 hour and 20 minutes before 4, I felt that was uncalled-for. There are more tactful ways to approach that situation, especially since there were clean rooms available. Moot point, so why potentially antagonize the guest for no reason? First impressions can go a long way.

Also, another disappointment was the absence of the signature cinnamon rolls at breakfast. They are wonderful and something I look forward to when staying at Holiday Inn Express. Unfortunately, they seemed to have run out early prior to the next food delivery. The initial staff person that I approached was very matter-of-fact and not apologetic at all. They just seemed poorly prepared, as many of the breakfast items were still being stocked well after guests began arriving for breakfast. Also, while not a huge deal, this property did not provide the evening cookies that many Holiday Inn Express hotels do. Another small touch that was missing that can be a nice end to one's day.

I would probably stay here again because of the convenient location, but I would have lower expectations for service and amenities.

Room Tip: Request the top floor. The building is wood frame construction, so having someone overhead can be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Jon M -

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We value the feedback as it gives us direction on areas that need improvement.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be convenient. We also now have a shuttle that will take you places if you don't want to ride the light rail and will be starting shuttle service to Sky Harbor very soon.

I am sorry you experienced some issue with the breakfast as this isn't typical service we provide. We do hope that the next time you are in Tempe you will give us another chance.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Within walking distance to the university, also close to several restaurants. I asked them to downgrade me to two queens from a king and it was no problem. My room was immaculate. it looked like a brand new hotel. Shower and sink were clean. Didn't turn on the tv but used internet and had no problem. Lots of towels. Very quiet, very comfortable. The breakfast included hot and cold choices, with juices and coffee/tea. The night manager, Davin, was very professional, friendly and so helpful.He got my a cab arranged for a 5 o'clock departure to the airport. Nice price and value.

Room Tip: Quiet and within walking distance of the university. Stayed on 2nd floor and the elevator was alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Lis K ~

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix University Tempe.

We are pretty proud of property as we recently won the 2012 IHG Renoviation award. I will pass along the kind comments about Davin.

You did mention that you had a cab called for you. Well, when you stay with us again if you are in Tempe we now have a complimentary shuttle that will be able to take you to the airport.

Thanks again!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Address: 1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake, Tempe Market Street that has some of the well know names all in walking distance and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. In addition we are located not to far from many corporate business such as Limelight networks, US Airways headquarters, Microsoft, Rockford Fosgate, Hybrid Designs, Quiktrip Division office, First Solar, and Salt River Project to name a few. Coming to town for Spring training? We are located closely to the ballfields. So the next time you are traveling to Tempe Arizona how about giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University a try.We now have a complimentary shuttle that will run our guest to different venues within a certain mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu Hotel Tempe
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu
Comfort Inn At Asu
Comfort Inn Tempe
Tempe Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.